Business Databases A - Z List - Market Research - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

University of Texas Libraries Databases A - Z List

Use the following link to view a list of the more than 900+ databases the University of Texas Libraries currently has under subscription.

https://guides.lib.utexas.edu/az.php

Use the search box to locate a specific database.

Wharton Research Data Services: A - Z List

List of all of the Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) subscriptions available at the University of Texas at Austin

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) - Link

Business Databases A - Z List

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. In-depth coverage of business issues, management techniques, competitive information, and a variety of other topics.
AuditAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Requires an account for use (see Additional Info). Unlimited users.
Provides detailed audit information on over 1,200 accounting firms and 15,000 publicly registered companies. Know auditing details and fees paid for specific services. Create reports by auditor, fees, location, and industry.
The AuditAnalytics SEC Comment Letter Feed tracks more than 59,000 letters corresponding to more than 6,600 companies dating back to August 2004.
In order to use this service, you must request an account. University of Texas at Austin faculty, Ph.D. students, and Master’s students may request an account by choosing the "register for a WRDS account" link via the web page linked above. Accounts will be activated within 48 business hours.
Access to this resource is funded by the McCombs School of Business at the University of Texas at Austin.
Bank Regulatory This link opens in a new window
Most recent. Unlimited users. See additional info re: registration
Contains five databases for regulated depository financial institutions. These databases provide accounting data for bank holding companies, commercial banks, savings banks, and savings and loans institutions. The source of the data comes from the required regulatory forms filed for supervising purposes.
In order to use this service, you must request an account. University of Texas at Austin faculty, Ph.D. students, and Master’s students may request an account by choosing the "register for a WRDS account" link via the web page linked above. Accounts will be activated within 48 business hours.
BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology.
Covers:
- Advanced Materials
- Biotechnology
- Energy And Resources
- Fuel Cell And Battery Technologies
- Healthcare
- Information Technology
- Instrumentation And Sensors Manufacturing
- Membrane And Separation Technology
- Nanotechnology
- Pharmaceuticals
- Plastics
- Semiconductor Manufacturing
Blockholders This link opens in a new window
Requires an account for use (see More). Unlimited users.
This dataset contains standardized data for blockholders of 1,913 companies. The data was cleaned from biases and mistakes usually observed in the standard source for this particular type of data. Blockholders' data is reported by firm for the period 1996-2001.
In order to use this service, you must request an account. University of Texas at Austin faculty, Ph.D. students, and Master’s students may request an account by choosing the "register for a WRDS account" link via the web page linked above. Accounts will be activated within 48 business hours.
Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases This link opens in a new window
2018 - present. Unlimited.
This database presents real-world cases of challenges facing the business of fashion, including sustainability, technology, ethics, and leadership.
Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
1995 - present (index coverage back to 1982). Unlimited users.
Contains the full text of articles from more than 510 key publications dating back to 1995, and provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, conferences and more. Additional content includes quality indexing and abstracts for more than 900 publications dating back to 1982, as well as over 600,000 corporate names with cross references to specific industries and countries.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
1990 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. A scholarly business database providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included.

Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals. Contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database.

Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
CBOE Indexes This link opens in a new window
Requires an account for use (see More). Unlimited users.
The CBOE (Chicago Board Options Exchange) Volatility Index® (VIX®) is a key measure of market expectations of near-term volatility conveyed by S&P 500 stock index option prices.
The New VIX still measures the market's expectation of 30-day volatility, but in a way that conforms to the latest thinking and research among industry practitioners. The New VIX is based on S&P 500 index option prices and incorporates information from the volatility "skew" by using a wider range of strike prices rather than just at-the-money series.
In order to use this service, you must request an account. University of Texas at Austin faculty, Ph.D. students, and Master’s students may request an account by choosing the "register for a WRDS account" link via the web page linked above. Accounts will be activated within 48 business hours.
Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP) This link opens in a new window
Requires an account for use (see More). Unlimited users.
The Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP) maintains the most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ stock markets. Additional CRSP files provide stock indices, beta- and cap-based portfolios, treasury bond and risk-free rates, mutual funds, and real estate data.
In order to use this service, you must request an account. University of Texas at Austin faculty, Ph.D. students, and Master’s students may request an account by choosing the "register for a WRDS account" link via the web page linked above. Accounts will be activated within 48 business hours.
Access to this resource is funded by the McCombs School of Business at the University of Texas at Austin.
Compustat (Standard & Poor's) This link opens in a new window
Requires an account for use (see More). Unlimited users.
In order to use this service, you must request an account. University of Texas at Austin faculty, Ph.D. students, and Master’s students may request an account by choosing the "register for a WRDS account" link via the web page linked above. Accounts will be activated within 48 business hours.
Access to this resource is funded by the McCombs School of Business at the University of Texas at Austin.
Data Axle This link opens in a new window
1996 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Contains basic directory information for more than 210 million U.S. residents and 14 million businesses in all zip code areas of the United States. Information includes name of business, address, telephone number, headquarters, branch and subsidiaries identification, SIC codes, yellow pages headings, ticker symbol, credit rating, number of employees, and estimated sales volume. Also includes some federal, state, and municipal offices.
Formerly known as ReferenceUSA.
Direct Marketing Educational Foundation (DMEF) This link opens in a new window
Requires an account for use (see More). Unlimited users.
Four individual data sets, each containing customer buying history for about 100,000 customers of nationally known catalog and non-profit database marketing businesses are available through DMEF to approved academic researchers for use within academic situations.
Corporate names are anonymous and customer names and addresses have been removed, but the business type is indicated. ZIP codes have been retained (if possible) to provide a potential link to Census ZIP level demographics.
In order to use this service, you must request an account. University of Texas at Austin faculty, Ph.D. students, and Master’s students may request an account by choosing the "register for a WRDS account" link via the web page linked above. Accounts will be activated within 48 business hours.

EconLit This link opens in a new window
1969 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Includes subject indexing and abstracts to over 620 journals in economics. Also has books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. Provides comprehensive information on accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Provides online access to all the journals published by Emerald Publishing (formerly MCB). Includes journals in management and library and information services journals, as well as engineering, applied science and technology journals.

Alerts are available if you register with Emerald by clicking "Register for a profile" at the top of the page.
EStatement Studies This link opens in a new window
2003 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated annually. The only source of composite performance metrics derived directly from the financial statements of financial institutions' borrowers and prospects. These financial statements come directly to RMA from member institutions, which get their data straight from their customers.
eStatement Studies includes two publications:
Financial Ratios Benchmarks -- Comprehensive, detailed data on over 700 industries derived directly from financial statements.
Industry Default Probabilities and Cash Flow Measures includes:
- Probability of default estimates on a percentage scale, mapped to a .pd bond rating scale.
- Cash flow measures on a common-size percentage scale.
- Change in position, normalized, year over year, for eight financial statement line items.
- Data arrayed by asset and sales size.
- Trend data available for the past four years.
Eventus This link opens in a new window
Requires an account for use (see More). Unlimited users.
Performs event studies using data read directly from CRSP stock databases or pre-extracted from any source. The Eventus system includes utility programs to convert calendar dates to CRSP trading day numbers, convert CUSIP identifiers to CRSP permanent identification numbers, and extract event study cumulative or compounded abnormal returns for cross-sectional analysis.
In order to use this service, you must request an account. University of Texas at Austin faculty, Ph.D. students, and Master’s students may request an account by choosing the "register for a WRDS account" link via the web page linked above. Accounts will be activated within 48 business hours.
Access to this resource is funded by the McCombs School of Business at the University of Texas at Austin.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. 9 users.
Updated daily. A global information resource, providing full-text access to top national and international newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal), newswires, business journals, market research reports, analysts reports and web sites. Contains over 8000 publications with content from 118 countries in 22 languages.
This database was formerly called Dow Jones Interactive.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.
Fama-French Portfolios and Factors This link opens in a new window
Requires an account for use (see More). Unlimited users.
The Fama-French Portfolios are constructed from the intersections of two portfolios formed on size, as measured by market equity (ME), and three portfolios using the ratio of book equity to market equity (BE/ME) as a proxy for value.
In order to use this service, you must request an account. University of Texas at Austin faculty, Ph.D. students, and Master’s students may request an account by choosing the "register for a WRDS account" link via the web page linked above. Accounts will be activated within 48 business hours.
Federal Reserve Bank Reports This link opens in a new window
Requires an account for use (see More). Unlimited users.
Foreign Exchange Rates (Federal Reserve Board’s H.10 Report). The WRDS FX database is based upon the Federal Reserve Board’s H.10 release and contains Foreign Exchange rates for over 30 world currencies and trade-weighted indices. WRDS carries all of these FX rates in currency units per U.S. dollar (e.g. yen/$ and a few are also available in “inverted form” (e.g. $/pound).
In order to use this service, you must request an account. University of Texas at Austin faculty, Ph.D. students, and Master’s students may request an account by choosing the "register for a WRDS account" link via the web page linked above. Accounts will be activated within 48 business hours.
Foundations and Trends in Business and Economics This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
This package includes the following journals:
- Foundations and Trends® in Accounting
- Foundations and Trends® in Econometrics
- Foundations and Trends® in Entrepreneurship
- Foundations and Trends® in Finance
- Foundations and Trends® in Marketing
- Foundations and Trends® in Microeconomics
- Foundations and Trends® in Technology, Information and Operations Management
- International Review of Environmental and Resource Economics
Access to this resource is funded by the McCombs School of Business at the University of Texas at Austin.

