Finding Journal Articles and Conference Papers - ME 302 - Introduction to Engineering Design and Graphics - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Finding Research Papers, Plus Magazine and Newspaper Articles

For help in finding articles (journal, magazine, and newspaper), we recommend using indexing tools. Some indexes only index; some index and include text for some of the articles. Always, though, you should see the citation for the article. This helps find the text for the article in the UT subscriptions.

Here are databases we especially recommend for you:

Academic Search Complete
This is one of our favorite all-around indexing tools. It has good coverage of the literature of engineering, including mechanical engineering, and has lots of full-text. Indexed material ranges from popular to peer-reviewed. Conference papers are not indexed.
Business Source Complete
Indexes the literature of business and management, with much full-text. Expect to find coverage of the business side of engineering topics.
Compendex
Indexes the research literature of engineering and includes journal and conference papers. Full-text is not included, so be sure to follow links to find article text.
ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) Digital Library (Current)
Full-text product from the ASME. Includes ASME conference papers and journal articles.
SAE Mobilus
Full-text conference papers from the Society of Automotive Engineers
Business Source Complete
On the theory that every engineering topic is also a business topic. This is a companion to Academic Search Complete. Much full-text. Popular materials and also peer-reviewed papers.
Factiva
A full-text new and business database. Not research oriented but good for updates on the world.
Nexis Uni
Full-text news database. Formerly Lexis Nexis.

"Find it at UT"

Click on "Find it at UT" (or on an icon with similar text) to link to the electronic text of a journal article. Sometimes, the linking won't get you to the text. If that happens, you should see a link to where you can request a copy.