Skip to Main Content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Education Research

Educational History

Primary Sources in K-12 Education

Austin American Statesman (1872-1980) Search the Statesman newspaper archives to find articles about local issues related to schools and education.

Austin History Center has preserved many documents, reports and articles related to AISD. Search their catalog, review the Public School Resource Guide, browse their Manuscript Index or scan their Vertical File Holdings to locate documents of interest.  Also, take the time to email their reference librarians, especially if you plan to visit.  That will save you both time!

AISD Department of Research and Evaluation  Publications back to 1998.

Dallas Morning News  Newspaper archive. Covers 1885 to 1994.

Texas Archival Resources Online  Catalog of finding aids from archival collections in Texas. Most items have not been digitized, so access will require travel to the owning institution.

Texas Education Agency Bulletins and Reports

  • Select digitized copies can be found in Texas ScholarWorks
  • Print copies (1870-1996) are held in PCL Stacks at Call #: 370.6 T314
  • 1998-present are available through TEA

Texas State Library & Archives Commission Records  The official archive for state documents in Texas. Most have not been digitized and will require a visit to the capital complex. Make sure to ask the reference librarians for help!

Texas State Teacher's Association  Documents in our collection published by TSTA from 1882-2004.

Texas Textbook Adoption Lists and UT Libraries Historic Textbook Collection

DOCUMENTS

Department of Education  Documents in our collection published by the Department of Education.  Follow the link into the Library Catalog and add additional terms and/or adjust date limits as needed.

National Education Association  Documents from our collection published by NEA from the 1920's to the 1990's.

ProQuest Congressional  A huge archive of federal documents, including: Bills and Resolutions, Congressional Record, Congressional Hearings, Committee Prints, CRS Reports and Unpublished Hearings.

STATISTICS

120 Years of American Education: A Statistical Portrait  Online from NCES.

Digest of Education Statistics Print only, from 1063-1974.

Historical Statistics of the United States

National Center for Education Statistics  Online statistical reports. Few are older the the 1980's.

CURRICULAR MATERIALS

UT Libraries Textbook Collections

UT Libraries Youth Collections

America's Historic Newspapers  Includes the Early American Newspapers, African American Newspapers and Hispanic American Newspapers series.

Dissertations & Thesis Full Text  Old dissertations can be an excellent source for historic data and glimpses into frameworks and practices of the past. To find digitized copies of older texts, limit by "full text" and set date ranges appropriate to your topic.

Education Index Retrospective  An index of old education journals. Many won't be readily available online, so use the "Find it @ UT" and "Request a Scan" link as needed.

Google Books  A great source for historic texts of all types!

UT Library Catalog  We hold historic documents from a wide range of education-related agencies and associations.  Use the date limiter to restrict results to historic materials.

Primary Sources in Higher Education

Austin American Statesman  Newspaper archives from 1871 to 1980

Cactus Yearbook  Print from 1893 to 2013

Cactus Yearbook Select online copies from Texas ScholarWorks

Daily Texan  Newspaper Archives, 1900 to 2019

Misc. UT Austin Reports and Documents:

UT Statistical Handbooks  1980 to the most recent

University of Texas Archives  Housed at the Briscoe Center for American History. Papers from many UT offices, departments, organizations and faculty.

Austin American Statesman  Newspaper archives from 1871 to 1975

Dallas Morning News  Newspaper archives from 1885 to 1984

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board

University of Texas System 

DOCUMENTS

American Association of University Professors  Print documents (from our collection) and recent online reports (from AAUP)

Chronicle of Higher Education 

Dissertations & Thesis Full Text  Old dissertations can be an excellent source for historic data and glimpses into frameworks and practices of the past. To find digitized copies of older texts, limit by "full text" and set date ranges appropriate to your topic.

Education Index Retrospective  An index of old education journals. Many won't be readily available online, so use the "Find it @ UT" and "Request a Scan" link as needed.

Google Books  A great source for historic texts of all types!

UT Library Catalog  We hold historic documents from a wide range of education-related agencies and associations.  Use the date limiter to restrict results to historic materials.

STATISTICS

NCES Post-Secondary Surveys & Programs

Finding Educational History Research

America: History and Life  Articles from history journals

ERIC  Articles from education journals. Try adding "educational history" to your search terms.

Google Books  If a books isn't fully available online, check our Library Catalog to see if we own a copy.  If not, make a InterLibrary Services request or a purchase recommendation.

UT Library Catalog  Educational history as published in books.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.