Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Youth Literature

Youth Collections at UT Libraries

NOTICE! Service & collection disruptions due to Covid

We apologize for the following access barriers that have arisen due to the pandemic and appreciate your patience.

  • The Youth Collection stacks are closed for browsing. Please use the Pick it Up service to have the item pulled and held for you at the desk in the lobby of PCL.
  • The ability to order and receive print materials has been disrupted in 2020. Many award winners and other popular titles from 2019 and 2020 may be missing for our collections until processing can resume.
  • Print reserves are currently unavailable and recalled materials must be quarantined between users, so quick turnaround of popular titles may be difficult.
  • Most children's and YA titles are unavailable as eBooks to academic libraries, so electronic options are very limited.

About our Youth Collections

University of Texas Libraries has an extensive collection of current and historic children's literature, housed across many libraries and storage facilities. 

Our main Youth Collection is located in PCL on the 6th floor in Section S. It consists of over 60,000 picture books, early readers, chapter books, young adult fiction, and some historical and foreign language materials.

The Benson Latin American Collection also has an extensive collection of children's and young adult literature focused Latinos in the US and abroad.

For preservation purposes, much of our rare and historic children's literature in housed in our off-site collections, but we're happy to bring materials to campus as requested.

Education Librarian

Janelle Hedstrom's picture
Janelle Hedstrom
Pronouns: she/her

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.