I/B/E/S from Thomson Reuters This link opens in a new window
Requires an account for use (see More). Unlimited users.
I/B/E/S International Inc. created their Academic Research Program over 30 years ago to provide both summary and individual analyst forecasts of company earnings, cash flows, and other important financial items, as well as buy-sell-hold recommendations. In 2000, I/B/E/S was integrated with Thomson Reuters / First Call.
In order to use this service, you must request an account. University of Texas at Austin faculty, Ph.D. students, and Master’s students may request an account by choosing the "register for a WRDS account" link via the web page linked above. Accounts will be activated within 48 business hours.
Access to this resource is funded by the McCombs School of Business at the University of Texas at Austin.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Contains 700+ industry research reports and offers the very latest content on every U.S. industry. Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more.
IBISWorld’s industry risk rating reports are intended to be used alongside financial statement analysis to provide a full forward-looking picture for strategic planners, bankers and aspiring industry entrants. These US industry risk rating determine how much risk an industry will face over the next 18 months by assessing the operating conditions for companies in the industry.
Note: IBISWorld promotes reports on the Web that they either plan to or are willing to write. If someone purchases one of these reports, then IBISWorld will produce the report and include it in our package.
IMF eLibrary This link opens in a new window
1945 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated several times a year. Provides statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. Provides users with time series data of major economic aggregates used in economic analysis. The IFS reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation, i.e., data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts. Contains data from 1945 until the latest current month data has been released for (there is usually about a 2 month lag time).
INFORMS PubsOnLine This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Provides online access to the journals published by INFORMS (Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences).

Alerts services are available for those users that register.
International Debt Statistics This link opens in a new window
1970 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated annually. Provides a comprehensive view of prospects from the global economy along with the implications for developing countries' external finance. Presents detailed data for 128 countries that report public and publicly guaranteed debt under the World Bank Debtor Reporting System. You can access the data through the dataBank, as an ebook, or in Excel or CSV formats.
World Bank Terms of Use
Investext This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Provides as full-text PDFs expert reports by investment bank and brokerage house equity analysts along with independent consulting and company research firms, covering publicly-traded companies and their industries worldwide. Also contains GlobalData SWOT analysis reports. This resource replaces Thomson ONE.
Levy Economics Institute of Bard College This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. The Levy Institute's research and activities serves the wider policy-making community in the United States and the rest of the world by enabling scholars and leaders in business, labor, and government to work together on problems of common interest. To stimulate discussion of economic issues, it disseminates its findings through publications, conferences, workshops, seminars, congressional testimony, and other activities to an international audience of public officials, private sector executives, academics, and the general public.

MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides business news, opinion, and latest published reports help users to understand key trends and events, while qualitative and quantitative data and analysis support business research programs.
Access to this resource is partially funded by the McCombs School of Business at the University of Texas at Austin.
MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies. Unlimited.
Detailed market research reports from leading sources — Kalorama Information, Icon Group International, Packaged Facts and SBI. With reports ranging from 20 to 400 pages in length and containing charts, tables, graphs, expert analysis, and key facts about the topic area, coverage includes business-related subject areas of consumer products, demographics, food and beverage, healthcare, pharmaceuticals, and many more.
Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
An online database providing you with access to a vast, indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents. Containing more than 180,000 documents covering over 100 countries and industries, Mergent Archives uses a reliable and easy to navigate system designed to meet your historical research needs.
Mergent BondViewer This link opens in a new window
Most current file. 25 users.
Updated regularly. Provides access to information on U. S. taxable and municipal fixed income and evaluation data.
To use this resource, click on the "Enter BondViewer" button on the top right of the landing page.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.
Our subscription includes the following data module products:
Corporate Bonds
Ratings
Historical Pricing
Offering Documents
Portfolio Tracking
Municipal Bonds
Ratings
Historical Pricing
Portfolio Tracking
Retail Notes
Ratings
Historical Pricing
Offering Documents
Portfolio Tracking
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
1990 - present. 25 users.
Updated weekly. Provides immediate access to data on more than 10,000 NYSE, AMEX, Nasdaq and other select regional exchange companies. Coverage includes: history, business description, properties, subsidiaries, officers, directors, long-term debt, Moody's rating, capital stock, income statement, balance sheet, statements of cash flow, auditors, exchange and ticker symbol, number of employees, number of shareholders, address, telephone number, annual stock price ranges, trustee, registrar, transfer agent, stock splits, annual meeting date, Moody's news reports, and direct, real-time access to the EDGAR, the SEC website which includes are annual, quarterly, and special corporation records. The resource was formerly called FIS Online.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Report embargo; 70 days from the current date. Includes market research reports for Europe, the UK, and the US. Reports cover a variety of sectors including consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink. Reports discuss market drivers, market size & trends, market segmentation, supply structure, advertising and promotion, retail distribution, consumer characteristics, and market forecasts.
In order to use Mintel, you must first agree to the terms of Mintel Academic Access. After you agree, you then need to sign in with your Mintel Reports Personal Profile before you can use the database. New users can create a profile using an online form that provides Mintel with your name, email address and a password of your own choosing; however, the email address must include the ""utexas.edu"" domain [e.g. @mccombs.utexas.edu, @mail.utexas.edu, @austin.utexas.edu]. Addresses from other domains [e.g., @yahoo.com, @gmail.com, @utexas.net] will not be accepted.
Morningstar Investing Center This link opens in a new window
1995 - present. 5 users.
Updated daily. Provides complete reports for approximately 2,000 funds and 1,000 stocks. Quicktake Reports, which include portfolio, risk, performance, and management information, are available for approximately 13,000 funds and 8,000 stocks. Snapshot information is available for thousands of other funds and stocks. Overall, information for over 100,000 investment offerings is available.
Morningstar, Inc. issues reports twice a month on a five-month schedule. Each fund is rated once every five months. All pricing is current information, and ratings and risk information are updated daily.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the End Session option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.
Mutual Fund Links This link opens in a new window
Requires an account for use (see More section). Unlimited users.
The MFLINKS tables provide a means to join CRSP Mutual Fund (MFDB) data that covers mutual fund performance, expenses, and related information to equity holdings data in the Thomson Reuters Mutual Fund Ownership data (formerly known as the CDA S12 data). Using MFLINKS allows a researcher to gather detail on holdings for either particular funds or fund families and groups of funds at specific points in time. MFLINKS has been developed with Professor Russ Wermers (University of Maryland's Robert H. Smith School of Business) as a contributor and ongoing consultant to the project.
