Welcome to the Indigenous Popular Materials & Research Resources LibGuide!
Use the tabs to the left to navigate through this LibGuide. Each tab will deal with a separate resource for research.
Major topics include Literature, Music, Film & Television and Podcasts. Within Literature, you will find further breakdowns of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, children's literature and graphic novels. For research assistance, please see the Native American and Indigenous Studies research guide.
Key Terms
A user can find relevant articles with key search terms. A combination of the following will yield appropriate responses: “Native American” “Native” “Indigenous” “American Indian” or specific tribe names such as “Ojibwe” “Pequot” or others, and your research topic
Boolean Operators
In addition to using keywords listed in the box above, Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) will assist you with finding sources.
AND: will return results containing both words entered in the search (Native American AND literature)
OR: will return results with either search term used; can be helpful when searching for synonyms or related terms (Native OR Indigenous)
Quotation marks will search the exact term ("Native American literature")
Parenthesis will help improve a search by allowing for multiple search filters: (Native American OR Indigenous OR American Indian) AND Literature
Truncation will widen a search with a wildcard symbol (*), so any variation of the root will be gathered (Photo* will return Photograph, Photographer, Photography, Photosynthesis, etc.)
Encyclopedia of American Indian Issues Today by
This essential reference examines the history, culture, and modern tribal concerns of American Indians in North America. Despite the fact that 565 federally recognized tribes exist on the continent of North America, non-Native Americans typically know very little about the modern world of American Indians. In a few instances, the uneasy coexistence of the two cultures has served to create controversy, such as fake Indians fraudulently leveraging ethnicity-based benefits, U.S. officials disposing of nuclear waste near reservations, and sports clubs basing mascots on cultural stereotypes. This unique survey scrutinizes the historical background as well as the contemporary issues of American Indian societies as both part of--and completely separate from--the world around them. Encyclopedia of American Indian Issues Today features subjects commonly discussed, including reservations, poverty, sovereignty, the problem of solid waste on reservations, and the lives of urban Indians, among other contemporary issues. Organized into ten sections, the book also provides helpful sidebars and informative essays to address topics on casinos and gaming, sexual identity, education, and poverty. Sidebars with additional information, resources, and primary source excerpts Contributions from top scholars in the field Bibliographies at the end of each essay for additional research
Native America by
Employing innovative research and unique interpretations, these essays provide a fresh perspective on Native American history by focusing on how Indians lived and helped shape each of the United States. Native America: A State-by-State Historical Encyclopedia comprises 50 chapters offering interpretations of Native American history through the lens of the states in which Indians lived or helped shape. This organizing structure and thematic focus allows readers access to information on specific Indians and the regions they lived in while also providing a collective overview of Native American relationships with the United States as a whole. These three volumes synthesize scholarship on the Native American past to provide both an academic and indigenous perspective on the subject, covering all states and the native peoples who lived in them or were instrumental to their development. Each state is featured in its own chapter, authored by a specialist on the region and its indigenous peoples. Each essay has these main sections: Chronology, Historical Overview, Notable Indians, Cultural Contributions, and Bibliography. The chapters are interspersed with photographs and illustrations that add visual clarity to the written content, put a human face on the individuals described, and depict the peoples and environment with which they interacted. 50 chapters examine the role of Native Americans in the history and development of each state Contributions from more than 30 distinguished native and nonnative scholars from around the world, each providing a unique perspective on the states and the native peoples who lived there both before and after statehood A chronology of significant events in Native American history for each state from the pre-colonial period to the present Extensive, interdisciplinary bibliographies on Native American history in each state
Encyclopedia of American Indian Removal by
This work is a comprehensive encyclopedia of Indian removal that accurately presents the removal process as a political, economic, and tribally complicit affair. In 1830, Andrew Jackson became the first U.S. president to implement removal of Native Americans with the passage of the Indian Removal Act. Less than a decade later, tens of thousands of Native Americans--Cherokee, Chickasaw, Muscogee-Creek, Seminole, and others--were forcibly moved from their tribal lands to enable settlement by Caucasians of European origin. Encyclopedia of American Indian Removal presents a realistic depiction of removal as a complicated process that was deeply affected by political, economic, and tribal factors, rather than the popular romanticized concept of American Indians being herded west by military troops through a trackless wilderness. This work is presented in two volumes. Volume One contains essays on subjects and people that are general in scope and arranged alphabetically by subject; Volume Two is dedicated to primary documents regarding Indian removal and examines specific information about political debates, Indian responses to removal policy, and removals of individual tribes. Contains insightful information from 16 contributors Presents Georgia Laws in 1828 and 1830 Provides a chronological timetable of Indian removal Includes an annotated bibliography of Indian removal to facilitate further research
The ABC-Clio Companion to the Native American Rights Movement by
Primarily an encyclopedia citing people, events, and other aspects of the movement since the 1960s. Among the entries are prominent Native Americans, nations and tribal groups, officials of the US government who impacted policy, relevant court cases, and military campaigns and resistance. Also includes a chronology beginning in 1492.
