LibGuides: LIN350: A Linguistic History of India: Linguistic History of India

Begin Your Research

[detail of 17th c. Map of Bijapur from Sultans of the South]

This guide is intended to help you get started finding primary and secondary resources related to the linguistic history of India.

Most resources suggested here are available in the Library Catalog or through one of the databases that UT subscribes to for your use.

Getting Started

Identifying a topic for your research can be the hardest part. Think about what interests you, why it interests you, what you'd like to learn more about. If you need some inspiration, good starting places to explore include encyclopedias, surveys, reviews and bibliographies.

Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies. Unlimited.
These Bibliographies provide an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, expert recommendations and authoritative commentary on the best works available in the discipline covered, making them particularly useful for anyone beginning research.
UT Austin has access to the all bibliographies in all subject areas.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies by collection. Unlimited.
The Oxford Handbooks contain in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field. Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve.
UT Austin currently has access to Handbooks in all available subject through 2021.
Wikipedia This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Updated continually. A multilingual, web-based, free-content encyclopedia project based on an openly editable model. The name "Wikipedia" is a portmanteau of the words wiki (a technology for creating collaborative websites, from the Hawaiian word wiki, meaning "quick") and encyclopedia. Wikipedia's articles provide links to guide the user to related pages with additional information.