In order to use this service, you must request an account. University of Texas at Austin faculty, Ph.D. students, and Master’s students may request an account by choosing the "register for a WRDS account" link via the web page linked above. Accounts will be activated within 48 business hours.
Access to this resource is funded by the McCombs School of Business at the University of Texas at Austin.
NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new window
1994 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated annually. Provides full text of NBER Working Papers. Papers are available in Acrobat portable document format (pdf). Approximately 500 papers are published annually. Founded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization based in Cambridge, Massachusetts.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
1998 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. The online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Comprises 17 Studies by Themes for monographs and reports; all OECD books and papers published since 1998; and the OECD statistical datasets online, which cover over 80 countries with data going back to the 1960s.
Note: Datasets from the International Energy Agency (IEA) are not included in our subscription.
OpinionArchives This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
OpinionArchives includes the searchable full text of:
- The American Spectator (1967-current)
- Commonweal (1924-current)
- Harper's (1850-current)
- LaFollettes (1919-1929)
- The Nation (1865-current)
- The New Leader (1924-current)
- The New Republic (1914-current)
- The New Yorker (1925-current)
- The Progressive (1909-current)
- The Weekly Standard (1995-current)
Option Metrics This link opens in a new window
Requires an account for use (instructions in More section). Unlimited users.
In order to use this service, you must request an account. University of Texas at Austin faculty, Ph.D. students, and Master’s students may request an account by choosing the ""register for a WRDS account"" link via the web page linked above. Accounts will be activated within 48 business hours.
Ivy DB OptionMetrics is a comprehensive source of historical price and implied volatility data for the US equity and index options markets. It contains historical prices of options and their associated underlying instruments, correctly calculated implied volatilities, and option sensitivities.
Access to this resource is funded by the McCombs School of Business at the University of Texas at Austin.
OTC Markets This link opens in a new window
Requires an account for use (see More). Unlimited users.
FINRA is the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority, a non-governmental regulator of the entire securities industry. It was formed in the summer of 2007 from the NYSE and the NASD.
In order to use this service, you must request an account. University of Texas at Austin faculty, Ph.D. students, and Master’s students may request an account by choosing the "register for a WRDS account" link via the web page linked above. Accounts will be activated within 48 business hours.
Penn World Tables This link opens in a new window
Requires an account for use (see More). Unlimited users.
Provides national income accounts-type of variables converted to international prices. The homogenization of national accounts to a common numeraire allows valid comparisons of income among countries. Data comes from Alan Heston, Robert Summers and Bettina Aten, Penn World Table Version 6.1, Center for International Comparisons at the University of Pennsylvania, October 2002 (CICUP).
In order to use this service, you must request an account. University of Texas at Austin faculty, Ph.D. students, and Master’s students may request an account by choosing the "register for a WRDS account" link via the web page linked above. Accounts will be activated within 48 business hours.
Philadelphia Stock Exchange (PHLX) This link opens in a new window
Requires an account for use (see More). Unlimited users.
The PHLX’s Semiconductor Sector (SOX) Index Option has become one of the most actively traded sector index options offered by any exchange, and it serves as a widely quoted benchmark of the high-tech industry. Additionally, the Oil Service Sector (OSX) is the industry’s most successful new sector index option. Furthermore, the PHLX’s Gold/Silver Sector (XAU), KBW Bank Sector (BKX) and Utility Sector (UTY) are established in a highly competitive environment of other indices as leading industry indicators.
In order to use this service, you must request an account. University of Texas at Austin faculty, Ph.D. students, and Master’s students may request an account by choosing the "register for a WRDS account" link via the web page linked above. Accounts will be activated within 48 business hours.
Private Equity Info This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. A powerful database of private equity firms, hedge funds, mezzanine investors, small business investment companies, valuation firms, M&A advisory firms, institutional real estate investors and senior lenders.

