LibGuides: NIH Data Sharing &amp; Public Access Policies: Overview

NIH Sharing Policy Information

The National Institutes of Health (NIH) has policies to address requirements to provide public access to journal articles and research data that are related to NIH funded research. This guide aims to provide information about those policies and related library resources.

The two main sections of this guide are:

Public Access Policy related to journal articles - information about the long standing NIH policy to share journal articles funded by NIH research in PubMed Central.

Data Management & Sharing Policy - information about the updated policy on data sharing that goes into effect January 25, 2023.

NIH Quick Links

Data Management & Sharing Policy
NIH Public Access Policy
FAQs
PubMed Central PubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
NIH Manuscript Submission System (NIHMS) The tool for authors and publishers to deposit electronic version of peer-reviewed final manuscripts for inclusion in PubMed Central. Papers in the NIHMS are assigned an identifier (NIHMSID).
NCBI Login The tool that retains user information and database preferences to provide customized services for many databases operated by the NLM's National Center for Biotechnology Information, including PubMed, PubMed Central and SciENcv. It allows you to save searches, select display formats, filtering options, and set up automatic searches . It includes the bibliography management system My Bibliography.
eRA Commons electronic Research Administration (eRA) provides critical IT infrastructure to manage research and non-research grants awarded by NIH and other grantor agencies in support of the collective mission of improving human health. eRA systems, including eRA Commons, ASSIST and IMPAC II modules, support the full grants life cycle.
SciENcv A researcher profile system for all individuals who apply for, receive or are associated with research investments from federal agencies.
PMCID Converter This utility allows you to start with any of the following unique identifiers for an article in PMC (PubMed Central) and get back the other IDs that apply to the article: PMID (PubMed ID); PMCID; Manuscript ID (from a manuscript submission system such as NIHMS); DOI.

PubMed This link opens in a new window 1950 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Provides access to over 36 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases. Links to the full text articles are provided when available, subject to UT subscription status. Authenticating with UT EID will ensure the Findit@UT button is available in search results.

NIH Data Sharing & Public Access Policies

Overview

NIH Sharing Policy Information

NIH Quick Links

Related LibGuides