LibGuides: Climate Science: State, Regional, NGOs

State, Regional, NGOs & International Sources

Berkeley Earth
An independent U.S. non-profit organization focused on environmental data science and analysis. It supplies comprehensive open-source global air pollution data and highly accessible global temperature data that is timely, impartial, and verified.
CalClim: California Climate Data Archive
Climate monitoring and data access website for the state of California.
California Data Exchange Center
CDEC provides users access to hydrologic and climate information used to support real-time flood management and water supply needs in California. Data on precipitation, rivers, reservoirs, snow and weather conditions.
Canadian Centre for Climate Services
Center for Climate and Energy Solutions
C2ES is the successor to the Pew Center on Global Climate Change, which was founded in 1998, and is widely recognized as an influential and pragmatic voice on climate issues.
Center for Climate and Security
CCS, a non-partisan institute, facilitates policy development processes and dialogues, provides analysis, conducts research, communicates to the public, and acts as a resource hub in the climate and security field.
CLEAN: Climate Literacy & Energy Awareness Network
Free learning resources for secondary and higher education.
CLIMAS - Climate Assessment for the Southwest
Established in 1998 as part of the NOAA’s Regional Integrated Sciences and Assessments program. CLIMAS is a collaboration between the Univ. of Arizona and New Mexico State Univ.
Climate Action Tracker
The CAT is an independent scientific analysis that tracks government climate action of 39 countries and the EU, and measures it against the globally agreed Paris Agreement.
Climate Central
An independent organization of leading scientists and journalists researching and reporting the facts about our changing climate and its impact on the public.
Climate Reanalyzer
Platform for visualizing climate and weather forecast models. Site content is organized into three general categories: Weather Forecasts, Climate Data, and Research Tools. (Univ. of Maine)
CoolClimate Network
An academic-government-NGO partnership that develops tools for calculating and mapping greenhouse gas emissions of all transportation, energy, food, goods and services purchased by households and businesses. (UC Berkeley)
Copernicus Climate Change
Information, tools and data from the European Union's Climate Change Service.
Copernicus Climate Data Store
Explore freely available data; registration required.
Environmental & Energy Study Institute
US advocacy and lobbying organization.
ESSC: Earth System Science Center (Penn State Univ.)
The ESSC maintains a mission to describe, model, and understand the Earth's climate system. It is one of seven centers supported by the Earth & Environmental Systems Institute.
Florida Climate Center
Florida State University.
Hawai'i Climate Data Portal
Provides streamlined access to high-quality reliable climate data and information for the State of Hawai‘i. This includes the production of both near-real-time monthly rainfall and daily temperature maps and a user-friendly tool to visualize and download them.
IRI Data Library
Freely accessible online data repository and analysis tool that allows a user to view, analyze, and download hundreds of terabytes of climate-related data through a standard web browser. (Columbia Univ.)
National Center for Atmospheric Research
NCAR, founded in Boulder CO in 1960, provides the university community with world-class facilities and services that are beyond the reach of any individual institution.
NCAR Climate Data Guide
Search and access over 200 data sets covering the Atmosphere, Ocean, Land and more. Explore climate indices, reanalyses and satellite data and understand their application to climate model metrics.
Ocean Conservancy
OECD Environment Statistics
Collection of policy-relevant environmental statistics.
Southeast Regional Climate Center
SERCC is one of six regional climate centers in the United States, housed at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Southern Regional Climate Center
A Regional Climate Center located at Texas A&M Univ.
Texas State Climatologist
The Office of the Texas State Climatologist (OSC) is housed in the Department of Atmospheric Sciences, College of Geosciences, Texas A&M University. The OSC is an AASC-Recognized State Climate Office.
Union of Concerned Scientists - Climate Change
United Nations - Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
UN body assessing the science related to climate change.
United Nations Climate Change
The UNFCCC secretariat (UN Climate Change) is the United Nations entity tasked with supporting the global response to the threat of climate change.
United Nations Environment Programme
UNEP Data Resources
Univ. of East Anglia Climatic Research Unit
Provides datasets in climate research, including the global temperature record used to monitor the state of the climate system, plus statistical software packages and climate models.
United Nations FAO - Climate Change
Western Regional Climate Center
The Regional Climate Centers (RCC) deliver climate services at national, regional and state levels working with NOAA partners in the National Climatic Data Center, National Weather Service, the American Association of State Climatologists, the Regional Sciences and Assessment Program, and other NOAA Research Institutes.
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute - Climate Change
Woodwell Climate Research Center
An organization of researchers who work with a worldwide network of partners to understand and combat climate change.
World Bank Climate Change Data
World Data Centre for Precipitation Chemistry
WDCPC receives and archives precipitation chemistry data and complementary information from stations around the world. (WMO)
World Meteorological Organization - Climate
WorldClim
WorldClim is a database of high spatial resolution global weather and climate data. These data can be used for mapping and spatial modeling.