LibGuides: TD 388: Research Methods and Resources: UT Theatre and Dance Collections

Special and Distinctive Collections at UT

The Harry Ransom Center is an internationally renowned humanities research center. The performing arts collections document a wide variety of performance genres, particularly from the United Kingdom and America, featuring holdings in dance, theatre, music, opera, and popular entertainments, such as the circus, vaudeville, pantomime, minstrel shows, puppetry, and magic.

Ransom Center Performing Arts Research Guides

The Briscoe Center for American History is one of the nation’s leading research centers for historical study. Collections include the E. William Doty papers and the Professional Touring Entertainment Industry Archive, a series of collections created in 1995 to document the history of touring entertainment companies and those venues and arenas were acts performed. The holdings embrace virtually the entire twentieth century, with subjects that range from vaudeville shows and concerts to ice shows and Harlem Globetrotters basketball.

In addition to those linked below, the UT Libraries special collections include the Austin Theatre Alliance Archive and Oscar G. Brockett Archive, accessible by appointment. For further information and access contact Molly Roy.

Sharir and Sharir/Bustamante Dance Collection
Includes videos of and documents relating to performances, rehearsals, workshops, and other events spanning four decades of Dr. Yacov Sharir’s career, beginning with his 1977 founding of the American Deaf Dance Company. Further materials document his tenure with the Sharir Dance Company, UT’s professional company-in-residence, which he founded in 1982. The company took the name Sharir+Bustamante Danceworks in 1998, acknowledging José Luis Bustamante as co-artistic director.
Igor Youskevitch Collection
Includes filmed performances, master classes, and panel discussions that were part of a gala event honoring Igor Youskevitch on the occasion of his retirement from teaching ballet in the UT Department of Theatre and Dance in 1982.