LibGuides: Historic Preservation: Advocacy, Laws, and Regulations

Preservation Act

National Historic Preservation Act of 1966
"AN ACT to Establish a Program for the Preservation of Additional Historic Properties throughout the Nation, and for Other Purposes, Approved October 15, 1966 (Public Law 89-665; 80 STAT. 915; 16 U.S.C. 470) as amended by Public Law 91-243, Public Law 93-54, Public Law 94-422, and Public Law 94-458."

Online Resources

Advisory Council on Historic Preservation
An agency that provides a forum for influencing U.S. Federal activies, programs, and policies as they affect historic resources. Provides information about the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966.
Georgetown Law Historic Preservation Paper Series, 2009-2002
The Historic Preservation Papers series showcases exemplary student papers written for the Historic Preservation Law Seminar at the Georgetown Law Center, which is taught by Professor J. Peter Byrne and Adjunct Professor E. Tersh Boasberg. The papers in this series examine the preservation of historic buildings, communities, and landscapes; explore the theory and practice of historic preservation; and examine issues of local and national significance.
National Trust for Historic Preservation, Preservation Leadership Forum
Preservation Leadership Forum is a network of preservation professionals brought together by the National Trust for Historic Preservation. Forum provides and curates cutting edge content, offers online and in person networking opportunities, and brings new, diverse perspectives to the business of saving places.
National Trust for Historic Preservation, Understanding Preservation Law
provides legal advocacy support and legal resources to communities and organizations throughout the country to strengthen and ensure the effectiveness of local, state and federal preservation laws.
National Trust for Historic Preservation Action Center
The National Trust frequently turns to grassroots supporters to help effect change at the local, state, and federal level. This includes advocating for preservation funding, saving historic places and influencing key legislation that protects our country’s heritage.
Preservation Action
Preservation Action is a 501(c)4 nonprofit organization created in 1974 to serve as the national grassroots lobby for historic preservation. Preservation Action seeks to make historic preservation a national priority by advocating to all branches of the federal government for sound preservation policy and programs through a grassroots constituency empowered with information and training and through direct contact with elected representatives.

Print Resources

Preservation Law Reporter
ISBN: 0736119X
Publication Date: [Washington, D.C.] : National Trust for Historic Preservation, 1982-2004
Historic Preservation Law in a Nutshell by Sara Bronin; Ryan M. Rowberry Historic Preservation in a Nutshell provides the first-ever in-depth summary of historic preservation law within its local, state, tribal, federal, and international contexts. Historic Preservation is a burgeoning area of law that includes aspects of property, land use, environmental, constitutional, cultural resources, international, and Native American law. This book covers the primary federal statutes, and many facets of state statutes, dealing with the protection and preservation of historic resources. It also includes key topics like the designation process, federal agency obligations, local regulation, takings and other constitutional concerns, and real estate development issues. Click here to read a book review from the National Trust for Historic Preservation.
ISBN: 9780314180445
Publication Date: 2014-05-05
Protecting historic properties: a citizen's guide to Section 106 review
Publication Date: [Washington, D.C.] : Advisory Council on Historic Preservation, [2001]
Rehabilitating Older and Historic Buildings by Stephen L. Kass; Judith M. LaBelle; David A. Hansell Developers, non-profit organizations, accountants, lawyers can use this book, and others involved in rehabilitating historic or older buildings. Helps identify project benefits and helps avoid or reduce the risk of potential pitfalls. Appendix D contains a copy of the Secretary's Guidelines for Rehabilitating Historic Buildings and Interpretations of the Secretary of the Interior's Standards for Rehabilitation.
ISBN: 0471571644
Publication Date: 1995-12-31
Historic Preservation Law by Gail I. Winson Focuses on United States law governing the preservation of historic buildings, sites, & districts. The most numerous writings have been on topics such as aesthetic regulation, takings, tax incentives, conservation easements, state & federal legislation, & religious freedom issues. Cross- references, author index, & table of cases are provided. The vast majority of books & articles are annotated.
ISBN: 0837713552
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
Historic preservation easements in Texas
Publication Date: [Austin, Tex.] : Texas Historical Commission, National Register Programs, Certified Local Government Program, [1992]
The Historic preservation yearbook This book describes preservation policy disputes and their resolution. It also covers techniques for financing preservation and restoration. It was the first publication to document law and policy issues at the local, state, national, and international levels.
ISBN: 07488823

Additional resources can be found under these subject headings:

Historic preservation -- Law and legislation
Historic sites -- Law and legislation
Historic buildings -- Law and legislation

When searching the UT Library's Catalog, add the terms "--Law and Legislation" or "--Law and Legislation--United states to your subject search.