Find News - UGS 303: Sleep, Are We Getting Enough? - Hensley - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Recommended News Sources

New York Times Access
As a UT student, you have free unlimited access to the New York Times (including Cooking, Games, and The Athletic) at nyt.com. This access to the NY Times is provided by the UT Libraries. Your access to the NY Times is directly through the site and/or the app, which makes the reading experience easier and more enjoyable.

The New York Times provides invaluable coverage of national and world events, and is often considered the "paper of record." Reading a paper and being an informed citizen makes doing research in every subject easier. Take advantage of this access while you're here at UT!

When you're looking for news, you can search using one of the tools below or you can visit the homepage of a publication you read. If you hit a paywall and can't access an article on the free web, see the suggestions below for how you might find an article you already know the title of in our library collections (or ASK ON CHAT)! Remember to evaluate publications (see the evaluate sources tab).

Google News
Google news searches news across publications.

Pros: Easy to use; many different publications; once you click on a link, you should be able to see the whole story, including images.

Cons: You may run into a paywall when you find a likely link to a news story (but you may be able to find it in our collection using the title and publication, see below).

PressReader This link opens in a new window
This news source allows searching across many publications

Pros: You can flip through these newspapers and see the layout, ads, etc. as if you were looking at a hard copy; nice layout; easy to use

Cons: Only recent articles (last 90 days); does not include important news sources like the New York Times, etc.
Updated daily. Provides a full-color and full-page collection of newspapers from around the world,. Includes over 1000 titles from Europe, Asia, the Middle East, Latin America, and the United States. A 60-day archive is also available to browse by country, language, and newspaper title, and to search full text of articles, photograph captions, and headlines.
Once inside the newspaper, click on a headline to read the article or zoom in to read the article as it appears in print.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Searches across many papers and time periods (remember to limit to the last 10 years as your assignment requires)

Pros: Searches a lot of content

Cons: More difficult interface; does not include images
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Find News guide
This guide was made by the Communication Librarian and includes a few other sources for searching for news.

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required