Applying Color Theory to Digital Media and Visualization
by
Curating the Digital
by
The Functional Art
by
Information Visualization
by
The New Digital Storytelling: Creating Narratives with New Media--Revised and Updated Edition, 2nd Edition
by
The Visual Story
by
Library databases allow you to search for different types of resources (scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers) all at once. The resources on this page represent a starting point for your research. Many game and app development projects are interdisciplinary and will require you to look for resources in other subject areas. Use the guides list to see recommended resources in other subject areas.
Unlimited users.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Unlimited users.
Updated frequently. The product has two parts:
Unlimited users.
The collection includes over 600 full-text journals, 200 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images. Provides the most up-to-date coverage of fine and decorative arts, commercial art, architecture, archaeology, design, and museum studies. An ideal tool for art historians, artists, designers, students, and general researchers.
Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides users with the latest information and current trends in high technology. Offers full text for nearly 300 publications, covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications. Leading general magazines are also provided including: eWeek, Fast Company, MacWorld, PC Magazine, PC World, Red Herring, Software Magazine, etc.
Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. All areas of design and craft are covered, including industrial design, vehicle design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, computer aided design, furniture design, ceramics, glass, jewellery, metalsmithing, silversmithing, goldsmithing, fashion design, textile design, embroidery, graphic design, typography, multimedia design, illustration, book design, photography, advertising, marketing, retail design, packaging, exhibition design, theatre design, design and craft history, design and craft theory, ergonomics, design for disability, design for the elderly, design and craft education and design management.
Unlimited users.
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.
Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Provides full-text access to IEEE and IET (formerly IEE) journal articles and conference proceedings. Also includes IEEE technical standards and conference proceedings from VDE Verlag. Coverage is the research literature of electrical and computer engineering, electronics, computer science, aerospace engineering, biomedical engineering, and transportation. Contains over three million records, with some content back to 1872. Also contains indexing from partner groups.
Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Contains over 800 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications.
Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.
This list includes some of the print and electronic journals you may want to explore:
As AET students, your research will likely require books on a range of subjects. The library catalog searches across collections at all of the different library locations. The UT Libraries have print and electronic books for your use. You can search in the library catalog for both types of books.
Ways to search:
Subject – Searching by subject allows you to retrieve all of the items in the catalog that contain a certain subject heading or "tag"
Video Games
Video games--Design
Computer games -- Design
Computer games -- Programming
Author – Search by author's name (last name, first name) to see all of the works we have published by a specific individual
Title – If you already know the name of a book, this is a quick way to check if the library has a copy.
Keyword – If you have a topic or research interest in mind, you can search for the main terms or keywords to see the scope of what is in our collection.
virtual reality
mobile application development
game design
Find it in the Catalog –
Pick It Up – Allows you to request items be sent to the library that is most convenient for you.
Get a Scan – Allows you to request an electronic scan of a book chapter or article.
Need more assistance on searching for books? Check out these guides:
Are we missing a specific title you need? You can request items to use from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan.
Use the word AND (in all-caps) between your search terms.
Search for a Specific Phrase
Put quotations around a group of words like "digital storytelling" to retrieve results with that exact wording.
Use the word OR (in all-caps) between your search terms.
Use an * at the end of a word to search for all forms of that word.
An * can also be used to replace a character in a word.
Use the word NOT (in all-caps) between your search terms.
Try grouping the above strategies in a single search:
Search for print and electronic journals. Enter the title of the journal into either search box to see if the UT Libraries has a subscription. If you don't find the journal in print, try entering the title in the e-journal search box.
Still not finding what you need? Request an article through Interlibrary Loan.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.