Skip to Main Content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

South Asian Cooperative Collection Development

Niche Collections

Local Specialization in Support of the National Collection

Berkeley

S.A. Diaspora newspapers

UC Berkeley aims to deepen its collections on the South Asia diaspora in North America, particularly in California, and its interaction with the home communities in British India. In particular, we plan to continue and expand out collecting on the Ghadar Movement and the people involved in it. We also plan to continue concentrating on local South Asian American newspapers published in California.  Other areas of specialization include contemporary South Asian Art, Mughal court chronicles, and Pakistani regional languages. Funds permitting, we also plan to collect more comprehensively on South Asian Islam, especially Sufism.


Chicago

Music/Ethnomusicology/LC-Delhi and LC-Islamabad supplied non-subject subdivision language monographs

The University of Chicago Library, in recognition of growing institutional priorities and strengths, aims to collect deeply and broadly in the field of South Asian music and ethnomusicology. The collection will include scholarly monographs, scores, serials, music publishers' catalogs, DVDs, sound recordings, music-related ephemera, digital assets, and archival material. Collecting will be assisted by our comprehensive SACAP monographic profiles, and our commitment to expand our SACAP periodical holdings. Publications in any language will be accepted. A special effort will be made to collect not only South Asian and US imprints, but also Canadian, Western European, Australian, Slavic, Latin American and Japanese imprints on the topic. While the emphasis of the collection is on South Asia proper, publications related to the South Asian diaspora will also be included. In addition to current imprints, we will be seeking out private collections, manuscripts and field recordings for accession and/or digitization. Gifts are welcome.


Columbia

Columbia University Libraries continues to collect South Asia related art catalogs for Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library. Columbia is also interested in materials related to several other niche collections including: human rights (especially materials related to Dr. B. R. Ambedkar and Dalit Studies); film and video studies (commercial, documentary, and television serials from LC circulars as well as suggestions relayed by Debashree Mukherjee and her students); and comics and graphic novels (supplementing Columbia’s already extensive North American graphic novels collection).

Last updated: 16 October 2016 


Cornell

Nepal and the Himalayas

Cornell's South Asia collection seeks out publications from and on Nepal and the Himalayan regions bearing on any discipline of the humanities and social sciences. Publications in any language may be included, with special emphasis on Nepali, Newari, and other languages of Nepal. Tibetan-language materials are largely excluded but Tibetan culture and history--twined with those of neighboring regions--are included. Regional language publications are not strictly confined to humanities and social science disciplines; a certain amount of agricultural, scientific, legal, and miscellaneous material in the vernaculars will be included. Anthropology, literature, linguistics, and religions of the Himalayas will be especially well represented in Cornell's niche collection. Relevant material in all formats will be pursued, including monographs, serials, films, and ephemera. Collecting will be assisted by but by no means limited to LCCAP profiles. Gifts are especially welcome!

Sri Lanka

Cornell is also heavily vested in Sri Lanka, and collects titles from and about the region in Sinhala, Tamil and English. Cornell’s collection on Lankan Buddhist history is especially strong, with several hundred unique mid-20th century monastic monographs in Sinhala added in recent years. Microfilms of Sinhala and Pali manuscripts and early printed books on Sri Lankan Buddhism have also enriched the Cornell collection—many thanks to the American Institute for Sri Lankan Studies. 

Other geographic specialities : Mumbai/Bombay, the literary scene in particular.
 
Last updated: 6 October 2016


Duke

Bazaar literature/Ephemera (visual culture, advertising)

Duke University Libraries will specialize in street and bazaar literature such as broadsheets, chapbooks, curiosa, ephemera, facetiae, temple literature, and other subaltern products, predominately in English and Hindi, to a lesser extent in Urdu, together with representative samples from other North and South Indian languages.  So far, several hundred examples of such materials in traditional genres such as chalisa, puja, qissa-kahani, and vrat katha have been collected. To the limited extent possible, textbooks for primary and secondary education in English, Bengali, and Hindi will also be acquired. In addition, visual culture materials such as calendar art, educational charts, matchbox covers, and advertisement posters, banners, and wrappings for fireworks are being collected.  Colonial era photography of South Asia (mostly India), focusing particularly on the work of Samuel Bourne and Raja (aka "Lala") Deen Dayal."