Treaties with American Indians by
This invaluable reference reveals the long, often contentious history of Native American treaties, providing a rich overview of a topic of continuing importance. Treaties with American Indians: An Encyclopedia of Rights, Conflicts, and Sovereignty is the first comprehensive introduction to the treaties that promised land, self-government, financial assistance, and cultural protections to many of the over 500 tribes of North America (including Alaska, Hawaii, and Canada). Going well beyond describing terms and conditions, it is the only reference to explore the historical, political, legal, and geographical contexts in which each treaty took shape. Coverage ranges from the 1778 alliance with the Delaware tribe (the first such treaty), to the landmark Worcester v. Georgia case (1832), which affirmed tribal sovereignty, to the 1871 legislation that ended the treaty process, to the continuing impact of treaties in force today. Alphabetically organized entries cover key individuals, events, laws, court cases, and other topics. Also included are 16 in-depth essays on major issues (Indian and government views of treaty-making, contemporary rights to gaming and repatriation, etc.) plus six essays exploring Native American intertribal relationships region by region. Over 300 A-Z entries covering important treaties such as the Treaty of 1778, U.S. and Indian leaders such as Chief Justice John Marshall and Red Cloud of the Sioux, and legal decisions such as Worcester v. Georgia 16 in-depth thematic essays providing both government and Indian perspectives on major issues, plus six essays looking at U.S.-Indian relations region by region A complete chronology of the major events that shaped the history of Native American treaty-making Over 100 contributors who are distinguished scholars in their field, such as Carole Greenberg and R. David Edmunds Photographs of significant individuals, treaty sites, and artifacts
Native Americans and Political Participation: a Reference Handbook by
Unlike other racial groups in the USA, Native American tribes are political entities. This volume surveys American Indian contributions to the democratic process and the political power that tribes and individual leaders have wielded ever since the first Europeans stepped on American soil. It provides a historical overview of Native American culture and politics and analyzes contemporary tribal demographics, economic and soical data and political opinion surveys. It focuses on Native American social movements and interest groups, illuminating major political forces and factions. It looks at protest politics, from the American Indian Movement and specific tribal organizations to more violent protests, such as Wounded Knee. It also covers volitile issues of Native American treaty rights and gambling casinos.
American Indian Religious Traditions: an Encyclopedia by
Written from an American Indian perspective with input from religious scholars and community leaders, this pioneering reference work explores indigenous North American religions and religious practices and rituals. How is peyote used in Native American religious ceremonies? How do various tribes conduct the rites of birth, adolescence, marriage, and death? What is potlatch and why was its practice forbidden? Readers will see how religious tradition influences Native American social, political, and material culture and vice versa. This extensive work goes beyond similar surveys that focus only on anthropology and history and explores the religious practices, movements, institutions, key figures, ceremonial systems, and religious accoutrements indigenous to North America, from precontact era to the present.; Taking a deep and informed look specifically at the religious and spiritual nature of Native Americans, the encyclopedia places traditions within their historical and theoretical context, examining their relevance within Indian religious life and practice, as well as within the academic study of religion, Topics covered include key ideas and issues, religious and political leaders, primary ceremonies, mythic figures, and related cultural subjects, such as basketry, whaling, farming, and bison hunting, which have religious significance for native peoples. Contributors include key thinkers in American Indian religious culture, including many who come from tribal traditions and can offer valuable insights and observations from their personal experience.
