LibGuides: McNair Scholars: Databases

Selected Databases

General/Multidisciplinary

Academic Search Complete
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Gale Academic OneFile
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Gale Academic OneFile has over 8,000 peer-reviewed journals, the majority in full-text, from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Full text articles are available in both PDF and HTML. Includes The New York Times from 1985, The Economist from 1988 and The Financial Times from 1999. It also contains hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
A complete title list is available here
JSTOR
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

Medicine/Nursing

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health) Plus with Full Text
1937 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes indexing for more than 5,100 journals with coverage as far back as 1937 and full text coverage for more than 700 journals. In addition to journals, includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, and educational software.
PubMed
1950 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Provides access to over 36 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases. Links to the full text articles are provided when available, subject to UT subscription status.

Set up LibKey Nomad to find access through the UT Libraries subscriptions and purchases.

Science (General)

Web of Science
1900 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides access to the full text of journals published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries and other publishers whose online journals are hosted by ScienceDirect.

Books: Selected titles from Elsevier and its subsidiaries are included. These books are DRM-free with unlimited users and PDF chapter downloads/printing.
Gale in Context: Science
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Social Sciences

SocINDEX with Full Text
1895 - present. Unlimited.
In addition to full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Includes indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources.
PsycARTICLES
1985 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated twice weekly. Provides full text access to 117 scholarly journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations on the field of psychology and related disciplines. Contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. Examples of titles offered include:
- American Psychologist
- Behavioral Neuroscience
- Canadian Psychology
- Developmental Psychology
- Journal of Abnormal Psychology
- Journal of Personality and Social Psychology
- Psychoanalytic Psychology
- Psychotherapy
PsycINFO (Ebsco)
1887 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Indexes and abstracts over 1,700 sources, including international material selected from periodicals written in over 35 languages. Contains current chapter and book coverage with worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present, and adds over 60,000 references annually through monthly updates. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines.
Has over 1.8 million individual records, some dating back to 1887, and includes abstracts from Psychological Abstracts back to 1927, Psychological Bulletin from 1921-1926, and all APA journals and the American Journal of Psychology back to their first issues. Corresponds in part to the print index Psychological Abstracts.

"Hard" Sciences (Biology, Chemistry, etc.)

PubChem
Unlimited.
An open database of freely available chemical information including chemical and physical properties, biological activity, toxicity and safety, with literature and patent citations. PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. Searchable by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers.
PubMed
1950 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Provides access to over 36 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases. Links to the full text articles are provided when available, subject to UT subscription status.

Set up LibKey Nomad to find access through the UT Libraries subscriptions and purchases.
SciFinder
1907 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Requires users to register with a utexas.edu email account. Provides integrated access to the Chemical Abstracts suite of databases with millions of bibliographic records covering the worldwide chemical literature, including patents; as well as over 100 million substance records, with chemical structures, names, synonyms, and associated property data; plus millions of searchable organic reactions. Search by topic, author, chemical identification terms (names, formulas, Registry Numbers), and chemical structures.

Humanities

JSTOR
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
MLA International Bibliography
1926 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
Art and Architecture Source
1929 - present (full text varies by title). Unlimited users.
The collection includes over 600 full-text journals, 200 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images. Provides the most up-to-date coverage of fine and decorative arts, commercial art, architecture, archaeology, design, and museum studies. An ideal tool for art historians, artists, designers, students, and general researchers.
ARTstor
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Comprised of over 2.5 million digital images of visual material encompassing artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures. Focuses on, but is not limited to, the arts. Includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture. Designed to be used by researchers in fields that do not traditionally use images as well as by art historians.
In order to take advantage of all the features of the site, you must register or log in with the service. The registration and login links are visible once you enter the database.

Newspapers

Nexis Uni
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Newspaper Source Plus
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.

Please Note!

UT Libraries has over 800 databases! These are just a few that you might find useful. To find more in your major/class, find your subject specific research guide here.

You can also browse all of our databases by title here.

Remember, reach out to a librarian if you have any questions!

Boolean Terms and Wild Cards

Use AND, OR, NOT to connect keywords/phrases.

AND tells the databases that you want both of your search terms
OR tells it that you want either search term
NOT tells if that you want one search term without any mention of the other

If you are getting stuck with your term, try using a wild card character

For most databases, replacing one of more letters with a * in your search term will pull up multiple versions of that term
For example, famil* will bring up family, families, familial
You only need to use one * to replace multiple letters

When using a search term with more than one word (e.g. "student success") put quotation marks around your phrase to tell the database that you want results with the full phrase, not just both words.

McNair Scholars

Databases

Selected Databases

Please Note!

Boolean Terms and Wild Cards

Keyword Brainstorming Tool

This keyword brainstorming tool will help you generate a good set of search terms.