Library databases and Google can't be searched the same way so take a few moments to come up with a search strategy before diving into a database.
Step 1: Think about the key concepts of your topic and search those instead of an entire phrases or sentences.
Step 2: Think of other terms you could use that are synonyms or related (they could be a broader or narrower aspect). This often requires that you do a little background research to learn more.
Step 3: Connect your terms using AND and OR:
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
See screenshots for better searches.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Journal articles are indexed for MEDLINE using NLM's controlled vocabulary, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Citations are created by the National Library of Medicine, International MEDLARS partners, and cooperating professional organizations.
MEDLINE has worldwide coverage, but 88% of the citations in current MEDLINE are to English-language sources and 76% have English abstracts.
NLM provides free access to MEDLINE through PubMed.
If you don’t see a .pdf of the article you want, click Find it at UT to find it in another database or in print in the Libraries.
If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click Get a Scan to have the article emailed to you.
Peer-reviewed journal articles, sometimes known as scholarly, refereed or academic articles, have the following characteristics:
1. Written by researchers/scholars
2. Reviewed by other researchers/scholars - this process is called peer-review
3. Published in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals
4. Written for an audience of other researchers/scholars
5. Created to share research with others in the scholarly discipline
If you can't tell whether or not a journal is peer-reviewed, check Ulrichsweb.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.