Handbook of Native American Mythology by
Popular Hopi kachina dolls and awesome totem poles are but two of the aspects of the sophisticated, seldom-examined network of mythologies explored in this fascinating volume. To some in the Lakota tribe, the 1994 birth of a rare white buffalo calf in Wisconsin was more than a biological anomaly-it was the long-prophesied return of their most revered deity, White Buffalo Woman, a harbinger of peace and good times. To others it was powerful proof of the hold myths can have on the people whose lives are molded around them.; This revealing work introduces readers to the mythologies of Native Americans from the United States to the Arctic Circle-a rich, complex, and diverse body of lore, which remains less widely known than mythologies of other peoples and places. In thematic chapters and encyclopedia-style entries, Handbook of Native American Mythology examines the characters and deities, rituals, sacred locations and objects, concepts, and stories that define and distinguish mythological cultures of various indigenous peoples. By tracing the traditions as far back as possible and following their evolution from generation to generation, Handbook of Native American Mythology offers a unique perspective on Native American history, culture, and values. It also shows how central these traditions are to contemporary Native American life, including the continuing struggle for land rights, economic parity, and repatriation of cultural property.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes by
Providing essays on the history, culture and current status of approximately 400 Native American groups, this work is divided into four geographic volumes. An overview essay introduces each of the ten regions covered, giving a geographic perspective on the tribes covered, as well as insights on cultural and tribal communalities. Individual tribal entries follow alphabetically. Also featured are biographical profiles of prominent tribal leaders.
Encyclopedia of American Indian History by
This new four-volume encyclopedia is the most comprehensive and up-to-date resource available on the history of Native Americans, providing a lively, authoritative survey ranging from human origins to present-day controversies. From the origins of Native American cultures through the years of colonialism and non-Native expansion to the present, Encyclopedia of American Indian History brings the story of Native Americans to life like no other previous reference on the subject. Featuring the work of many of the field's foremost scholars, it explores this fundamental and foundational aspect of the American experience with extraordinary depth, breadth, and currency, carefully balancing the perspectives of both Native and non-Native Americans. Encyclopedia of American Indian History spans the centuries with three thematically organized volumes (covering the period from precontact through European colonization; the years of non-Native expansion (including Indian removal); and the modern era of reservations, reforms, and reclamation of semi-sovereignty). Each volume includes entries on key events, places, people, and issues. The fourth volume is an alphabetically organized resource providing histories of Native American nations, as well as an extensive chronology, topic finder, bibliography, and glossary. For students, historians, or anyone interested in the Native American experience, Encyclopedia of American Indian History brings that experience to life in an unprecedented way. Approximately 450 entries within four separate volumes Approximately 110 contributors from among the foremost scholars in the fields, including Troy Johnson on self-determination movements, Richard King on sports mascots, and Jon Rehyner on recovery of Native languages Hundreds of images, including illustrations, photographs, and maps A series of helpful research tools rounding out the fourth volume, including an extensive chronology, topical bibliography, and a comprehensive index
Continuum Encyclopedia of Native Art by
This comprehensive reference text covers the often misunderstood area of aesthetics, anthropology and mythology within tribal or indigenous non-Western art. Including hundreds of entries and illustrations, it includes art from the cultures and tribal kingdoms of: Nigeria, Australia, Indonesia and Polynesia, Western and Central Africa, Canada and Alaska, and the continental United States.
Encyclopedia of United States by
An essential reference on the reciprocal role that U.S. and Native policy and law have played in American political development
Jefferson and the Indians by
In Thomas Jefferson's time, white Americans were bedeviled by a moral dilemma unyielding to reason and sentiment: what to do about the presence of black slaves and free Indians. That Jefferson himself was caught between his own soaring rhetoric and private behavior toward blacks has long been known. But the tortured duality of his attitude toward Indians is only now being unearthed.In this landmark history, Anthony Wallace takes us on a tour of discovery to unexplored regions of Jefferson's mind. There, the bookish Enlightenment scholar--collector of Indian vocabularies, excavator of ancient burial mounds, chronicler of the eloquence of America's native peoples, and mourner of their tragic fate--sits uncomfortably close to Jefferson the imperialist and architect of Indian removal. Impelled by the necessity of expanding his agrarian republic, he became adept at putting a philosophical gloss on his policy of encroachment, threats of war, and forced land cessions--a policy that led, eventually, to cultural genocide.In this compelling narrative, we see how Jefferson's close relationships with frontier fighters and Indian agents, land speculators and intrepid explorers, European travelers, missionary scholars, and the chiefs of many Indian nations all complicated his views of the rights and claims of the first Americans. Lavishly illustrated with scenes and portraits from the period, Jefferson and the Indians adds a troubled dimension to one of the most enigmatic figures of American history, and to one of its most shameful legacies.
Lewis and Clark among the Indians by
James P. Ronda holds the H. G. Barnard Chair in Western History at the University of Tulsa. His other publications include Astoria and Empire, also a Bison Book.
