LibGuides: Materials Science and Engineering: Data Sources

AccessEngineering
This McGraw-Hill e-book platform has a materials property visualization component (DataVis) that allows interactive manipulation of tabular property data and exporting to Excel.
Aerospace Structural Metals Database (ASMD)
ASM (American Society for Metals) Alloy Center
ASM (American Society for Metals) Handbooks Online
ASM (American Society for Metals) Phase Diagrams
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Standard reference source for chemical and physical data and properties.

Engineering ToolBox
Wide array of data tables.
HTEM
The High Throughput Experimental Materials Database contains information about materials obtained at NREL (National Renewable Energy Laboratory). Contains composition, structure, optical, and electrical properties of thin films synthesized using combinatorial methods across a wide range of materials (oxides, nitrides, sulfide, intermetallics).
Landolt-Börnstein
LB is a major printed handbook series of materials properties, emphasizing solid state semiconductors, metallic, and non-metallic materials. Follow the link for more information.
MakeItFrom.com
Curated database of engineering material properties that emphasizes ease of comparison. Every listed material is an internationally recognized generic material. The data is sourced from published standards, academic literature, and supplier documentation.
Material Data Center
This subscription site has some free features, including material data sheets and a trade name directory. (M-Base Engineering + Software GmbH, Germany)
Materials Data Facility
The MDF is set of data services built specifically to support materials science researchers. MDF consists of two synergistic services, data publication and data discovery (in development). The production-ready data publication service offers a scalable repository where materials scientists can publish, preserve, and share research data.
The Materials Project
Harnessing the power of supercomputing and state of the art electronic structure methods, the Materials Project provides open web-based access to computed information on known and predicted materials as well as powerful analysis tools to inspire and design novel materials.
MatWeb
MatWeb's database includes manufacturer-supplied property data on about 24,000 materials, including thermoplastic and thermoset polymers, metals, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys, ceramics, semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials. Searchable by material type, trade name, property parameters, manufacturer, etc.
MEMSnet Materials Database
Properties of some common bulk and film materials.
NIST Materials Data Repository
The NIST MDR is part of an effort in coordination with the Materials Genome Initiative (MGI) to establish data exchange protocols and mechanisms that will foster data sharing and reuse across a wide community of researchers, with the goal of enhancing the quality of materials data and models.
NIST X-Ray Transition Energies Database
Search for X-ray transition energies by element(s), transition(s), and/or energy/wavelength range.
NOMAD
Open repository of materials property data. (Humboldt Univ.)

Phase Equilibria Diagrams Online
Unlimited users.
Updated quarterly. A collection of more than 23,000 critically-evaluated phase diagrams in support of ceramics research. The database is a joint project of the American Ceramic Society and the National Institute of Standards and Technology and provides phase diagrams for oxides, salts, carbides, nitrides, brides, compound semiconductors, and chalcogenides.
After following the link above, click on “Click Here Without Signing In To Access Phase Diagrams” to access the UT subscription.

Polymer Property Predictor and Database
Search and browse data on polymers, blends, and solutions. (CHIMAD)
ThermoDex
Finding desired data in the print collection of a technical library can be difficult. Hardest of all is knowing what sources you might look in, and where they are. ThermoDex is a finding aid that lists about 300 printed tools in the UT Austin collection, with a description and listing of the types of data and compounds covered by each. You can search by these parameters to pull up a list of possible sources to consult in the library.

Thermophysical Properties of Matter Database (TPMD)
Covers 60 properties of nearly 5000 inorganic, metal, and composite materials and alloys, totaling nearly 50,000 data curves and 21,000 data sets. Browse or search by material or property.

WolframAlpha Materials
"Wolfram|Alpha contains a large volume of data on materials, both manmade and natural, including woods, metals, minerals, plastics and more. Many of these materials have important applications in industry and construction. Use Wolfram|Alpha to learn about the physical, thermal, mechanical, optical and processing properties of materials and compare materials by common name or manufacturer specification."

Materials Science and Engineering

Data Sources

Related Guides