LibGuides: Kinesiology &amp; Health Education Research: Background Information

Encyclopedias, Handbooks and Guidebooks

SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Another large collection of encyclopedias that is particularly useful for social science topics. Simply add keywords for a concept or theory and search the entire collection of encyclopedias at once.
Platform for Sage eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more. Only select ebook titles purchased by the UT Libraries are fully accessible.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

Here are a few additional encyclopedias that aren't included in the database collections above...

Encyclopedia of Adolescense
Publication Date: 2020
Encyclopedia of Behavioral Medicine
ISBN: 1461464390
Publication Date: 2020
Encyclopedia of Food and Health
Publication Date: 2015
Encyclopedia of Mental Health
Publication Date: 2015
Encyclopedia of Primary Prevention and Health Promotion
Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of Sexuality and Gender
ISBN: 3319595318
Publication Date: 2020
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
Publication Date: 2015
The Routledge International Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology: Volume 1, Theoretical and Methodological Concepts.
Publication Date: 2020
The Routledge International Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology: Volume 2, Applied and Practical Measures.
Publication Date: 2020
The Wiley Encyclopedia of Health Psychology
Publication Date: 2020

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 80 leading medical textbooks plus an extensive multimedia library, Diagnosaurus differential diagnosis tool, patient education materials, practice guidelines, diagnostic tests and an integrated drug database.
Updated regularly. A collection of over 80 leading medical textbooks plus an extensive multimedia library, Diagnosaurus differential diagnosis tool, patient education materials, practice guidelines, diagnostic tests and an integrated drug database. AccessMedicine also features self-assessment tools, Lange Case Files series, and online learning tools for medical education and board exams review. Featured textbooks include: Harrison’s Online, Tintinalli’s Emergency Medicine, Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine, and Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery.
Create a free My Access account while logged in to access content without additional logins or VPN required. My Access also enables creation and saving of practice tests, saving and downloading images.
ClinicalAccess This link opens in a new window
A clinical decision support tool providing targeted answers to more than 120,000 questions encountered at the point of care. Also includes over 20,000 images, videos, algorithms and other media.
Updated regularly. This resource is now part of AccessMedicine. A clinical decision support tool providing targeted answers to more than 120,000 questions encountered at the point of care. ClinicalAccess also inclues over 20,000 images, videos, algorithms and other media integrated into the answer to enhance understanding of the topic.
Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to key medical reference sources and textbooks.
Updated regularly. Provides full text access to key medical reference sources and textbook and includes Board Vitals. Stat!Ref is now part of TDS Health.

Medline Plus: Sports Fitness
Medline Plus is a portal to a huge collection of sport and exercise related Internet resources that cover everything from the latest research news, hot topics in sports training, exercise statistics, etc.
Women's Sports Foundation
The Women’s Sports Foundation was established in 1974 to advance the lives of women and girls through sports.
Nutrient Data Laboratory
Includes searchable USDA nutrient database via the US Deptartment of Agriculture.
Health.gov Dietary Guidelines
This is a joint publication from the Department of Human Services (HHS) and the US Department of Agriculture (USDA).
USDA Food Data Central
Searchable database of nutrition values for over 5900 foods.
Office of Dietary Supplements
This is a collaboration between the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements and the National Library of Medicine.
Coaching Science Abstracts
These abstracts interpret research articles for practicing coaches and others interested in applied sport science.

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-5-TR
Publication Date: 2022

Print
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5
Publication Date: 2013

Print and ebook
DSM-5 Guidebook
ISBN: 9781585624652

Publication Date: 2014

Print
The Conceptual Evolution of DSM-5
Publication Date: 2010

Print
DSM-5 Clinical Cases
Publication Date: 2013

Print and ebook
SCID-5-PD
Publication Date: 2015

Print

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
A database with an extensive collection of sources about methodology. From quick definitions to entire handbooks dedicated to a specific methodology, this is a great place to find more about research methods.
A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Contains content from over 720 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, the entire “Little Green Book,” and ""Little Blue Book” series, two Major Works collating a selection of journal articles, and specially commissioned videos. Researchers can explore methods and concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since Sage Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
For Tips and Tutorials, please see the Sage Research Methods Tutorials page and the Sage Research Methods LibGuide.

Select books about research methods that aren't included in Sage Research Methods...

Co-Creating and Co-producing Research Evidence: A Guide for Practitioners and Academics in Health, Social Care and Education Settings. by Dorothy Newbury-Birch and Keith Allan (Editors)
Publication Date: 2019
Conducting and Reading Research in Kinesiology by Ted A. Baumgartner, Larry D. Hensley, Weimo Zhu, and Pamela Hodges Kulinna.
Publication Date: 2021
Health Behavior: Theory, Research, and Practice. by Karen Glanz (Editor); Barbara K. Rimer (Editor); K. Viswanath (Editor)
Publication Date: 2015
Measurement and Evaluation in Physical Activity Applications: xercise Science, Physical Education, Coaching, Athletic Training, and Health. by Phillip A. Bishop
Publication Date: 2018
Nursing and Health Interventions by Souraya Sidani; Carrie Jo Braden
Publication Date: 2021
Repeated Measures Design for Empirical Researchers by J. P. Verma
Publication Date: 2015
Statistics for Sports and Exercise Science by John Newell; Tom Aitchison; Stanley Grant
Publication Date: 2014

You can find additional books about research methods in kinesiology and health education in our Library Catalog.

Conducting Your Literature Review by Susanne Hempel
Publication Date: 2019
Demystifying Academic Writing by Zhihui Fang
Publication Date: 2021
Dissertation Solutions: A Concise Guide to Planning, Implementing, and Surviving the Dissertation Process. by Bradley Axelrod and James Windell
Publication Date: 2012
Literature Review and Research Design by Dave Harris
Publication Date: 2019
Mastering Academic Writing in the Sciences by Marialuisa Aliotta
Publication Date: 2018
Successful Academic Writing by Anneliese A. Singh and Lauren Lukkarila
Publication Date: 2017
Writing Empirical Research Reports by Melisa C. Galvan and Fred Pyrczak
Publication Date: 2016
Writing Literature Reviews by Jose L. Galvan and Melisa C. Galvan
Publication Date: 2017
Writing Skills for Education Students by Charlotte Barrow and Rebecca Westrup

You'll find additional books about academic writing in our Library Catalog.

Why use background information?

Background information, from sources like encyclopedias, provides a general overview of a research topic. You'll learn important terms, concepts, events and theories, and you'll pinpoint key authors and studies.

This type of knowledge is especially helpful as you develop your research questions and gauge the scope of what you'll study. You'll also get a sense of the lingo and vocabulary you will need to develop good database searches and understand the literature you find.