Regional Business News (Business Wire) This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Full text newswire database that incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
RIA Checkpoint This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. A comprehensive federal, state, and international tax database which includes primary source literature, editorial materials, news alerts, a tax thesaurus, several WG&L tax treatises and journals, and some archives dating back to 1860.
Please note, RIA Checkpoint does not work in Safari. It works in Firefox, Chrome, and Internet Explorer.
Access to this resource is partially funded by the McCombs School of Business at the University of Texas at Austin.
Sage Business Cases This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies. Unlimited.
SAGE Business Cases is a robust digital collection of business cases tailored to library needs – providing faculty, students and researchers with unlimited access to more than 4,200 authoritative cases from over 100 countries. SAGE curates interdisciplinary cases on in-demand subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more.
Faculty members can contact their library liaison for access to the Teaching Notes
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Contains content from over 720 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, the entire “Little Green Book,” and ""Little Blue Book” series, two Major Works collating a selection of journal articles, and specially commissioned videos. Researchers can explore methods and concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since Sage Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
For Tips and Tutorials, please see the Sage Research Methods Tutorials page and the Sage Research Methods LibGuide.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides access to the full text of journals published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries and other publishers whose online journals are hosted by ScienceDirect.

Books: Selected titles from Elsevier and its subsidiaries are included. These books are DRM-free with unlimited users and PDF chapter downloads/printing.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. 5 users.
Updated regularly. An Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. Professional mapping applications can take over 20 hours of training to use, but SimplyMap is designed so that most users need less than 10 minutes of training in order to use the product.
Please either create a free account or use the Guest Login to enter the site.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.
Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
A comprehensive resource for small business owners and those interested in starting a business, offering full-text periodicals and reports, sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, videos and reference books. It supports small business owners in all relevant areas from planning, financing and managing a business to exit strategies. Users also have the ability to search within specific ‘Business Topics’ and ‘Business Types’ relevant to their needs.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
1949 (full text from 1985) - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Provides citations, many with abstracts, of periodical and monographic literature in the areas of sport, recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, the psychology, history and sociology of sport, training, and conditioning. Includes full text coverage for more than 415 indexed journals. Coverage is international.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.
Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.
While historical and time series data are not a focus of Statista, the metadata about each table provides all the necessary information to go to the table’s source, where historical information may be available.
Sustainability Reference Center This link opens in a new window
1919 - present. Unlimited users.
Sustainability Reference Center is a full-text database covering all aspects of sustainability, including environmental stewardship, corporate social responsibility and federal, state and local regulations. It includes full text journals, magazines, books and trade publications, plus expert analyses, benchmarks and best practices for sustainability initiative management.

Technavio This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies.Unlimited.
UT Austin students, faculty and staff only. Provides online technology research and advisory content with global coverage. It focuses on emerging technology trends that can shape the market