 Last updated: 10 October 2016

 


Emory

 

Emory University continues to develop its collection of Tibetan-language materials in accordance with Emory’s longstanding relationship with Tibet via the Emory-Tibet Partnership, as well as with faculty who teach courses on Tibetan language, culture, and religion. Emory maintains a complete SACAP profile for Tibetan materials, but does not limit its acquisitions to that profile.

 

In addition to Tibetan, Emory has a growing collection focus on Telugu literature. In 2017, Emory received a gift of over 2,000 Telugu items, including a palm-leaf manuscript, temple literature, poetry, fiction, literary criticism, and Marxist serials. This gift, along with new collecting and digitization efforts, will support the Visweswara Rao and Sita Koppaka Professorship in Telugu Culture, Literature and History, as well as graduate students working in Telugu.

Last updated: 15 August 2018


Illinois

Graphic novels and comic books

The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign collects South Asian comics and graphic novels. The majority of the collection comprises Indian comics in English and selected vernacular languages, especially Hindi. The collection also includes comics from Pakistan and Bangladesh in English, Urdu, and Bengali. Currently numbering more than 1,200 items, the collection continues to grow with the help of the Library of Congress and vendors and private collectors in South Asia. We continue to welcome gifts and donations of South Asian comics, including both new and out-of-print materials. We intend to expand the collection in the future by seeking out sources for materials from Nepal and Sri Lanka.

Last updated: 6 October 2016 


Indiana

Indian Films

Indiana University Libraries is a new and growing collection. Given the focus of the program for India Studies at Indiana University, the South Asia collection will focus significant efforts on collecting Indian films. In 2014, the collection was gifted over 150 VHS tapes of Indian feature films. The films were made from the 1930s to the 1980s, and are primarily in Hindi, although a number are also in Kannada. Collecting will be done in DVD format whenever possible, however VHS will be collected when it is the only format available. In addition, a web archive has been created for the collection which will focus on archiving out-of-copyright films available on the web. Feature films are collected in Hindi/Urdu, Bengali, and Tamil primarily, but major films will be collected in other regional languages as well. Documentary films are also collected, primarily through the LC-CAP program.

Last updated: 15 November 2016


Iowa

Law in English/LC profiles in Kannada including serials/Film Studies

The University of Iowa Law Library subscribes to all Law subject categories in English for LCCAP programs in India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Nepal, Pakistan, and Afghanistan; it regularly subscribes to new offerings of English language legal journals as well. The UI Main Library commits itself to maintaining subscriptions to all Kannada language subject categories in the LC-New Delhi profile, and to picking up subscriptions to new offerings of Kannada language journals. Finally, the UI Libraries will collect as comprehensively as possible in film studies materials in English, Hindi, and Kannada, as well as purchasing the best of new films (and documentaries) as they become available. In this last area, UI will work with vendors in addition to LC, such as DK Agencies, Mary Martin Booksellers, CDSource, and others.


Michigan

Oriya periodicals from LC/materials on or from Orissa

The University of Michigan Library, South Asia Division has started collecting Oriya language materials at a comprehensive level through LC Delhi. In addition to Oriya materials, there will be a concerted effort to make sure that all materials dealing with Orissa, its society, history and culture are collected in English and other relevant languages. The materials will be predominantly books, but will also include DVDs, serials, and hopefully some ephemera.

An additional focus will be placed on the intensive collection of materials dealing with religion in Orissa (all formats).  One particular are of collection interest is that of regional religious movements that are specific to Orissa.  Examples of this would be the Jagannatha cult as well as the more recent Western Orissan movement known as “Mahima Dharma.”  Religious ephemera will also be targeted, such as puja manuals and various depictions of the gods (cards, calendar art, etc.).

