LibGuides: Kinesiology &amp; Health Education Research: Scholarly Articles

Sources for KHE Research

PubMed This link opens in a new window
1950 - present. Unlimited users.
Articles from medicine and related fields. The biggest medical database!
Updated weekly. Provides access to over 36 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases. Links to the full text articles are provided when available, subject to UT subscription status. Authenticating with UT EID will ensure the Findit@UT button is available in search results.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
1900 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
1949 (full text from 1985) - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Provides citations, many with abstracts, of periodical and monographic literature in the areas of sport, recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, the psychology, history and sociology of sport, training, and conditioning. Includes full text coverage for more than 415 indexed journals. Coverage is international.
PsycINFO (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
1887 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Indexes and abstracts over 1,700 sources, including international material selected from periodicals written in over 35 languages. Contains current chapter and book coverage with worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present, and adds over 60,000 references annually through monthly updates. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines.
Has over 1.8 million individual records, some dating back to 1887, and includes abstracts from Psychological Abstracts back to 1927, Psychological Bulletin from 1921-1926, and all APA journals and the American Journal of Psychology back to their first issues. Corresponds in part to the print index Psychological Abstracts.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
1950 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Provides bibliographic indexing from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Contains bibliographic citations (e.g., authors, title, and journal reference) and author abstracts from 4,500 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 foreign countries.
Journal articles are indexed for MEDLINE using NLM's controlled vocabulary, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Citations are created by the National Library of Medicine, International MEDLARS partners, and cooperating professional organizations.
MEDLINE has worldwide coverage, but 88% of the citations in current MEDLINE are to English-language sources and 76% have English abstracts.
NLM provides free access to MEDLINE through PubMed.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health) Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
1937 - present. Unlimited users. Usage Rights
Articles from nursing and allied health disciplines.
Updated monthly. The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes indexing for more than 5,100 journals with coverage as far back as 1937 and full text coverage for more than 700 journals. In addition to journals, includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, and educational software.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
1929 - present (full text varies by title). Unlimited users.
"The collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
EBSCO search tutorials

ERIC: Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
1966 (selected full text from 1993) - present. Unlimited users. Usage Rights
Education-related literature. Includes journal articles, magazine articles, conference papers, reports and government documents.
Updated monthly. Provides a digital library of education-related resources. Contains over 1.1 million citations covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education.
Also includes more than 107,000 full text non-journal documents indexed by the ERIC database. Approximately one-half of the entries in the ERIC database are to ERIC documents. Microfiche copies of ERIC documents, including those prior to 1996, are in the Collections Deposit Library (CDL) Microforms Collection at MCFICHE 4913.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides access to the full text of journals published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries and other publishers whose online journals are hosted by ScienceDirect. Email alerts are available if you register.
Ebooks: Selected titles from Elsevier and its subsidiaries are included. These ebooks are DRM-free with unlimited users and PDF chapter downloads/printing.
TRIP This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited.
Updated monthly. Trip (Turning Research into Practice) searches evidence-based healthcare resources to support practice and care. It includes systematic reviews, clinical practice guidelines, primary research from over 500 high impact journals, and patient information leaflets. Trip offers a PICO search function and aligns each result with its relevant place on the “Levels of Evidence” pyramid.

PEDro: Physiotherapy Evidence Database
Database that indexes over 40,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Does not include full text of all results.
DiTA: Diagnostic Test Accuracy
Index of diagnostic test accuracy studies related to physiotherapy practice. Includes both primary studies and systematic reviews.

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. In-depth coverage of business issues, management techniques, competitive information, and a variety of other topics.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Contains 700+ industry research reports and offers the very latest content on every U.S. industry. Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more.
IBISWorld’s industry risk rating reports are intended to be used alongside financial statement analysis to provide a full forward-looking picture for strategic planners, bankers and aspiring industry entrants. These US industry risk rating determine how much risk an industry will face over the next 18 months by assessing the operating conditions for companies in the industry.
Note: IBISWorld promotes reports on the Web that they either plan to or are willing to write. If someone purchases one of these reports, then IBISWorld will produce the report and include it in our package.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Provides over 160 full-text journals in medicine, nursing, allied and consumer health. Includes full-text reference books, pamphlets, overviews of clinical topics, and indexing and abstracts for over 1500 additional titles covering patient and consumer health information.
Nutrition Care Manual This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. 1 user.
Updated regularly. Provides research-based nutrition information and clinical tools for dietitians, dietetic technicians, and other health care professionals.
Founded in 1917 as the American Dietetic Association, the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics's nearly 67,000 members in the U.S. and abroad help shape the food choices and impact the nutritional status of the public. The membership includes dietitians, dietetic technicians, students and others holding baccalaureate and advanced degrees in nutrition and dietetics.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.

More related databases

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.

Why start my Google Scholar search at UT Libraries? Isn't it free?

If you start here (or on the main library page), you'll be asked to authenticate with your EID before searching. Then Google and many publisher sites will see that you has permission to access our subscriptions, and you'll hit fewer paywalls!

What's different about Google Scholar?

Google Scholar searches within the full text of articles (most of our databases tend to look for your keywords in titles, abstracts and subject headings).
Google tell you how many times a publication has been cited (by sources within the Google Scholar universe).
Google gathers and collects "other versions" of an article when available. These are usually copies freely living on websites or post-print copies from repositories.
Google Scholar includes more grey literature than most databases. So you may find dissertations, book chapters, conference papers and more.

Why use Google Scholar?

Find highly-cited authors or publications on your topic
Find studies that use specific data sets, methods, models, theoretical frameworks, etc. These types of things tend to appear in the full text, rather than the titles and abstracts.
Find a bigger variety of sources from more disciplines. (our databases tend to focus on specific disciplines and on journals)

What is a library database?

Your instructor or subject librarian may throw around the term "library database" a lot, but what exactly do they mean? This video from RMIT University in Australia explains the term and how you can use databases for research.

Transcript available through YouTube.

Search for Journals

Journal Search
Search by title or ISBN to see if UT Libraries has access to a particular journal.

Where's the Article?

If you don’t see a .pdf of the article you want, click FIND IT AT UT to find it in another database or in print in the Libraries.

If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click GET A SCAN to have the article emailed to you. This option will take a few days.

Troubleshooting Electronic Resources

Electronic Resources: Troubleshooting
Is an article you're trying to access not loading correctly in your browser? Try some of these troubleshooting tips.