Welcome to the Native American Literature tab!
Here you will find resources and materials on Native American literature to assist in your research.
We have a section on Research Tools, a video of U.S. Poet Laureate Joy Harjo and Secretary of the Interior Deb Haaland and an Author's Highlight featuring Native American authors and some of their works. We also have some websites with book lists on the side panel and a Note on Terms.
Native American literatures come from oral tradition origins that included storytelling and poetry. Early written literature emerged in political and autobiographical texts like William Apess’ A Son of the Forest, followed by texts focusing on their lives and culture or fiction like Lynn Riggs’ Green Grow the Lilacs which is the basis for the play Oklahoma! This period was followed by the “Native American Renaissance”, marked by N. Scott Momaday winning the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 1969. Since then, various authors have emerged into popular culture from the 1970s to present day. Many have become unarguably successful, like Louise Erdrich and Tommy Orange becoming Pulitzer Prize finalists or Joy Harjo becoming the first Native American US Poet Laureate.
(166).jpg)
Key Terms
A user can find relevant articles with key search terms. A combination of the following will yield appropriate responses: “Native American” “Native” “Indigenous” “American Indian” or specific tribe names such as “Ojibwe” “Pequot” or others, and “literature” or specific types of literature such as “oral storytelling” "oral history" “poetry” “memoir” “fiction” “drama” “children’s literature” etc.
Boolean Operators
In addition to using keywords listed in the box above, Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) will assist you with finding sources.
AND: will return results containing both words entered in the search (Native American AND literature)
OR: will return results with either search term used; can be helpful when searching for synonyms or related terms (Native OR Indigenous)
Quotation marks will search the exact term ("Native American literature")
Parenthesis will help improve a search by allowing for multiple search filters: (Native American OR Indigenous OR American Indian) AND Literature
Truncation will widen a search with a wildcard symbol (*), so any variation of the root will be gathered (Photo* will return Photograph, Photographer, Photography, Photosynthesis, etc.)
The Oxford Handbook of Indigenous American Literature by
Over the course of the last twenty years, Native American and Indigenous American literary studies has experienced a dramatic shift from a critical focus on identity and authenticity to the intellectual, cultural, political, historical, and tribal nation contexts from which these Indigenous literatures emerge. The Oxford Handbook of Indigenous American Literature reflects on these changes and provides a complete overview of the current state of the field. The Handbook's forty-three essays, organized into four sections, cover oral traditions, poetry, drama, non-fiction, fiction, and other forms of Indigenous American writing from the seventeenth through the twenty-first century. Part I attends to literary histories across a range of communities, providing, for example, analyses of Inuit, Chicana/o, Anishinaabe, and Métis literary practices. Part II draws on earlier disciplinary and historical contexts to focus on specific genres, as authors discuss Indigenous non-fiction, emergent trans-Indigenous autobiography, Mexicanoh and Spanish poetry, Native drama in the U.S. and Canada, and even a new Indigenous children's literature canon. The third section delves into contemporary modes of critical inquiry to expound on politics of place, comparative Indigenism, trans-Indigenism, Native rhetoric, and the power of Indigenous writing to communities of readers. A final section thoroughly explores the geographical breadth and expanded definition of Indigenous American through detailed accounts of literature from Indian Territory, the Red Atlantic, the far North, Yucatán, Amerika Samoa, and Francophone Quebec. Together, the volume is the most comprehensive and expansive critical handbook of Indigenous American literatures published to date. It is the first to fully take into account the last twenty years of recovery and scholarship, and the first to most significantly address the diverse range of texts, secondary archives, writing traditions, literary histories, geographic and political contexts, and critical discourses in the field.
Dictionary of Native American Literature by
First Published in 1995. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Why Indigenous Literatures Matter by
Part survey of the field of Indigenous literary studies, part cultural history, and part literary polemic, Why Indigenous Literatures Matter asserts the vital significance of literary expression to the political, creative, and intellectual efforts of Indigenous peoples today. In considering the connections between literature and lived experience, this book contemplates four key questions at the heart of Indigenous kinship traditions: How do we learn to be human? How do we become good relatives? How do we become good ancestors? How do we learn to live together? Blending personal narrative and broader historical and cultural analysis with close readings of key creative and critical texts, Justice argues that Indigenous writers engage with these questions in part to challenge settler-colonial policies and practices that have targeted Indigenous connections to land, history, family, and self. More importantly, Indigenous writers imaginatively engage the many ways that communities and individuals have sought to nurture these relationships and project them into the future. This provocative volume challenges readers to critically consider and rethink their assumptions about Indigenous literature, history, and politics while never forgetting the emotional connections of our shared humanity and the power of story to effect personal and social change. Written with a generalist reader firmly in mind, but addressing issues of interest to specialists in the field, this book welcomes new audiences to Indigenous literary studies while offering more seasoned readers a renewed appreciation for these transformative literary traditions.
