LibGuides: Geography Research Guide: Articles & Journals

Databases & Indexes for Finding Journal Articles

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
1960 - present. Unlimited users.

Updated monthly. Collection offers full-text scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It also includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources as well as the AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and EIS (Environmental Impact Statements) databases.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
BioOne Complete aggregates 180 high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. More than three-quarters of the subscribed titles are ranked in Thomson Reuters' Journal Citation Reports, and 43% are available online exclusively in BioOne Complete.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection This link opens in a new window
1950 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Collection includes a wide range of materials, such as scholarly journals, trade journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, dissertations, and government publications. In addition to thousands of full-text sources, this collection contains all the records found in major environmental sciences indexes, including Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA), and Oceanic Abstracts. Subjects covered include aquaculture, atmospheric pollution, climatology, geology, marine biology, meteorology, oceanography, water quality, weather, and more.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
1785 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated bi-monthly. Covers the geology of North America from 1785 to the present, and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Contains references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities are also covered.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 538,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 5,800 records.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
1895 - present. Unlimited.
In addition to full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Includes indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
1900 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.

National Geographic Magazine Archives

National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-2020 This link opens in a new window
1888 - 2020. Unlimited users.
Provides access to all issues of the National Geographic magazine from the first issue in 1888 to December 1994. Browse by issue or search for articles and images.
As the official journal of the nonprofit National Geographic Society, National Geographic magazine built its reputation delivering the highest-quality photojournalism and cartography in the world. As generations of researchers and fans will attest, the iconic monthly publication provides unparalleled, in-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology and more.

Geography Journals

Browse our collection of geography journals. Log into make a bookshelf of your favorite titles and access via the Browzine app.

Earth & Environmental Studies Journals

Browse our collection of earth & environmental sciences journals. Log into make a bookshelf of your favorite titles and access via the Browzine app.