LibGuides: Access the Library After Graduation: Free Resources

More Places to Find What you Need

Even if you can longer access the library like you used to, there are many online databases and resources that are free and available to everyone.

Check out our Open Access databases here, and see below for other resources free to users.

Art/Art History

Bibliography of the History of Art: art and art history index
Europeana: digital resources of European museums, libraries, archives, and audiovisual collections

Classics

Perseus: history, literature, and culture of the Greco-Roman world
TOCS-IN (Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicits): tables of contents for about 185 journals, some with links to abstracts or full text articles

Geography

The Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection: The PCL's own digital map collection, including maps relevant to current events

History and Archives

Internet Archive: includes the Wayback Machine, an archive of current and defunct websites, usable just like they were the day they were captured
The Handbook of Texas Online: encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture, sponsored by the Texas State Historical Association
The Digital Library Center (The University of Florida): develops, manages, and publishes digital content from curatorial collections, including rare children's literature, antique maps, oral histories, and more

Human Rights

The National Security Archive (George Washington University): primary resources (declassified U.S. government documents) on global human rights issues and U.S. foreign policy from WWII to the present
NSA database: a comprehensive set of declassified U.S. government documents
The Torture Archive: full texts of government documents related to torture policies post-9/11
HuriSearch: search engine that searches over 5,000 human rights websites
Human Rights Library (University of Minnesota): full text of over 60,000 documents, including major human rights treaties

Music

Free Music Archive: an interactive library of high-quality, legal audio downloads

Philosophy

Psychology

PILOTS Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress: database of worldwide literature on PTSD, mental health, and trauma
American Psychological Association: overviews and resources, research funding, tools, methods, and more

Sociology

Bibliography of Data Related Literature: searchable database of over 70,000 citations of published and unpublished works from the ICPSR archive

Crunchbase: free tech company database
NFIB: database of over 2,000 facts about American small businesses and their owners from National Small Business Poll

ERIC: thousands of full text documents on education (including lesson plans) and plenty more citations

PubMed and PubMed Central: The U.S. National Library of Medicine runs this database of more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed Central is a free full text archive of life sciences journals
MedlinePlus and MedlinePlus en espanol; information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues from the National Library of Medicine
U.S. Prescription Drugs: drug information from the National Library of Medicine
Pillbox: identify pills from their physical characteristics
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: credible information on diseases, healthy lifestyle choices, travel advisories, and more

Handbook of Latin American Studies; one of the core databases on Latin America, focusing on social sciences/humanities
CLACSO: full text social science materials from 20 Latin American and Caribbean countries
Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean: includes Economic Survey and Statistical Yearbook
Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC): UT's own guide to digital information on or from Latin America
Biblioteca Nacional de Espana: resources and services from the National Library of Spain
Dialnet: portal of research in Spain, including books, journal articles, dissertations, and documents, many of them full text
Torre de Babel Ediciones; philosophy, psychology, and education materials in Spanish

E Read Texas
Free ebooks from the Texas State Library and Archives (available in Texas). Includes books from university presses, fiction/non-fiction, and books on many topics. No login needed. Available only within Texas.

LibriVox: online audiobooks from the public domain
Directory of Open Access Journals: full text scientific and scholarly journals, covering many subjects and languages
OAIster: catalog of open access resources pulled from collections worldwide
Berkman Center for Internet & Society: issues and opportunities related to cyberspace, from Harvard University

Astronomy

ADS Astrophysics Data Systems; three databases containing over 8.9 million resources, some full text
Handbook of Space Astronomy and Astrophysics: comprehensive compilation of facts and figures
Astronomy Picture of the Day: every day a new image or photograph is featured, with an explanation from a professional astronomer
NASA Astrobiology: official website for the NASA Astrobiology Proghttps ://www.webelements.com/ram

Chemistry

NIST Chemistry WebBook: chemical and chemical physics information from the National Institute of Standards and Technology
Sigma Aldrich: chemical product catalog, with data on all kinds of compounds, including biological, with spectra, MSDS, and more
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds: collection of free chemical spectra
WebElements: online periodic table
TOXNET: index database from the National Institute of Health

Geology

Search and Discovery: resources from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists

Marine Sciences

Aquatic Commons: digital repository covering natural marine, estuarine/brackish, and fresh water ecosystems
National Wetlands Research Center: online publications from the U.S. Geological Survey's National Wetlands Research Center
NOAA Photo Library Collections: images of marine species, shores, coastal seas, weather and more, from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Open Access Journals: resource list from the UT Marine Science Library

Physics

SPIN: searches articles from 80 American and Russian scientific journals
High-Energy Physics Literature: database from the library at the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center
Physical Reference Data: physical reference data from the National Institute of Standards & Technology

Additional resources on Science & Technology from the UT Engineering Library

State Child Welfare Policy Database: state-by-state policy information on a range of child welfare topics

Pew Research Center: nonpartisan information on current national and international issues, trends, and attitudes
Google Public Data Explorer: create visual datasets that can be embedded or linked