Seeds of Extinction by
This study is the first to explain how the white American's conception of himself and his position on the continent formed his perception of the Indian and directed his selection of policy toward the native tribes. Sheehan presents the paradoxical and pathetic story of how the Jeffersonian generation, with the best of goodwill toward the American Indian, destroyed him with its benevolence, literally killed him with kindness. Originally published 1973. A UNC Press Enduring Edition -- UNC Press Enduring Editions use the latest in digital technology to make available again books from our distinguished backlist that were previously out of print. These editions are published unaltered from the original, and are presented in affordable paperback formats, bringing readers both historical and cultural value.
Native Historians Write Back by
No matter what you know about Lewis and Clark, the Hopi Snake Dance, the occupation of Wounded Knee village, or the Seminole Freedmen claim, you have never before seen those and myriad other historic episodes from these perspectives. In this first-of-its-kind anthology, American Indian scholars examine crucial events in their own nations? histories. On the one hand, these writers represent diverse tribal perspectives. On the other, they share a unifying point of view grounded in ancestral wisdom: the Cosmos is a live being, Earth is our Mother, the North American tribes are engaged in national liberation struggles, and Indigenous realities are as viable as any other. Fanciful? Read this book and see whether you still think so.Also 04 Activeable in trade paper $45.00 ISBN 978-0-89672-699-4
Talking back to the Indian Act : critical readings in settler colonial histories by
"Talking Back to the Indian Act: Critical Readings in Settler Colonial Histories is a comprehensive "How To" guide for engaging with primary documents. The intent of this text is to encourage students to develop the skills necessary to converse with the primary sources in more refined and profound ways. As a piece of legislation central to Canada's relationship with Indigenous people and communities and that has undergone many amendments, the Indian Act is uniquely positioned to act as a vehicle for this kind of pedagogical goal. Through analyzing 35 sources pertaining to the Indian Act that address governance, gender, enfranchisement, and land, the authors hope that students develop critical skills related to analyzing primary documents and come away with a much better understanding of this pivotal piece of legislation as well as the dynamics involved in its creation and maintenance. Kelm and Smith have included a diverse set of sources including interviews, debates in the House of Commons on the Indian Act, memoranda, and letters. In their introduction, Kelm and Smith provide background on the Indian Act and then offer two methodologies (one non-indigenous and one indigenous) for thinking historically about the Act: the 5Cs and the 4Rs. The authors have included 7 maps and 14 images to visually contextualize their narrative. Appendix A includes a thoughtful set of questions to stimulate student thinking about how historical sources come to be, how they are formed and what impact they have both at the time they are created and afterwards. Appendix B contains a historical context timeline for the Indian Act."--Provided by publisher.
Native Time by
"Native Time is both a beautifully rendered and brilliantly comprehensive volume that captures the adventures and adversities of the Native People of Turtle Island, the land otherwise known today as North America. Beginning in the year 200,000 B.C., this chronological time line runs to the present day, vividly illuminating along its way not only the rich history but also the literature, art, heroes, legends, wisdom, and philosophy of the Native inhabitants who have lived all across Turtle Island for over two hundred centuries." "Casting an entirely new and desperately needed perspective on what many non-Native Americans consider, often mistakenly, to be "American History," Native Time reveals, in its earliest years, the flourishing Native American civilizations that were in existence long before the arrival of Columbus and Coronado to these shores. In more recent times wars and clashes between the Native People and non-Natives are covered, as are treaties, important events, and portraits of Native Americans from the famous to the unsung." "Native Time is designed in an easy-to-follow grid format that traces the year-by-year events of the Native People in four categories: History/Law/Politics; Literature/Art/Legends and Stories; Heroes/Leaders/Victims; and Elder Wisdom/Philosophy/Songs." "A fifth and very special section known as Ceremony Time is also included. Ceremony Time is a month-by-month calendar of celebrations, events, and festivals that take place annually among the Native Nations across Turtle Island. With specific dates and locations listed for many of the events, such a chronicle of the Native American calendar is not to be found anywhere else." "Adorned with approximately one hundred photographs of Native heroes, both ancient and modern, Native Time is at once an essential reference guide and an illuminating tribute to the real, but all too often abandoned, history of Turtle Island. A stunning work that beckons and welcomes all Native people and non-Natives alike to listen once again and hear the beat of the great drum."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Native America in the Twentieth Century by
First Published in 1996. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Native Americans and the Law by
The A-Z entries in this volume answer the most commonly asked questions about the laws as they affect Native Americans. A-Z entries provide coverage of key court decisions, case studies, concepts, individuals, tribes, organizations, and agencies
Atlas of the North American Indian by
Atlas of the North American Indian, Third Edition chronicles the travel and experiences of Native Americans from the first voyage to North America to the present day. This new edition now features a bold full-color format and is bolstered by more than 120 full-color, detailed maps that cover important locations for American Indians, as well as highlighting their interactions with European colonists and other non-Native people. In addition, the updated text details the history, traditions, conflicts, land cessions, and contemporary ways of life for American Indians.This informative book is enhanced by more than 130 full-color and black-and-white photographs and illustrations of the people, places, and artifacts important in the history of Native America. Invaluable appendixes include a chronology of North American Native prehistory and history, a list of contemporary Indian nations in the United States, a list of contemporary Canadian First Nations, and a list of major Native place-names in the United States and Canada. A glossary, a bibliography, and an index are also included.
