LibGuides: Sustainable Design: Databases and Journals

Finding Scholarly Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window 1865 - present. Unlimited users. 
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window 1934 (with selective coverage back to 1741) - current. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, U.S. state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Includes obituary citations.
Building Green This link opens in a new window 1992 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Includes information on a wide range of topics related to sustainable building, including energy efficiency, recycled-content materials, land-use planning and indoor air quality. Integrates online versions of GreenSpec, Environmental Building News (EBN), and a database of more than 100 high-performance building case studies. Provides a searchable and cross-referenced format.
Registering for a personal profile helps you stay informed about new content added to the BuildingGreen website. Each month there is a new feature-length article on a design-related topic as well as reviews of building materials and case studies of high performance buildings. By signing up for a personal profile you will receive the monthly issue notice.
Compendex This link opens in a new window 1884 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Ei Compendex indexes the research literature of the field of engineering. The product contains more than 17 million total records. Over a million new records, with abstracts, are added per year. More than 3,600 journals and 4,100 conference publications and trade magazines are currently indexed. Customizable e-mail or RSS alerts are available.
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window 1973 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. All areas of design and craft are covered, including industrial design, vehicle design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, computer aided design, furniture design, ceramics, glass, jewellery, metalsmithing, silversmithing, goldsmithing, fashion design, textile design, embroidery, graphic design, typography, multimedia design, illustration, book design, photography, advertising, marketing, retail design, packaging, exhibition design, theatre design, design and craft history, design and craft theory, ergonomics, design for disability, design for the elderly, design and craft education and design management.
DETAIL Inspiration This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Provides photographs, drawings and technical product information from thousands of builds featured in the journal DETAIL as well as its supplements Structure, Detail Green, and Detail Inside. Each project is accompanied by DETAIL project documents, which can be downloaded as PDFs. Search filters include building type, material, construction and location, year of construction and more. Note: The UT Libraries have access to Detail Inspiration only. Other pages from the site could be unavailable.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 538,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 5,800 records.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window 1965 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. A collection of scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. Covers current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, and the environment. Offers full text for nearly 250 international law journals. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.
PAIS This link opens in a new window 1915 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Covers selected journal articles, books, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, government documents, and microfiche. More than 1,600 journals and over 8,000 monographs are indexed each year. Includes documents published worldwide in any of six languages: English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The subject headings and abstracts are in English.
The PAIS Archive database comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. At completion of this conversion, the PAIS Archive contains over 1.23 million records.
SEG Digital Library This link opens in a new window Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
The SEG (Society of Exploration Geophysicists) Digital Library contains full text journal papers, meeting abstracts, and books dealing with applied geophysics topics. Journals included are:
- Geophysics
- Interpretation
- The Leading Edge
- Journal of Environmental and Engineering Geophysics
- Exploration Geophysics (Australia)
- SAGEEP Proceedings
- SEG Expanded Abstracts
- ASEG Extended Abstracts
- Encyclopedic Dictionary of Applied Geophysics
Earth scientists, engineers and applied mathematicians from a wide range of disciplines will find this resource of high utility.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window 1900 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.

Journals

Remember not all relevant material is accessible online! If you are looking for journal articles and the full-text is not available, you can request a scan of an article.