China Statistical Data provides comprehensive and updated information on China's economic development at national, provincial, city, county, and industrial levels. Our subscription includes the following databases:
Updated regularly. Provides a standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. Expands and revises information provided in Historical Statistics of the United States, previously produced by the U.S. Bureau of the Census, and includes thirty years of new data and scholarship. Footnotes and explanatory information provide instructional information about the data and sources of the data.
Permits users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting particular areas of interest. Data is downloadable in Excel or CSV; also download entire groups of tables as a zip file.
ILOSTATThis link opens in a new window1969 - present. Unlimited users.
A database on labour statistics operated by the International Labour Organization Bureau of Statistics, a United Nations specialized agency which seeks the promotion of social justice and internationally recognized human and labour rights. Includes statistics of employment, unemployment, hours of work, wages, labour cost, consumer price indices, occupational injuries, strikes and lockouts and economically active population estimates and projections. Dates vary on statistic coverage.
OnTheMapThis link opens in a new windowDates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
OnTheMap is a web-based mapping and data application that shows where workers are employed and where they live, produced by the U.S. Bureau of the Census. It also provides companion reports on age, earnings, industry distributions, race, ethnicity, educational attainment, and sex. To begin, type a place name or Zip Code in the search box. Additional information on the underlying data is available on the Longitudinal Employer-Household Dynamics web site.
Updated annually. Provides an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics. A primary reference tool to the world's population literature.
Data AxleThis link opens in a new window1996 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Contains basic directory information for more than 210 million U.S. residents and 14 million businesses in all zip code areas of the United States. Information includes name of business, address, telephone number, headquarters, branch and subsidiaries identification, SIC codes, yellow pages headings, ticker symbol, credit rating, number of employees, and estimated sales volume. Also includes some federal, state, and municipal offices.
Updated regularly. An Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. Professional mapping applications can take over 20 hours of training to use, but SimplyMap is designed so that most users need less than 10 minutes of training in order to use the product.
Please either create a free account or use the Guest Login to enter the site.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.
Social ExplorerThis link opens in a new window1790 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides easy access to historical census data for the United States. Allows users to visually analyze and understand the demography of any part of the United States with access to the following:
Interactive thematic maps of historical census data
Customized reports for any chosen area or areas (including aggregates)
Complete coverage of the United States, down to neighborhoods and streets
Simple navigation buttons and a find tool make it easy and efficient to study neighborhoods
Users can examine geographic areas while selecting the type of data to be shown, such as population density or income level. The corresponding data tables are also available.
StatistaThis link opens in a new windowDates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.
Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.
While historical and time series data are not a focus of Statista, the metadata about each table provides all the necessary information to go to the table’s source, where historical information may be available.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a compilation of social, political and economic statistics. The focus is on national data, but some tables cover regions, states, cities, and comparative international statistics. Each table identifies the source of the data. Tables can be downloaded in xls or pdf format.
Divided into broad sections such as Population, Health and Nutrition, Education, Foreign Commerce and Aid, Prices and many others, the database can be searched or browsed to retrieve results that can then be narrowed by source, geography, time period, subject, and other breakdowns.
Updated regularly. Online versions of 101 publications, reports and data sets released by the Russian State Statistics Committee and the Commonwealth of Independent States Statistical Committee. Includes regional and national statistics on demographics, labor, public health, education, tourism, transportation, industry, agriculture, and other socioeconomic topics. Content primarily in Russian; some English.
All tables are provided in HTML and can be easily downloaded into Excel.
Access to this resource is partially funded by the Center for Russian, East European & Eurasian Studies.
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from the TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.
HeritageQuest Online is a database of American genealogical sources, including primary sources, local and family histories, research guides, interactive census maps, and more. Core datasets include census, books, city directories, military records, wills and probate records, Freedman's Bank records, US Serial Set, maps, and photos.
Statistics and Demographics
Use these links to discover statics that Open Access: