Primary index database for the journal and conference literature of physics and related fields.
Updated weekly. Indexes the research literature of physics; electrical engineering and electronics; & computers and control. Offers over 15 million records and strong international coverage. The archive portion, which was formerly separate, is now integrated with the current file.
Citation index covering thousands of journals across all scientific disciplines.
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.
A one-stop information platform for HEP community, comprising 8 interlinked databases on literature, conferences, institutions, journals, researchers, experiments, jobs and data. Run in collaboration by CERN, DESY, Fermilab, IHEP, IN2P3, and SLAC.
The ADS maintains three bibliographic collections containing more than 15 million records covering publications in astronomy and astrophysics, physics, and general science, including all arXiv e-prints. Abstracts and full-text of major astronomy and physics publications are indexed and searchable. To access full text of UT’s subscribed content, register for a user account and choose UT Austin from the list of institutions.
Updated regularly. Provides bibliographic and full text access to the Department of Energy (DOE) research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.
The primary index to literature in the chemical sciences (Chemical Abstracts) provides comprehensive coverage of chemical physics, spectroscopy, and related information. Requires registration for a personal user account.
Updated daily. Requires users to register with a utexas.edu email account. Provides integrated access to the Chemical Abstracts suite of databases with millions of bibliographic records covering the worldwide chemical literature, including patents; as well as over 100 million substance records, with chemical structures, names, synonyms, and associated property data; plus millions of searchable organic reactions. Search by topic, author, chemical identification terms (names, formulas, Registry Numbers), and chemical structures.
The world's first and largest preprint server. Areas covered include physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computational linguistics, and neuroscience.
Created by Paul Ginsparg at the Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los Alamos, New Mexico and launched in 1991, arXiv.org (formerly xxx.lanl.gov) is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. Areas covered include physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computational linguistics, and neuroscience.
Provides full-text articles from scholarly journals and conference proceedings published by the American Institute of Physics (AIP). AIP Publishing’s portfolio comprises 19 highly regarded, peer-reviewed journals, including the flagship journals Applied Physics Letters, Journal of Applied Physics, and The Journal of Chemical Physics, in addition to the AIP Conference Proceedings.
Provides access to the full text of scholarly journals published by the American Physical Society (APS). Titles include Physical Review, sections A-E; Physical Review Letters; Review of Modern Physics; Physical Review Special Topics - Accelerators & Beams; various journals in the "Virtual Journals in Science and Technology" series; and free publications APS News and Physical Review Focus. Issues older than three years are archived in PROLA.
An email alert service is available for these publications. You can create two types of email alerts:
TOC alerts enable you to receive the Tables of Contents of your favorite IOP journals as soon as issues are published online.
Enhanced alerts allow you to enter more flexible alerting criteria including key words, so that whenever articles matching your criteria are published, you automatically receive alerts containing their details.
You can sign up by clicking alerts at the top of the IOP electronic journals page.
ACS offers "ASAP alerts" and 'Table of Contents alerts". ASAP alerts is especially designed for those who want to know about an article just as soon as it is published. Table of Contents alerts is especially designed for those who prefer to know of an entire issue's contents at once.
Sponsoring Consortium for Open Access Publishing in Particle Physics is a cooperative venture across a number of publishers to make a sizeable portion (nearly 60,000 articles) of the particle physics journal literature freely available to all. Participating journals are also accessible individually through UT's Library Catalog.