Last updated: 14 October 2016


Minnesota

Art History/Development Studies

The Ames Library of South Asia at the University of Minnesota collects South Asia materials broadly across the arts, humanities and social sciences.  One of our specializations with respect to the national collection is the transdisciplinary field of Development Studies.  We collect monographs, serials and films, principally in English, that grapple with the theory, practice, contestation, and outcomes of change processes in South Asia, with a focus on the time period from the colonial period to the present.  This includes materials by/about state actors and non-state actors, such as NGOs and people's movements (including Dalit and Adivasi movements, anti-displacement movements, Naxalite movements, regional sub-nationalisms, and environmental movements).  Secondly, in support of the longstanding teaching and research interests here, we collect materials, principally in English, on South Asian Art History.

Last updated: 6 October 2016


NYU

S.A. Diaspora in Northeast US/Cinema studies/Gender &Sexuality studies

Based on local research and teaching interests at NYU, and on the trajectory of academic courses and programs here, we commit to continue collecting in depth and expanding our collections in the following areas: 1. South Asia documentary films (from and about South Asia) and other kinds of materials related to cinema and cinema studies in South Asia (in English and other South Asian languages); 2. As there is tremendous interest in Diaspora Studies at NYU, I collect interdisciplinary materials on the South Asian diaspora especially in Northeast US, but also covering the Indian Ocean region, and Europe; 3. Gender & Sexuality topics, with regard to the South Asian Diaspora, and also as social movements and issues within South Asia. (Ephemera, oral histories and other primary and secondary source materials, in English and selected other South Asian languages). I have made some good progress this fall on this-- we acquired private collections of a SALGA veteran that are going to added to our Special Collections very soon , they include resources such as letters, pamphlets, brochures, photos and others; I am also adding online PDF NGO reports on sexual minorities in India to the South Asia NGO Reports Collections  at NYU for open access. 4. Food Studies (another area of interdisciplinary interest at NYU) with main focus on the food ways of the Indo-Carbeean diaspora in New York City (ideas for future: conducting and collecting oral history interviews of members of the Indo-Caribbean diaspora in New York City and adding them to the library collections).

Last updated: 7 October 2016


Pennsylvania

Sanskrit series gaps, Epigraphy, manuscripts

Sanskrit, epigraphy and manuscriptology are areas of renewed interest, in conjunction with our new Special Collections Center and its Institute for Manuscript Studies. In order to enhance the research value of the significant corpus of Indic manuscripts, the Penn Libraries will fill in the gaps for all supporting material required. An effort will be made to acquire the missing volumes in various Sanskrit series, epigraphic series, and materials on classical Indology.


Princeton

LC profiles in the physical sciences including serials

Princeton University is interested in collecting broadly and deeply in areas of the physical and biological sciences that emphasize energy and environment (including water rights issues). Initial emphasis is mainly on English language materials, but we also welcome non-English language resources that are otherwise not widely available. Our recent LC-Delhi sign up included such science related subjects (among others) as Engineering, Science General, Soil & Water Management, Oceanography, Biology (Genetics), Fisheries, Mathematics, Computer Science, Ecology, Energy, Forestry, and Earth Sciences. We also added many science related serials available from the Library of Congress which fall into the lower distributions of LC serials. While materials from LC in these areas tend to be textual in nature, we are interested in the long term in materials in any format and any language (subject to technical cataloging constraints) that relate to issues of energy and environment (including water issues). Gifts are welcome.


Texas

Popular and pulp fiction in regional languages

The University of Texas at Austin is developing a collection of popular and pulp fiction in the regional languages of India.  To date, materials have been acquired in Tamil, Telugu and Urdu but other languages will also be pursued.  In addition to the literary content of these novels, novellas and serialized stories, the graphic covers are also of great interest and will be preserved and ultimately documented online.  For more background, see UT Library blog posts (here and here) or records in UT’s catalog.

