Home - Some Basics for Finding Technical Reports - Technical Reports - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Welcome

Looking for a specific report? Please contact me if you need help.

Technical reports are often sponsored by a governmental agency (e.g. NASA), an academic institution, or by a company (e.g. HP). Some reports are freely available on the Internet and others are available from libraries, but others may be found only by contacting an author (or with other detective work) or never located.

On the left are links with specific information on finding NASA and NACA reports. Additionally:

Recommended sites:

NTRL: National Technical Reports Library
NTIS is the more familiar name. Indexing, often with full-text, of technical reports. Many of these are reports sponsored by agencies of the U.S. federal government but coverage is broad. Indexing of about 3 million titles, with coverage back to the early 1900s.
OSTI.GOV
"OSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for DOE (Department of Energy) science, technology, and engineering research and development results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information. It consolidates OSTI’s home page and our now retired primary search tool SciTech Connect."
TRID: the TRIS and ITRD database
"TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than 1.25 million records of transportation research worldwide."
rosaP
Repository of the United States Department of Transportation. Including technical reports, statistical publications, historical materials, accident investigations, and datasets.
Defense Technical Information Center
We'd prefer to send you directly to: https://www.dtic.mil/. But the site gives a security warning and it seems better to see that AFTER going through the information page. Here you can search declassified reports available from the Department of Defense. Many offer full text.
Fisheries Gray Literature Database
From the American Fisheries Society. Reports from "State and Federal agencies, tribes, and non-government organizations."
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Digital Library
There's a link for the technical report collection but you may also be interested in the other parts of the library.
TRAIL: Technical Report Archive & Image Library
The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports. Coverage began with a focus on pre-1976 materials but also covers newer items.

Special Help

Technical Reports Collections - The Library of Congress Science, Technology & Business Division.
Engineering Societies Papers: Searching for Papers - From the Linda Hall Library. The Linda Hall Library received the holdings of the Engineering Societies Library when it dissolved in 1995. These holdings included difficult-to-find papers --- usually conference papers --- from major engineering societies. The societies had well-developed conventions for assigning paper numbers; this can disguise the fact that they are actually papers from conferences.