Research Art on Campus - UGS 302: The Land Before Us - Bsumek - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Background Information

Start with background information (like what you find in Wikipedia) to learn more about your topic.

Gale eBooks
Hundreds of background sources on every topic.
Updated regularly. A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Fully searchable across all files.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

Libraries Search Tool
Search across the majority of the libraries sources (both print and online)

Academic Search Complete
Journal, magazine and newspaper articles from across disciplines
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
JSTOR
Scholarly articles from across disciplines
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Nexis Uni
Local, state, national and international newspapers, some back to the 1980s.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Art and Architecture Source
Art and art history
The collection includes over 600 full-text journals, 200 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images. Provides the most up-to-date coverage of fine and decorative arts, commercial art, architecture, archaeology, design, and museum studies. An ideal tool for art historians, artists, designers, students, and general researchers.
ARTbibliographies Modern
Modern art
Updated six times a year. Provides abstracts of the current literature of modern art, photography and design. Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry and illustration, as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing. The database corresponds to the print ARTbibliographies Modern.
To find information about an artist, try browse indexes then select the subject/artist index.
Oxford Art Online
Covers all time periods and styles of art and architecture and includes artist biographies.
Updated daily. Provides Web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) with annual additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links.
Covers the artistic traditions of the world's leading cultures, countries, cities, towns, and regions as well as important archaeological sites, monuments, and buildings. Includes over 45,000 signed articles on every aspect of the visual arts from prehistory through the present as well as over 40,000 web links to important art images in galleries and museums around the world. Both the fine arts (painting, sculpture, and architecture) and the decorative arts (ceramics, textiles, jewellery, interior design, furniture, glass, metalwork, and more) are included.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. If you see a username and password prompt, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.

Art on UT Campus

Landmarks Program
Information about many of the modern sculptures on campus.
Art Collections at UT

Local Newspapers

Daily Texan
Find current and historical issues of the Daily Texan.
Austin American Statesman (Historical), 1871-1980
Austin American-Statesman, 1997-2019
Once in the database, use the drop down in the top row to select (SO) journal name and type in "Austin-American Statesman." Then type keywords in the other boxes.
Austin American-Statesman, 2007-present
Once you are in the database, choose Search. Once on the search page, click on the blue arrow by "source" and type in Austin American-Statesman. Then type your keywords into the search box and you'll be just searching the Statesman.