LibGuides: Industry Research: Trade Information

Domestic Trade Data

TradeStats Express
U.S. trade statistics by market and industry. Updated quarterly.

Exporter Database
Tables profiling U.S. goods exporting companies by market, product, and location within the United States. Released annually.

US Trade & Tariff Data
USITC DataWeb provides U.S. merchandise trade and tariff data in a user friendly web interface. Trade data for 1989 to the present are available on a monthly, quarterly, annual, or year-to-date basis and can be retrieved using a sophisticated querying tool with features such as user defined country and commodity groups.

International Trade Data

Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.
Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.
While historical and time series data are not a focus of Statista, the metadata about each table provides all the necessary information to go to the table’s source, where historical information may be available.

UN Comtrade is a repository of official international trade statistics and relevant analytical tables.

UN Comtrade This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Allows users to find information on any commodity from any country. Includes larger overviews of imports and exports by country and main categories of commodities, such as food or fuels or machinery.
Also includes annual data from more than 130 countries. The data is searchable by commodity and partner country. All values are converted to US dollars and metric units. Coverage varies by country, but dates as far back as 1962 and go up to the most recent year.
Commodities are classified according to SITC (Rev.1 from 1962, Rev.2 from 1976 and Rev.3 from 1988) and the Harmonized System (HS) (from 1988 with revisions in 1996 and 2002). Currently most data are reported according to HS, 2002 version, but the data are available in multiple classifications.

The World Integrated Trade Solution (WITS) software provides access to international merchandise trade, tariff and non-tariff measures (NTM) data.

Select "Trade Stats" to view data by county and indicator.

World Integrated Trade Solution - WITS

The World Trade Organization (WTO) is the only global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations. At its heart are the WTO agreements, negotiated and signed by the bulk of the world’s trading nations and ratified in their parliaments. The goal is to ensure that trade flows as smoothly, predictably and freely as possible.

World Trade Organization

GlobalEDGE

Global Insights

GlobalEDGE - Global Insights
Global Insights provides international business and trade information on over 200 countries, the 50 U.S. states, as well as nearly two dozen industry sectors, and many of the world’s trade blocs.