Find Sources - UGS 303: Sleep, Are We Getting Enough? - Hensley - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Search Strategy Document

Search Strategy - .doc
This link will download the search strategy document.

Keywords & Where to Search

Keywords
Choose a place to search

Keyword tool
Searching databases is different than searching Google. You have to distill what you're looking for into a few key terms or phrases, rather than whole sentences. Use this tool to help you brainstorm keywords on your topic.

Combine key terms using AND and OR:

AND narrows your search by looking for articles with all of the words (your two or three key concepts should be connected with AND, because you need all of them represented in useful articles).
OR broadens your search by looking for articles with any of the words (synonyms and related terms should be separated by OR - they get at the same key concepts, so any of them are useful).

Try different combinations of your keywords to get better results as you search.

Sample keywords

What impact does sleep have on academic achievement for undergraduate students?

Sleep	Academic Achievement	Student group or population
Sleep Quality	GPA	Undergraduate students
Sleep Duration	Grades	adolescents
Insomnia		college students

For this assignment, you might need several types of sources:

Source Type	Start Here
Scholarly Articles present original research written by experts usually peer reviewed	Search library databases Multidisciplinary - contain articles from many disciplines Subject-Specific - contain articles more focused on one discipline (example: Psychology) See suggested databases below.
Encyclopedia Articles/Background Information overviews/accepted knowledge on a topic usually short and easily readable Good place to learn vocabulary Don't present original research like a scholarly article.	Search Gale eBooks (below) Can also use Wikipedia or news/magazine articles for background information
Journalism/News	Search Google News or the UT Libraries NexisUni database. Make sure to evaluate unfamiliar publications.

Databases for this project

Encyclopedias

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Fully searchable across all files. A list of sources included in our subscription is available.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

Databases for Scholarly Articles

Articles & More Advanced Search
This is the advanced version of the library Articles & More search.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database - a good starting place for most projects
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health) Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subject-specific database for nursing.
Updated monthly. The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes indexing for more than 5,100 journals with coverage as far back as 1937 and full text coverage for more than 700 journals. In addition to journals, includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, and educational software.
PsycINFO (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Subject-specific database for psychology.
Updated monthly. Indexes and abstracts over 1,700 sources, including international material selected from periodicals written in over 35 languages. Contains current chapter and book coverage with worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present, and adds over 60,000 references annually through monthly updates. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines.
Has over 1.8 million individual records, some dating back to 1887, and includes abstracts from Psychological Abstracts back to 1927, Psychological Bulletin from 1921-1926, and all APA journals and the American Journal of Psychology back to their first issues. Corresponds in part to the print index Psychological Abstracts.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Subject-specific database for medicine.
Updated monthly. Provides bibliographic indexing from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Contains bibliographic citations (e.g., authors, title, and journal reference) and author abstracts from 4,500 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 foreign countries.
Journal articles are indexed for MEDLINE using NLM's controlled vocabulary, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Citations are created by the National Library of Medicine, International MEDLARS partners, and cooperating professional organizations.
MEDLINE has worldwide coverage, but 88% of the citations in current MEDLINE are to English-language sources and 76% have English abstracts.
NLM provides free access to MEDLINE through PubMed.

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required

What are databases?

This video, from RMIT University, explains what a database is...

Where's the Article?

If you don’t see a .pdf of the article you want, click FIND IT AT UT to find it in another database or in print in the Libraries.

If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click GET A SCAN to have the article emailed to you. This option will take a few days.