Skip to Main Content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Industry Research

Industry Reports

Industry Reports - Overview

The University of Texas at Austin – Libraries subscribes to the following resources which will provide industry reports for academic use. The University Libraries will not purchase industry  reports that are not included within our subscription databases. The University Libraries is prohibited from purchasing industry reports for individuals or groups affiliated with the University of  Texas at Austin.
BCC Research: Reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology MarketLine Advantage: Provides in-depth industry profiles and all reports contain a “Five Forces Analysis” section.
Gartner: Provides unlimited access to a knowledge base of IT research and technology news, products and trends to support your research and business projects. MarketResearch.com Academic: Detailed market research reports from leading sources — Kalorama Information, Icon Group International, Packaged Facts and SBI.
IBISWorld: Provides industry research reports and offers the very latest content on every U.S. industry. Each report has key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more. Statista: Provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.
Investext: Provides expert reports by investment bank and brokerage house equity analysts along with independent consulting and company research firms, covering publicly-traded companies and their industries worldwide. Technavio: Provides online technology research and advisory content with global coverage. It focuses on emerging technology trends that can shape the market.

WARNING:

When working on projects that involve individuals who are not University of Texas at Austin students you are prohibited from sharing industry research reports. You may only summarize or paraphrase the data.

 

Industry Research Report Databases

Reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology.

Gartner provides unlimited access to a knowledge base of IT research and technology news, products and trends to support your research and business projects. Gartner is available to all current University of Texas at Austin students, faculty and staff. With thousands of research articles on every aspect of information technology, the applications of Gartner research reach beyond the technology field to practical uses in education, business management, healthcare, government and more.

 

Visitors with temporary EID's will not have access to Gartner.​

IBISWorld: Industry profiles on 700+ US niche industries including information on Barriers to Entry.

Investext contains current and historical industry research reports. 

Select NO DATE RANGE for best results.

  1. Select + sign next to Keywords in Search Criteria box
  2. Select Search Headline or Search Whole Report from drop-down menu
  3. Type search strategy
    • To search using AND operator, please use a comma to separate keywords.
    • To search using OR operator, please add another "Keywords" search window
  4. Click Submit
  5. Click View

 

MarketLine Advantage has industry reports with Porter's 5 Forces Analysis.
Select Industry Profiles from the drop-down menu.

Topics:

  • Food & Beverage
  • Technology & Media
  • Heavy Industry
  • Demographics
  • Life Science
  • Consumer Goods
  • Service Industries
  • Public Sector

 

Mergent Online Industry Analysis section contains industry reports produced by FTSE Russell. Select "Reports" from the tool bar and then choose your industry focus.

 

Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.

WARNING: If you are working on projects which involve persons who are not University of Texas at Austin students you are prohibited from sharing TechNavio reports. You may summarize or paraphrase the data, only.

Step 1: Mouse over the report image click on the Quick Look "eye" symbol to reveal the abstract.

Step 2: Select "View Full Abstract" or "View Full Report"

Step 3: Select Get PDF from column on left-hand side of the page, report will not display. Enter your University of Texas at Austin email address. Reports will be sent via email within one business day.

Global Insights By Industry

This is your source for international business-related resources, statistics, risk assessments, and events for 20 distinct industry sectors. You will find a wealth of information for each industry.

Aerospace & Defense Agriculture Apparel & Textiles Business Services
Chemicals Construction Consumer Products Energy
Financial Services Food & Beverages Healthcare Hospitality & Travel
Industrial Manufacturing Media & Communications Mining, Minerals, Metals Pharmaceuticals
Public Services Retail Technology Transport Manufacturing

 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.