The Cambridge Companion to Native American Literature by
Invisible, marginal, expected - these words trace the path of recognition for American Indian literature written in English since the late eighteenth century. This Companion chronicles and celebrates that trajectory by defining relevant institutional, historical, cultural, and gender contexts, by outlining the variety of genres written since the 1770s, and also by focusing on significant authors who established a place for Native literature in literary canons in the 1970s (Momaday, Silko, Welch, Ortiz, Vizenor), achieved international recognition in the 1980s (Erdrich), and performance-celebrity status in the 1990s (Harjo and Alexie). In addition to the seventeen chapters written by respected experts - Native and non-Native; American, British and European scholars - the Companion includes bio-bibliographies of forty authors, maps, suggestions for further reading, and a timeline which details major works of Native American literature and mainstream American literature, as well as significant social, cultural and historical events. An essential overview of this powerful literature.
The Cambridge History of Native American Literature by
Native American literature has always been uniquely embattled. It is marked by divergent opinions about what constitutes authenticity, sovereignty, and even literature. It announces a culture beset by paradox: simultaneously primordial and postmodern; oral and inscribed; outmoded and novel. Its texts are a site of political struggle, shifting to meet external and internal expectations. This Cambridge History endeavors to capture and question the contested character of Indigenous texts and the way they are evaluated. It delineates significant periods of literary and cultural development in four sections: "Traces & Removals" (pre-1870s); "Assimilation and Modernity" (1879-1967); "Native American Renaissance" (post-1960s); and "Visions & Revisions" (21st century). These rubrics highlight how Native literatures have evolved alongside major transitions in federal policy toward the Indian, and via contact with broader cultural phenomena such, as the American Civil Rights movement. There is a balance between a history of canonical authors and traditions, introducing less-studied works and themes, and foregrounding critical discussions, approaches, and controversies.
New Poets of Native Nations by
A landmark anthology celebrating twenty-one Native poets first published in the twenty-first century New Poets of Native Nations gathers poets of diverse ages, styles, languages, and tribal affiliations to present the extraordinary range and power of new Native poetry. Heid E. Erdrich has selected twenty-one poets whose first books were published after the year 2000 to highlight the exciting works coming up after Joy Harjo and Sherman Alexie. Collected here are poems of great breadth--long narratives, political outcries, experimental works, and traditional lyrics--and the result is an essential anthology of some ofthe best poets writing now. Poets included are Tacey M. Atsitty, Trevino L. Brings Plenty, Julian Talamantez Brolaski, Laura Da', Natalie Diaz, Jennifer Elise Foerster, Eric Gansworth, Gordon Henry, Jr., Sy Hoahwah, LeAnne Howe, Layli Long Soldier, Janet McAdams, Brandy Nalani McDougall, Margaret Noodin, dg okpik, Craig Santos Perez, Tommy Pico, Cedar Sigo, M. L. Smoker, Gwen Westerman, and Karenne Wood.
Rennertshofen by
Aus Wikipedia. Nicht dargestellt. Auszug: Rennertshofen is a municipality in the district of Neuburg-Schrobenhausen in Bavaria in Germany. ...http://booksllc.net/?l=de
Recovering Native American Writings in the Boarding School Press by
2018 Outstanding Academic Title, selected by Choice Recovering Native American Writings in the Boarding School Press is the first comprehensive collection of writings by students and well-known Native American authors who published in boarding school newspapers during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Students used their acquired literacy in English along with more concrete tools that the boarding schools made available, such as printing technology, to create identities for themselves as editors and writers. In these roles they sought to challenge Native American stereotypes and share issues of importance to their communities. Writings by Gertrude Bonnin (Zitkala-Sa), Charles Eastman, and Luther Standing Bear are paired with the works of lesser-known writers to reveal parallels and points of contrast between students and generations. Drawing works primarily from the Carlisle Indian Industrial School (Pennsylvania), the Hampton Institute (Virginia), and the Seneca Indian School (Oklahoma), Jacqueline Emery illustrates how the boarding school presses were used for numerous and competing purposes. While some student writings appear to reflect the assimilationist agenda, others provide more critical perspectives on the schools' agendas and the dominant culture. This collection of Native-authored letters, editorials, essays, short fiction, and retold tales published in boarding school newspapers illuminates the boarding school legacy and how it has shaped, and continues to shape, Native American literary production.