Report downloads are available, but you must select and request a specific report and supply your University of Texas at Austin email address. Reports will be sent via email within one business day.
Thomson Reuters Mutual Fund Holdings This link opens in a new window
Requires an account for use (see More). Unlimited users.
Thomson-Reuters Mutual Fund Holdings database provides security holding information for all registered mutual funds that report their holdings with the SEC, plus 3,000 global funds. Reported securities include all NYSE/AMEX/NASDAQ, Toronto, and Montreal common stocks. This database is formerly known as CDA/Spectrum, and is often referred to as Spectrum 1 2 for ownership information by registered Investment Companies or Domestic Mutual Funds.
In order to use this service, you must request an account. University of Texas at Austin faculty, Ph.D. students, and Master’s students may request an account by choosing the "register for a WRDS account" link via the web page linked above. Accounts will be activated within 48 business hours.
Access to this resource is funded by the McCombs School of Business at the University of Texas at Austin.
UN Commodity Trade Statistics Database This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary.
Updated regularly. Commodities are classified according to SITC (Rev.1 from 1962, Rev.2 from 1976 and Rev.3 from 1988) and the Harmonized System (HS) (from 1988 with revisions in 1996 and 2002). Currently most data are reported according to HS, 2002 version, but the data are available in multiple classifications.
UN Comtrade This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Allows users to find information on any commodity from any country. Includes larger overviews of imports and exports by country and main categories of commodities, such as food or fuels or machinery.
Also includes annual data from more than 130 countries. The data is searchable by commodity and partner country. All values are converted to US dollars and metric units. Coverage varies by country, but dates as far back as 1962 and go up to the most recent year.
Commodities are classified according to SITC (Rev.1 from 1962, Rev.2 from 1976 and Rev.3 from 1988) and the Harmonized System (HS) (from 1988 with revisions in 1996 and 2002). Currently most data are reported according to HS, 2002 version, but the data are available in multiple classifications.
Uniworld Online This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Consists of two directories, American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries and Foreign Firms Operating in the United States.
Over 220,000 listings in 200 countries. Find contact information for headquarters, branches, subsidiaries, and affiliates of the multinational firms. Each listing, in addition to contact information, contains a link to the company website and details whether the company has their own job posting page. Search by country, state, region, keyword, industry sectors [NAICS codes], zip codes, postal codes, company employees and company revenue. Download to Excel available.
Value Line Research Center This link opens in a new window
1997 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Provides online access to Value Line's leading publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks.
Frequently Asked Questions: Using Value Line's Web Site is available from the publisher.

WARC: World Advertising Research Center (Advertising and Marketing Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users. On Campus Use Only
WARC is a database providing access to advertising and marketing information from various sources. The searchable sources include organizations of various countries, monographs, conference papers, abstracts (including ‘Market research abstracts’) and the full-text of various journals, including the International journal of Market Research, the Journal of Advertising Research, the International Journal of Advertising, Admap, the Journal of Advertising History and Market Leader.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
1900 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) This link opens in a new window
Requires an account for use (see More). Unlimited users.
In order to use this service, you must request an account. University of Texas at Austin faculty, Ph.D. students, and Master’s students may request an account by choosing the "register for a WRDS account" link via the web page linked above. Accounts will be activated within 48 business hours.
Access to this resource is funded by the McCombs School of Business at the University of Texas at Austin.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Provides full text access to journals and books published by John Wiley & Sons.

Books: Selected titles are available. May be read online, printed, and saved as PDFs. Unlimited users may access each book.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Winmo This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited.
Updated periodically. Winmo, formerly Redbooks, provides competitive intelligence and prospecting data on advertising agencies and advertisers.Includes detailed profiles of over 10,000 U.S. and international advertising agencies. Profiles include agency accounts, specializations, billings by media, and agency family trees. Also includes information on over 15,000 U.S. and international advertisers, which are companies that spend a significant portion of their annual budget on advertising. Includes specific advertising data such as approximate annual advertising spending by media and agencies retained by the advertiser. Also includes a job search site for openings in the advertising industry.
World Bank Publications This link opens in a new window
1946 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. An online collection of more than 130,000 World Bank documents and publications. Browsing or searching provides access to the documents in both text and downloadable PDF format.
The World Bank is one of the United Nations' specialized agencies, and is made up of 187 member countries. All World Bank publications and research working papers are now assigned with DOIs (Digital Object Identifiers).
World Development Indicators (WDI) This link opens in a new window
1960 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated quarterly. An extensive collection of data about global development. Provides more than 550 times series covering demographic, social, economic, financial, natural resources and environmental topics for more than 200 countries and 18 country groups. You can access the data through the dataBank, as an ebook, or in Excel or CSV formats.
World Bank Terms of Use

Business Librarian

Loretta Wallace, MLS

she/her

Email Me

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Business, Government and Society, Economics, Finance, International Business, IROM (Information, Risk, and Operations Management), Management, Marketing, Technology Commercialization