LibGuides: Arts and Entertainment Technologies: Projection, Lighting and Interactivity (PLAI)

PLAI Resources

Automated Lighting by Richard Cadena
Call Number: PN 2091 E4 C33 2010
Concert Lighting by James Moody; Paul Dexter
Call Number: TK 4399 T6 M66 2010
Data-Driven Graphic Design by Andrew Richardson
Call Number: T 385 R4966 2016
Designer Drafting and Visualizing for the Entertainment World by Patricia Woodbridge; Hal Tine
Call Number: T 357 W56 2013
Digital Movement by Nicolás Salazar Sutil (Editor); Sita Popat (Editor)
Call Number: QP 303 C57 2013
The Principles and Processes of Interactive Design by Jamie Steane
Call Number: NK 1520 S74 2014

Library databases allow you to search for different types of resources (scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers) all at once. The resources on this page represent a starting point for your research. Many game and app development projects are interdisciplinary and will require you to look for resources in other subject areas. Use the guides list to see recommended resources in other subject areas.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
1990 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library This link opens in a new window
1908 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated frequently. The product has two parts:
- The ACM Full-Text collection. The full-text of ACM publications.
- The ACM Guide to Computing Literature. Described as, “the most comprehensive bibliographic database in existence today focused exclusively on the field of computing."
See here for summary information on full-text and indexed materials, with more detail here.
Art and Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
1929 - present (full text varies by title). Unlimited users.
The collection includes over 600 full-text journals, 200 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images. Provides the most up-to-date coverage of fine and decorative arts, commercial art, architecture, archaeology, design, and museum studies. An ideal tool for art historians, artists, designers, students, and general researchers.
Computer Source This link opens in a new window
1985 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides users with the latest information and current trends in high technology. Offers full text for nearly 300 publications, covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications. Leading general magazines are also provided including: eWeek, Fast Company, MacWorld, PC Magazine, PC World, Red Herring, Software Magazine, etc.
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
1973 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. All areas of design and craft are covered, including industrial design, vehicle design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, computer aided design, furniture design, ceramics, glass, jewellery, metalsmithing, silversmithing, goldsmithing, fashion design, textile design, embroidery, graphic design, typography, multimedia design, illustration, book design, photography, advertising, marketing, retail design, packaging, exhibition design, theatre design, design and craft history, design and craft theory, ergonomics, design for disability, design for the elderly, design and craft education and design management.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
1880s - 2000. Unlimited users.
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Various dates - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Provides full-text access to IEEE and IET (formerly IEE) journal articles and conference proceedings. Also includes IEEE technical standards and conference proceedings from VDE Verlag. Coverage is the research literature of electrical and computer engineering, electronics, computer science, aerospace engineering, biomedical engineering, and transportation. Contains over three million records, with some content back to 1872. Also contains indexing from partner groups.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Updated regularly. Contains full text for more than 100 journal titles and citations for more than 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. Includes all of the content available in the 14 volume print International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance, published by the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College.
Theatre in Context Collection This link opens in a new window
Updated quarterly (until completed). A comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. Includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to more than 30,000 plays (many never published previously), over 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, nearly 22,000 productions and 2,500 production companies. It also includes over 40,000 pages of reference sources in electronic format, including Annals of the New York Stage, and the American Theatre Companies series. Thousands of posters, playbills, and photographs are also included, as well as links to plays and related Web sites.
Science and Technology This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Contains over 800 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Contains streaming video of more than 250 of the world’s most important plays, together with more than 100 video documentaries. Also includes the full text of plays, their history of performance, production background, reference materials and ephemera. Users have the ability to bookmark specific scenes, monologues, and staging examples and then include those online links in papers and course reserves. The included plays are predominately 20th century masterpieces, as well as many Shakespeare productions.
Users may also make isolated clips from the videos and save them in a free account available for registration set up within the database.
Information on basic system requirements for both PC and Mac platforms is available on the site.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
1900 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.

This list includes some of the print and electronic journals you may want to explore:

Research Tips

Searching for Books

As AET students, your research will likely require books on a range of subjects. The library catalog searches across collections at all of the different library locations. The UT Libraries have print and electronic books for your use. You can search in the library catalog for both types of books.

Ways to search:

Subject – Searching by subject allows you to retrieve all of the items in the catalog that contain a certain subject heading or "tag"

Design

Video Art

Author – Search by author's name (last name, first name) to see all of the works we have published by a specific individual

Title – If you already know the name of a book, this is a quick way to check if the library has a copy.

Keyword – If you have a topic or research interest in mind, you can search for the main terms or keywords to see the scope of what is in our collection.

Interactive Design
Electronic Art
Lighting design
Performance Technology
Stage Design

Library Catalog Features

Find it in the Catalog –

Catalog Search

Pick It Up – Allows you to request items be sent to the library that is most convenient for you.

Get a Scan – Allows you to request an electronic scan of a book chapter or article.

Need more assistance on searching for books? Check out these guides:

Find Books
by UT Libraries TLS Last Updated Sep 15, 2021 953 views this year

Find eBooks
by UT Libraries TLS Last Updated Mar 17, 2021 2987 views this year

Are we missing a specific title you need? You can request items to use from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan.

Interlibrary Loan

Are you getting too many results?

Use the word AND (in all-caps) between your search terms.

lighting AND "natural ambience"
"aerial projection" AND drones

Search for a Specific Phrase

Put quotations around a group of words like "new look" to retrieve results with that exact wording.

Do you need more results?

Use the word OR (in all-caps) between your search terms.

19th century OR nineteenth century
realise OR realize

Use an * at the end of a word to search for all forms of that word.

educat* will return results for education, educator, educated, educating;etc.
environment* will also return results for environmentalism and environmentalist

An * can also be used to replace a character in a word.

wom*n will search for women and woman

Do you need more relevant results?

Use the word NOT (in all-caps) between your search terms.

UT NOT Tennessee
advertisement NOT magazine

Try grouping the above strategies in a single search:

(children OR adolescents) AND disability AND (19th century OR nineteenth century)

Find a Journal

Search for print and electronic journals. Enter the title of the journal into either search box to see if the UT Libraries has a subscription. If you don't find the journal in print, try entering the title in the e-journal search box.

Journals

Still not finding what you need? Request an article through Interlibrary Loan.

Interlibrary Loan