Research Buildings - UGS 302: The Land Before Us - Bsumek - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Background Information

Start with background information (like what you find in Wikipedia) to learn more about your topic.

Gale eBooks
Hundreds of background sources from every discipline.
Handbook of Texas Online
Research your building or the person whom it is named after.
SAH Archipedia
Encyclopedia that includes brief articles about some buildings on the UT campus.

Libraries Search Tool
Search across the majority of the libraries sources (both print and online)

Academic Search Complete
Journal, magazine and newspapers from all disciplines
JSTOR
Scholarly journals from all disciplines
Nexis Uni
Local, state, national and international newspapers, some back to the 1980s.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Architecture and design
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index
Architecture, interior and environmental design are included.
Sustainability Reference Center
Sustainability and green building

Resources suggested by the Architecture Library
Includes books, web sites and primary sources in the architecture archives.
Campus Master Plans (current)
Library sources about UT Buildings
List of items in the Libraries and archives on campus related to specific buildings. Includes older master plans.
Brick by golden brick::a history of campus buildings at the University of Texas at Austin
Book availalable from the Libraries

Daily Texan
Find current and historical issues of the Daily Texan.
Austin American Statesman (Historical), 1871-1980
Austin American-Statesman, 1997-2019
Once in the database, use the drop down in the top row to select (SO) journal name and type in "Austin-American Statesman." Then type keywords in the other boxes.
Austin American-Statesman, 2007-present
Once you are in the database, choose Search. Once on the search page, click on the blue arrow by "source" and type in Austin American-Statesman. Then type your keywords into the search box and you'll be just searching the Statesman.