Creation's Journey by
Drawing on the vast collections of the National Museum of the American Indian, Creation’s Journey retells the story of native life from the Arctic to the Tierra del Fuego, and from childhood to old age.
An Afro-Indigenous History of the United States by
The first intersectional history of the Black and Native American struggle for freedom in our country that also reframes our understanding of who was Indigenous in early America Beginning with pre-Revolutionary America and moving into the movement for Black lives and contemporary Indigenous activism, Afro-Indigenous historian Kyle T. Mays argues that the foundations of the US are rooted in antiblackness and settler colonialism, and that these parallel oppressions continue into the present. He explores how Black and Indigenous peoples have always resisted and struggled for freedom, sometimes together, and sometimes apart. Whether to end African enslavement and Indigenous removal or eradicate capitalism and colonialism, Mays show how the fervor of Black and Indigenous peoples calls for justice have consistently sought to uproot white supremacy. Mays uses a wide-array of historical activists and pop culture icons, "sacred" texts, and foundational texts like the Declaration of Independence and Democracy in America. He covers the civil rights movement and freedom struggles of the 1960s and 1970s, and explores current debates around the use of Native American imagery and the cultural appropriation of Black culture. Mays compels us to rethink both our history as well as contemporary debates and to imagine the powerful possibilities of Afro-Indigenous solidarity. Includes an 8-page photo insert featuring Kwame Ture with Dennis Banks and Russell Means at the Wounded Knee Trials; Angela Davis walking with Oren Lyons after he leaves Wounded Knee, SD; former South African president Nelson Mandela with Clyde Bellecourt; and more.
An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States by
New York Times Bestseller Now part of the HBO docuseries "Exterminate All the Brutes," written and directed by Raoul Peck Recipient of the American Book Award The first history of the United States told from the perspective of indigenous peoples Today in the United States, there are more than five hundred federally recognized Indigenous nations comprising nearly three million people, descendants of the fifteen million Native people who once inhabited this land. The centuries-long genocidal program of the US settler-colonial regimen has largely been omitted from history. Now, for the first time, acclaimed historian and activist Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz offers a history of the United States told from the perspective of Indigenous peoples and reveals how Native Americans, for centuries, actively resisted expansion of the US empire. With growing support for movements such as the campaign to abolish Columbus Day and replace it with Indigenous Peoples' Day and the Dakota Access Pipeline protest led by the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe, An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States is an essential resourceproviding historical threads that are crucial for understanding the present. In An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States, Dunbar-Ortiz adroitly challenges the founding myth of the United States and shows how policy against the Indigenous peoples was colonialist and designed to seize the territories of the original inhabitants, displacing or eliminating them. And as Dunbar-Ortiz reveals, this policy was praised in popular culture, through writers like James Fenimore Cooper and Walt Whitman, and in the highest offices of government and the military. Shockingly, as the genocidal policy reached its zenith under President Andrew Jackson, its ruthlessness was best articulated by US Army general Thomas S. Jesup, who, in 1836, wrote of the Seminoles- "The country can be rid of them only by exterminating them." Spanning more than four hundred years, this classic bottom-up peoples' history radically reframes US history and explodes the silences that have haunted our national narrative. An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States is a 2015 PEN Oakland-Josephine Miles Award for Excellence in Literature.
Unworthy Republic by
In May 1830, the United States launched an unprecedented campaign to expel 80,000 Native Americans from their eastern homelands to territories west of the Mississippi River. In a firestorm of fraud and violence, thousands of Native Americans lost their lives, and thousands more lost their farms and possessions. The operation soon devolved into an unofficial policy of extermination, enabled by US officials, southern planters, and northern speculators. Hailed for its searing insight, Unworthy Republic transforms our understanding of this pivotal period in American history.
Contact the liaison librarian to the Native American and Indigenous Studies program, Adriana Casarez (adriana.casarez@austin.utexas.edu) for research help.
EID login required
The Indigenous Popular Materials & Resources LibGuide was created by Amarainie Marquez in 2022.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.
