Find Articles

Library databases and Google can't be searched the same way so take a few moments to come up with a search strategy before diving into a database.

Step 1: Think about the key concepts of your topic and search those instead of an entire phrases or sentences.

Step 2: Think of other terms you could use that are synonyms or related (they could be a broader or narrower aspect). This often requires that you do a little background research to learn more.

Step 3: Connect your terms using AND and OR:

Remember -

AND narrows your topic (use AND between terms if you want them all to appear in your results)
OR broadens your topic (use OR between terms if you want any, not all, to appear in your results)

Generate Keywords from a Topic
This tool can help you create search terms and formulate an effective search.

Libraries Search Box
Search across many of the Libraries electronic and print resources at once. Includes articles, books, ebooks and more.

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly articles using a Google search. Use GoogleScholar through this guide or the Libraries home page to get past the paywall with your EID.
Academic Search Complete
Find magazine, newspaper and scholarly articles from across disciplines.

All Library Databases
UT Libraries has over 900 databases. Pick one by subject or type to find information for your paper

In the Libraries Search Tool: Look for the "get pdf or "available online" link. If it says it is only available in print, click Get a Scan to have the article scanned and emailed to you (for free).
In GoogleScholar: Look for the html or pdf link (and you may have to log in with your EID). If you don't see either, look for the View it @ UT link.
In Library Databases: Look for the pdf, full text, or hmtl link. If none are available, look for Find it at UT to find it in another database.

If none of those work, look up the article title in the Libraries Search tool to see if we have it.

If you can't find it, request it (for free) through Interlibrary Loan and we'll scan and email it to you.

What is a peer-reviewed article?

Peer-reviewed articles, sometimes known as scholarly, refereed, research or academic articles, have the following characteristics:

1. Written by researchers/scholars

2. Reviewed by other researchers/scholars - this process is called peer-review

3. Published in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals

4. Written for an audience of other researchers/scholars

5. Created to share research with others in the scholarly discipline