LibGuides: Kinesiology &amp; Health Education Research: KIN 349 Sources, Images, & Maps

Find Sources, Images, & Maps

Use this selection of online encyclopedias and dictionaries to find reliable background information, overviews and key resources from articles' bibliographies

Berkshire Encyclopedia of World Sport by Christensen, K. et al
Publication Date: 2000
The Encyclopedia of Ancient History by Bagnall, R. S. et al
Publication Date: 2013
The Oxford Classical Dictionary by Hornblower, S.; Spawforth, A.; Eidinow, E.
Publication Date: 2012
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome by Gagarin, M.
ISBN: 0195388399
Publication Date: 2010
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites by Stillwell, R.; MacDonald, W. L.; McAllister, M. H.
Publication Date: 1976
Important overviews of archaeological sites.
Brill's New Pauly by Eder, W.; Renger, J.
Publication Date: 2006

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Fully searchable across all files.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

To find books related to your area of research, use the Library catalog.

Enter your keywords or try searching with a subject heading.

UT Libraries Databases are your key to finding authoritative articles on research topics.

Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
1949 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated annually. Corresponds to the printed L'Annee Philologique, the international critical and analytical bibliography of ancient Greek and Latin languages and literatures and classical studies. Provides 350,000 bibliographic records for the years 1949 to the present, with 12,500 new records added each year. The international offices analyze 1,500 periodicals each year as well as 500 articles in collections and conference papers.
Zenon DYABOLA (Free) This link opens in a new window
1956 - present. Unlimited users.
This is the free version of the DYABOLA database. DYABOLA (Dynamically Accumulating Database on Objects and Literature About Antiquity) provides citations to books, articles, and essays on classical, early Christian, Byzantine, early Medieval, and ancient Middle Eastern antiquities, art, and archaeology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
1949 (full text from 1985) - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Provides citations, many with abstracts, of periodical and monographic literature in the areas of sport, recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, the psychology, history and sociology of sport, training, and conditioning. Includes full text coverage for more than 415 indexed journals. Coverage is international.
TOCS-IN This link opens in a new window
1992 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated quarterly. TOCS-IN (Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists) provides tables of contents of about 200 journals of interest to classicists. Where possible, links to online abstracts or full text are provided (about 6%).

Check also

Pictures and images of artifacts, places and objects from the ancient world can provide key evidence to life from that time. There are many sources for such images, including books, articles and the internet. Below are listed some authoritative sources from the internet:

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Comprised of over 2.5 million digital images of visual material encompassing artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures. Focuses on, but is not limited to, the arts. Includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture. Designed to be used by researchers in fields that do not traditionally use images as well as by art historians.
In order to take advantage of all the features of the site, you must register or log in with the service. The registration and login links are visible once you enter the database.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. 8 users.
Updated daily. Provides Web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) with annual additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links.
Covers the artistic traditions of the world's leading cultures, countries, cities, towns, and regions as well as important archaeological sites, monuments, and buildings. Includes over 45,000 signed articles on every aspect of the visual arts from prehistory through the present as well as over 40,000 web links to important art images in galleries and museums around the world. Both the fine arts (painting, sculpture, and architecture) and the decorative arts (ceramics, textiles, jewellery, interior design, furniture, glass, metalwork, and more) are included.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. If you see a username and password prompt, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.

Beazley Archive Pottery Database
Calls itself the world's largest collection of photographs of ancient Greek painted pottery, as well as relevant books and offprints, extensive material on the history of gem-collecting, and thousands of other documents and photographs relating to classical archaeology and to Sir John Beazley. Many of the Archive's images are available online.
Corpus Vasorum
Images of and from ancient (mostly) Greek vases, based on an extensive printed set of the same name. Searchable online by theme and other elements.
Includes pictures of athletes, sports, contests, mythical figures, animals.
Perseus Art and Archaeology Artifact Browser
Tufts University NEH funded initiative covering the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.
Roman Provincial Coinage (RPC) Online
Search for coin types from Roman Provinces by coin designs, mints, provinces, regions, emperors & empresses, magistrates, and metals.

Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World by Richard J. A. Talbert
Publication Date: 2000
"recreates the entire world of the Greeks and Romans from the British Isles to the Indian subcontinent "
Brill's Historical Atlas of the Ancient World by by Walter Eder; Johannes Renger
Publication Date: 2006
In Brill's New Pauly

Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names Online
Especially useful listing of place names across time and space, as place names change under new rulers, geographic boundaries and cultures.
ORBIS : The Stanford Geospatial Network Model of the Roman World
Provides simulated travel times across Roman empire, including seasonal variations and modes of travel in calculations. Use Latin variants of place names, for example Carthago to Roma.
Shepherd's Historical Atlas (online edition)
Multiple print editions of this "classic" atlas are also available in many libraries.
UT Libraries Map Collection
The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection (PCLMC), comprising more than 350,000 items representing all areas of the world, provides comprehensive cartographic resources to serve constituents both within and beyond the university’s walls.

The Stark Center (NEZ 5.700) has created a reserve cart of book material relevant to this assignment. You’ll find several books detailing the games and sports played by various ancient cultures with most books also providing information about the culture, politics and lifestyles of the people living during this time. These books do not circulate, so must be used at the Stark Center. You may visit the Center Monday-Friday, 9am – 5pm. If you have any questions about the collection you can email the Stark Center at info@starkcenter.org.