Independent media library focusing on zines and DIY culture. Membership is free and members are allowed to check out zines or hang out during library hours to browse through the collection, read, or work on their own zines.
Zines created by Texans, Southwesterners or other Southerners and/or concern Texas, the Southwest and the South; zines created by minorities across Texas, the Southwest or the South; zines created by TAMU students or former students; and Artzines concerned with printing and/or designed as print art objects.
Collection of zines written by women (cis- and transgender) with an emphasis on zines by women of color. Zines on feminism and femme identity by people of all genders. The zines are personal and political publications on activism, anarchism, body image, third wave feminism, gender, parenting, queer community, riot grrrl, sexual assault, trans experience, and other topics.
Collection of zines created by women, girls, and women-identified people begun by Sarah Dyer with over 1,000 zines. Dyer collected zines for her Action Girl Newsletter, a networking publication for women’s comics and zines. The collection has expanded to over 4,000 zines, with a majority dating from 1990-2005. Around 2,600 of these are recorded in this searchable database.
George A.Smathers Library, University of Florida - Gainesville
Rare Collection of zines of Cuban social and political issues (Ernesto Chavez Collection).
Minneapolis Community & Technical College - Minneapolis
Collection includes alternative press,inlcuding self-published zines from around the world to support the interests of a nontraditional community
Housed in the DeWitt Wallace Periodical Room at the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building with current periodicals and requested in Room 100. Search by title or these subjects: zines, fanzines, underground press and little magazines. The site lists some of the titles in the Collection
"Launched in November 2003 in an effort to preserve queer zines and make them available to other queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities."
Special Collections at the University of Iowa is making a concerted effort to collect zines in all formats in order to preserve these materials and make them accessible to wider popular and research audiences. Zines are windows that provide glimpses into fascinating and often-under documented social worlds, worlds that we believe deserve to have their voices rescued from obscurity.
Also worth checking out is Barnard College's state by state and international Guide of Zine Collections