LibGuides: Anthropology: Finding Articles, papers, chapters and more

Locate articles, conference papers, chapters, and other research materials

Start with Anthropology Plus (or AnthroSource if you wish to limit to just American Anthropological Association journals; for best results use the "Find it @ UT" option to access the fulltext ).

You may want to supplement with additional databases depending on the topic of research. Do reach out and we can talk about your best options.

Anthropological Index Online
1970 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Provides basic bibliographic references to over 700 periodicals in the British Museum's Museum of Mankind Library (incorporating the former Royal Anthropological Institute Library). A browsable list of journal titles and abbreviations is also available.
Anthropology Online
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
A comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior. Features cross-searchable access to the acclaimed Ethnographic Video Online and Anthropology Online collections and provides anthropologists, sociologists and cultural historians with an expansive and multifaceted survey of the discipline. Researchers can explore a wide range of materials—from documentaries and field notes to written ethnographies and reference works.
Thematic areas include: family and race, material culture, language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, marriage, gender, and family roles.
Anthropology Plus
late 19th century - present. Unlimited users.
Updated quarterly. Brings together into one searchable resource Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from Royal Anthropological Institute in the UK. Provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. A Source Titles List is available.
AnthroSource
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides indexing and full text access to peer-reviewed journals published by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), the world's largest organization of anthropologists. Also includes indexing for archived issues of all the Association's journals, newsletters and bulletins.
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Online collection brings together audio recordings from field expeditions around the world, particularly from the 1960s through the 1980s. It consists primarily of field recordings, along with selections of contextualizing field notes, photographs, and film. At completion, it will contain over 2,000 hours of audio field recordings, as well as 10,000 pages of text, 5,000 photographs, and 200 hours of field film footage.
Dissertations and Theses Global
1861 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Contains more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Provides full text for many dissertations and theses, including most done after 1997. All subject areas are covered. The database includes more than 90 percent of the doctoral dissertations accepted each year in North America with selective coverage for other parts of the world. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Only bibliographic citations are available for earlier years. More than 55,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Many dissertations from The University of Texas at Austin are included in the database, though theses from the University are only rarely included.

ProQuest recommends using Firefox, IE or Safari for your browser for this resource.
Ethnographic Video Online, Vols. I & II: Foundational Films
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
A comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior. Features cross-searchable access to the acclaimed Ethnographic Video Online and Anthropology Online collections and provides anthropologists, sociologists and cultural historians with an expansive and multifaceted survey of the discipline. Researchers can explore a wide range of materials—from documentaries and field notes to written ethnographies and reference works.
Thematic areas include: family and race, material culture, language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, marriage, gender, and family roles.
Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. III: Indigenous Voices
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Ethnographic film, documentaries, and shorts made by and for Indigenous peoples and communities. Emphasis is on the human effects of climate change, sustainability, indigenous and local ways of interpreting history, cultural change, and traditional knowledge and storytelling. Local material covered includes Australia, New Zealand, Papua Niu Gini (also known as Papua New Guinea), Solomon Islands and other regions. Content has been sourced from several collections including National Film & Sound Archive of Australia, SBS, Mexican Film Board, and National Film Board of Canada.
JSTOR
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Texas ScholarWorks
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Holds digital works and provides related services that constitute an institutional repository for the University of Texas at Austin. Archives and provides persistent and reliable access to the digital works of faculty, staff, and students and aims to provide the greatest possible dissemination and recognition to these works as possible. Digital works include research and scholarship, as well as works that reflect the intellectual and service environment of the campus.
Web of Science
1900 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.

Susan Macicak

Shiela Winchester

Email Me

Contact:

512 495 4254

Subjects: Anthropology, Archaeology, Classics, Dutch Literature, Folklore, Germanic Studies, Greek and Latin Language and Literature, Medieval and Renaissance Studies, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Scandinavian