Encyclopedia of American Indian Issues Today by
This essential reference examines the history, culture, and modern tribal concerns of American Indians in North America. Despite the fact that 565 federally recognized tribes exist on the continent of North America, non-Native Americans typically know very little about the modern world of American Indians. In a few instances, the uneasy coexistence of the two cultures has served to create controversy, such as fake Indians fraudulently leveraging ethnicity-based benefits, U.S. officials disposing of nuclear waste near reservations, and sports clubs basing mascots on cultural stereotypes. This unique survey scrutinizes the historical background as well as the contemporary issues of American Indian societies as both part of--and completely separate from--the world around them. Encyclopedia of American Indian Issues Today features subjects commonly discussed, including reservations, poverty, sovereignty, the problem of solid waste on reservations, and the lives of urban Indians, among other contemporary issues. Organized into ten sections, the book also provides helpful sidebars and informative essays to address topics on casinos and gaming, sexual identity, education, and poverty. Sidebars with additional information, resources, and primary source excerpts Contributions from top scholars in the field Bibliographies at the end of each essay for additional research
Encyclopedia of American Indian Literature by
American Indians have produced some of the most powerful and lyrical literature ever written in North America. ""Encyclopedia of American Indian Literature"" covers the field from the earliest recorded works to some of today's most exciting writers. This encyclopedia features the most respected, widely read, and influential American Indian writers to date. Coverage includes: Sherman Alexie; American Indian Movement; ""Assimilation""; ""Ceremony""; Louise Erdrich; Joy Harjo; ""House Made of Dawn""; ""Love Medicine""; Leslie Marmon Silko; D'Arcy McNickle; N. Scott Momaday; ""Native ""chic""""; Samson Occom; Simon Ortiz; ""Reservation Life""; ""This Way to Rainy Mountain""; ""Trail of Tears""; Gerald Vizenor; James Welch; Zitkala-Sa; and much more.
Contact the liaison librarian to the Native American and Indigenous Studies program, Adriana Casarez (adriana.casarez@austin.utexas.edu) for research help.
To kick off Native American Heritage Month, Joy Harjo, the first Native American U.S. Poet Laureate, joins Deb Haaland, the first Native American cabinet secretary, in a conversation with Librarian of Congress Carla Hayden.
For transcript and more information, visit https://www.loc.gov/item/webcast-10079
N. Scott Momaday (Kiowa) is a novelist, short story writer, essayist, and poet. His novel House Made of Dawn was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 1969, and is considered the pivotal, first step in the Native American Renaissance. Other books of his to check out include The Way to Rainy Mountain. The Death of Sitting Bear, and others.
Joy Harjo (Muscogee Nation) is a poet, musician, playwright, and author as well as the United States Poet Laureate. Her works include Crazy Brave, An American Sunrise, Poet Warrior, and She Had Some Horses among others.
Louise Erdrich (Anishinaabe) is an author of novels, poetry and children's books. Some of her books to check out include the Pulitzer Prize winner, The Night Watchman; The Sentence; National Book Award winner The Round House; The Red Convertible; and LaRose among more.
Smokii Sumac (Ktunaxa) is a poet whose first book of poetry, you are enough: love poems for the end of the world, was published won the inaugural Indigenous Voices Award for Unpublished English Poetry while unpublished and won the Indigenous Voices Award for English Poetry when published.
Leslie Marmon Silko (Laguna Pueblo Indian) is a novelist, poet and essayist. Books to check out include Ceremony, Yellow Woman, Storyteller and Almanac of the Dead among others.
Gerald Vizenor (Minnesota Chippewa Tribe) is an author and scholar. His works include Bearheart, The Heirs of Columbus, Manifest Manners: Postindian Warriors of Survivance and others.
Angeline Boulley (Chippewa) is an author whose debut book, Firekeeper's Daughter, "was named one of the top 100 young adult novels of all time by TIME magazine, was a New York Times best seller, and will be adapted into a miniseries by Higher Ground."
Joshua Whitehead (Oji-Cree) is a two-spirit novelist and poet. Jonny Appleseed is a must read by this author. They also have Full-metal Indigiqueer: Poems and a highly anticipated, 2022 non-fiction book, Making Love with the Land.
Stephen Graham Jones (Blackfoot NA) author of experimental fiction, horror fiction, crime fiction, and science fiction. The Only Good Indians is a must-read, along with his other works including My Heart is a Chainsaw, and Mongrels among others.
Louis Owens (Choctaw, Cherokee) was a novelist and scholar. Books to check out include Mixedblood Messages, The Sharpest Sight, I Hear the Train, Dark River and others.
Linda K. Hogan (Chickasaw) is a poet, storyteller, academic, playwright, novelist, environmentalist and writer of short stories. Her works include Solar Storms, The Book of Medicines, The Woman Who Watches Over the World and others.
Eden Robinson (Haisla and Heiltsuk First Nations) is an author whose works include the award-winning Son of a Trickster, Trickster Drift, Return of the Trickster, Monkey Beach and others.
Tommy Orange (Cheyenne and Arapaho Tribes) is an author whose first book, There There, was a finalist for the 2019 Pulitzer Prize and received the 2019 American Book Award.
Alicia Elliott (Tuscarora) is an author and editor whose works include the critcally acclaimed book, A Mind Spread Out on the Ground.
Native American literature can also be called Indian literature or American Indian literature, which are terms still used today colloquially and in cataloguing, including by the Library of Congress Subject Headings. While these terms may seem acceptable to some, others would argue that they are offensive because language evolves as people understand the colonial context of certain terms. When researching the topic, students should be aware that it is important to use language that respects indigenous peoples, rather than defaulting to terms based in colonialist language. Still, many institutions and libraries employ these terms in their systems while cataloging, so using them as search terms is still recommended to yield the most results.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.