 Last updated: 14 October 2016


Toronto

Shastri supplied materials/Canadian authors

The University of Toronto Libraries collect comprehensively in all areas of South Asian studies: humanities, social studies, the arts, and the sciences. Materials published in India in English, Bengali, Hindi, Gujarati, Nepali, Pashto, Punjabi, Rajasthani, Sanskrit, Tamil, and Urdu are received through our arrangement with the Shastri Indo-Canadian Institute Book Programme.  Additional materials published elsewhere are also acquired, either through well-established approval plans with commercial vendors, or from the Library of Congress. The work of contemporary Canadian authors, including Indo-Canadian literature in English and in translation, remains a dedicated area of collecting at Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library.


UCLA

S.A. Diaspora (Gulf, SE Asia, California)/Baha'i/Jewish communities

The UCLA Library seeks out South Asian Judaica, Armenian and Bahai publications regardless of language.  These materials are already well represented in UCLA's collections. The library also aims to collect South Asian Diaspora materials from the Arab Gulf States and Southeast Asia. Southeast Asian Diaspora materials area already being received via the Southeast Asian LC Cooperative Acquisitions Program. UCLA will cooperate with UC Berkeley in the acquisition of other South Asian Diaspora newspapers with a special emphasis on California. UCLA also has programmatic strengths in Indo-Iranian studies and will strive to build its collections of Persian and Arabic language materials published in India. Gifts in all of these areas are especially welcome.


Virginia

Bihar history

The University of Virginia libraries aim to build on its modern history of Bihar materials by making a special effort to search out and purchase materials which will enhance this field of study and research of this region and state. Most of these materials will consist of monographs, but also journals, manuscripts, and other materials, including art, music, film, and literature.  This is a broad understanding of 'history' to include materials, mainly in English, on social movements, anthropology studies, political, religious, and cultural movements, and will also look to include literature in Hindi, Maithili, Bhojpuri, and other Bihari languages. Gifts are welcome, as well as suggestions and recommendations by members of CONSALD and others.

Some additions in the past years:

1. Two very large Mithili paintings, donated by Walter Hauser.

2. Talk and discussion by leading Mithili painting expert, David L. Szanton

3. Manuscripts and papers by Bihar legislator Mishra. Between 1972 and 1977 Misra was Speaker of the Bihar Vidhan Sabha (the Bihar State legislative assembly).

Papers of Harinath Misra [manuscript] ca.1940-1998. 
4. Manuscripts and papers by Bihar researcher Christopher V. Hill. 

Papers of Christopher V. Hill [manuscript]
5. Books on Bihar donated by and added to the collection from Walter Hauser. About 85 books on Bihar

6. A short run of a Bihar serial in Urdu language – also sent to, digitized, and added by CRL (through SAMP); and returned paper copy to the University of Virginia. Bihar ki khabren 

7. Pamphlets on Bihar and connected topics – about 60 items (added in the last 5 years)

 

There are now (24 October 2016) 3,063 catalog in the “South Asia Pamphlet Collection” at the University of Virginia.

 

 Last updated: 21 October 2016


Washington

Human Rights & Refugees

University of Washington Libraries, as a part of its commitment to SACAP - 2012 Cooperative Collection,  aims to build an in depth collection in the area of Human Rights and Refugees Issues. This in depth collection development will be mainly based  on  SACAP Monographic  profiles in English language from India, Bangladesh , Nepal and Sri Lanka. .An effort will also be made to collect Western Publications for this subject area through YBP.   Collections will  mainly include monographs, While an attempt will be made to include serials ( print or electronic) in English Languagefor this subject area, the serial coverage may or may not be in depth. Serial subscription will depend on the budget and other factors such as ease of access, price etc.


Wisconsin

South Asian Theater

Collecting in this multi-disciplinary field is open to all languages and formats:  all materials related to South Asian theatre will be pursued, including but not limited to play-scripts, recordings of performances, serial publications, secondary sources, etc.  Among other areas, this new focus will encompass the areas of language, literature, performance studies, and anthropology and intends to span all time frames (classical to contemporary).  Collecting will be assisted by but by no means limited to LCCAP profiles.


Yale

Buddhism/Jainism, particularly in Pali.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.