LibGuides: BME Capstone 370 & 371: Statistical Information

Finding Statistical Information

When you need statistical information, a good first place to go is:

Statista This link opens in a new window
An index to statistical data. Also including the data, ready for export.
Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.
Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.
While historical and time series data are not a focus of Statista, the metadata about each table provides all the necessary information to go to the table’s source, where historical information may be available.

On biomedical topics, you might be interested in, for example, the percentage of people in the U.S. with an ambulatory disability or a market forecast for medical devices. Both are covered in Statista.

As you use Statista, you may notice that many tables come from government agencies. This can help point to an office likely to have more information on your topic. Government statistics are often --- but not always --- supplied for free. Here are some pages pointing to other sources:

Our Government Documents & Information library guide includes these pages:

Demographic & Economic Information for the U.S.
Includes links to census and economic information.
More Statistical and Data Sources: A Selected List for the U.S.
Points to some of the other statistical offices for agencies of the U.S. federal government. Topics include education and energy.
UT-Austin, State, & Local
Points to sources for Austin, Travis County, and Texas. Also has suggestions for other local jurisdictions.
Countries of the World and International Agencies
Includes a reminder of sources such as the World Health Organization and Unesco.