Find Articles - RHE 368C: Writing Center Internship - Batt - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Develop a Search Strategy (search terms)

Before you start searching, brainstorm keywords to prepare to use library databases.

Sample topic: opportunities and challenges of having writing centers in libraries

What are the key terms? writing centers, libraries

What are narrower aspects (ex: what some of the opportunities or challenges might be)? collaboration, assessment, space, cross-training

Construct a search:

AND narrows the search - use it to connect different concepts
OR broadens the search - use it between synonyms and aspects you want to explore separately

Examples of good searches:

libraries and writing centers and collaboration or partnerships
libraries and writing centers or writing support and assessment or measurement or student learning outcomes

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Magazine, newspaper and scholarly articles from across disciplines.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.

Articles Search Box
Searches across many, but not all, of the Libraries resources for articles. Use the menu on the left to refine your search. The guide to help construct searches in this tool is https://guides.lib.utexas.edu/librarysearch

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use a Google search to search for scholarly sources. Access it through this guide or the Libraries website to be connected to UT Libraries subscriptions instead of hitting a paywall.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education research articles. Includes full text of the three Writing Center journals Dr. Batt recommends.
"The collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
EBSCO search tutorials
MLA International Bibliography
English, rhetoric, composition and related fields.
Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
For help searching the MLA International Bibliography, please see the MLA's video tutorials.

Other Databases by Discipline
Use the "Subject" drop-down box to find other discipline-specific databases.

If you don’t see a .pdf of the article you want, click Find it at UT to find it in another database or in print in the Libraries.

If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click Get a Scan to have the article emailed to you.