Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Youth Literature

Teaching with Children's Literature

Databases

Several databases offer support to teachers as they use children's literature in the classroom...

Education Source
Articles from teacher magazines and research journals about teaching with children's literature. A good place to find more information to develop evidence-based teaching practices.

TeachingBooks.net
A easy way to generate a list of useful books by genre/topic. Includes streaming author interviews and book readings, lesson plans, discussion guides and more.  If you find a book that's a good match for you, check our Library Catalog to see if we own a copy.  If we don't, try InterLibrary Loan or Austin Public Library.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD)
Search for books by topic and grade level, reading levels, genre, author/illustrator and more.  Includes book reviews for most entries.  If you find a book that's a good match for you, check our Library Catalog to see if we own a copy.  If we don't, try InterLibrary Loan or Austin Public Library.

Literary Reference Center
Author biographies, book reviews, magazine articles and literary criticism. A great source for teaching literature in high schools.

Curriculum Collection

Our Curriculum Collection includes many books with lesson plans and classroom activities for teachers using children's literature in their classrooms.  It can be found on the 6th floor of PCL in Section S.  Here are a few examples of the types of books you'll find...

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.