LibGuides: Black Queer Studies Collection: Films

Films in the Collection

The Black Queer Studies Collection includes a number of independent films that had limited release, including many foreign films. Some films are on physical formats, such as DVDs and VHSs. You can request these films through the library catalog. We also have access to many films through streaming services (linked below).

You can browse the films in the Black Queer Studies Collection by:

Search the Library Catalog.
Using the quotation marks, enter:
"Black Queer Studies Collection"
Look to the left margin, and click on "Resource Type". Then select "Videos".
You can also limit your search by location to "Fine Arts Library". This will include VHS tapes in with the DVDs, along with any books in the collection that are housed at the FAL.

Streaming Video

Discover more film beyond the BQSC through UT Libraries resources through our streaming services. Like other commercial streaming services (Netflix), the content changes frequently. Browse by subject to discover documentaries, movies, tv series, and art films made by and about black queer folks.

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
NOTE: UT Austin does not have access to all the films in the Kanopy catalog.
This streaming service has a catalog of over 30,000 titles covering various educational topics and feature films for some 800 producers including Criterion, Documentary Educational Resources, New Day Films, Media Education, California Newsreel, PBS and others.
Titles streamed by Kanopy are available either directly from the library catalog or from the UT Kanopy interface linked above. Some titles on the UT Kanopy interface are not immediately available to UT community for streaming. Those titles for which we do not hold streaming rights could be requested by filling in a request form. This form would appear on your screen and forwarded to a staff member for consideration. Given our limited funds, we emphasize study and research needs when making purchase decisions.

Films from the Collection

Living with pride [videorecording] : Ruth Ellis @ 100 / Our Film Works presents ; written, directed, and produced by Yvonne Welbon.

Karmen Geï [videorecording] scénario, Joseph Gaï Ramaka ; producteur, Richard Sadler ; réalisation, Joseph Gaï Ramaka.

Rafiki = Friend / A Big World Cinema/AfroBubbleGum production; a Wanuri Kahiu film; director, Wanuri Kahiu ; producer, Steven Markovitz ; writers Jenna Bass, Wanuri Kahiu.