Find out the current news and issues in the following publications. Some provide opportunities to sign up for email updates or to follow on social media.
Kaiser Health News - "in-depth coverage of health care policy and politics"
Medscape - Medical news and perspectives; free registration required
ScienceDaily - "your source for the latest research news"
Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Every report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue with numerous charts, graphs and sidebar articles.
These links lead to lists or directories of accredited programs of study.
Commission on Dental Accreditation
Liaison Committee on Medical Education Accreditation
Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing
Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics
Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education
AOA Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation
Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education
Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education
American Veterinary Medical Association Council on Education
Many professional organizations have resources for students. These links lead to the student page, if there is one, on the organizations' websites.
Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
Texas Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
American Occupational Therapy Association
Texas Occupational Therapy Association
American Optometric Association
National Optometric Student Association
American Osteopathic Association
Texas Osteopathic Medical Association
American Pharmacists Association
American Physical Therapy Association
Texas Physical Therapy Association
American Veterinary Medical Association
Texas Veterinary Medical Association
BlueCross BlueShield of Texas Provider Finder
MedlinePlus list of directories for health professionals, services, and facilities
LinkedIn--From your homepage, search for a word or phrase (e.g. American medical, veterinary) then select Groups from the sidebar on the left.
Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Contains basic directory information for more than 210 million U.S. residents and 14 million businesses in all zip code areas of the United States. Information includes name of business, address, telephone number, headquarters, branch and subsidiaries identification, SIC codes, yellow pages headings, ticker symbol, credit rating, number of employees, and estimated sales volume. Also includes some federal, state, and municipal offices.
Occupational Outlook Handbook - published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics in the United States Department of Labor. It provides career information such as duties, work environment, training and educational requirements, salary statistics, job outlook, and links to professional organizations
Wayfinder--UT program that assists undeclared students in identifying a major
Unlimited users.
Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.
Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope.
While historical and time series data are not a focus of Statista, the metadata about each table provides all the necessary information to go to the table’s source, where historical information may be available.
Unlimited users.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a compilation of social, political and economic statistics. The focus is on national data, but some tables cover regions, states, cities, and comparative international statistics. Each table identifies the source of the data. Tables can be downloaded in xls or pdf format.
Divided into broad sections such as Population, Health and Nutrition, Education, Foreign Commerce and Aid, Prices and many others, the database can be searched or browsed to retrieve results that can then be narrowed by source, geography, time period, subject, and other breakdowns.
Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Offers the latest college and graduate entrance exams, as well as college and vocational school information, financial aid sources, and requirements. Users can prepare for specialized tests using online practice exams for college, graduate school, the military, or trade school. Includes test preparation for: ACT, American Foreign Service Officer, AP, ASVAB, Civil Service, CLEP, Clerical, DSST, EMT, Firefighter, GED, GMAT, GRE, Law Enforcement, LSAT, MCAT, Military Flight Aptitude, NCLEX-PN, Officer Candidate, Postal, SAT, State Trooper, and TOEFL.
Introduction to the Health Professions
by
Completely updated, Introduction to the Health Professions, Sixth Edition provides the most current, comprehensive coverage of all the major health professions. This popular text outlines more than 75 careers and touches on every major facet of the field including training requirements, job responsibilities, and salaries. This fundamental resource provides a thorough review of the U.S. healthcare delivery system, managed care, health care financing, reimbursement, insurance coverage, Medicare, Medicaid, and the impact of new technology on healthcare services. Written specifically for students who plan to become healthcare professionals, this text will give you all the information you need for a successful career! New Topics and Updates in the Sixth Edition. Historical review of the health insurance industry in the United States. Expanded discussion of public health care--Medicaid, Medicare, and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP)New section on healthcare reform due to the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of 2010Up-to-date coverage of individual states' implementation of healthcare reform Future-looking perspective on the evolving roles and responsibilities in health careers and the impact of future demographic and socioeconomic changes on healthcare needs. Useful information on educational grants and loan repayment programs. Current data for each profession from the latest Occupational Outlook (U.S. Department of Labor, 2010 - 2011)New chapter with current information on athletic trainers.
"Diabetes Core Update is a monthly audio podcast devoted to presenting and discussing the latest clinically relevant articles from the American Diabetes Association’s four scholarly journals – Diabetes, Diabetes Care, Clinical Diabetes, and Diabetes Spectrum. Each episode is approximately 15 minutes long and presents 5-6 recently published articles from ADA journals. Intended for the busy health care professional who has little time to review journal articles in depth, Diabetes Core Update discusses how the latest research and information published in ADA journals are relevant to clinical practice and can be applied in a treatment setting."
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.