Skip to Main Content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

BA 324 - Business Communication

Market Research Reports

Market Research Reports - Overview

The University of Texas at Austin – Libraries subscribes to the following resources which will provide market research reports for academic use. The University Libraries will not purchase market research reports that are not included within our subscription databases. The University Libraries is prohibited from purchasing market research reports for individuals or groups affiliated with the University of  Texas at Austin.
BCC Research: Reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology Mintel: Reports discuss market drivers, market size & trends, market segmentation, supply structure, advertising and promotion, retail distribution, consumer characteristics, and market forecasts.
Investext: Provides analyst reports from investment banks and financial research firms. Covering public & private companies and industries & markets worldwide.
Statista: Provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.
MarketLine Advantage: Provides industry reports which contain the following information; Market Overview, Market Data, Market Segmentation, Market Outlook. Technavio: Provides online technology research and advisory content with global coverage. It focuses on emerging technology trends that can shape the market.
MarketResearch.com Academic: Detailed market research reports from leading sources — Kalorama Information, Icon Group International, Packaged Facts and SBI.  

WARNING:

When working on projects that involve individuals who are not University of Texas at Austin students you are prohibited from sharing market research reports. You may only summarize or paraphrase the data.

 

Market Research Report - Databases

Reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology.

Investext contains current and historical market research reports.

How to locate market information:

  • Select the “+” before Keywords in the Search Criteria box.
  • Search Headline
  • To search using AND operator, please use comma to separate the keyword.
  • Example: Eye, Makeup, Market
  • Click Submit and then View to see results.

MarketLine Advantage: Provides industry reports which contain the following information; Market Overview, Market Data, Market Segmentation, Market Outlook.
Select Industry Profiles from the drop-down menu.

Topics:

  • Food & Beverage
  • Technology & Media
  • Heavy Industry
  • Demographics
  • Life Science
  • Consumer Goods
  • Service Industries
  • Public Sector

 

For each report, Mintel conducts an online consumer survey based on an average sample size of 2000 internet users. The survey findings are summarized into a downloadable EXCEL file called "Databook", which includes comprehensive product use and consumer behavior data for that specific market.
 
NOTE: Only USA reports dated 2015 - present will have a downloadable "Databook" report. Starting in 2018, in addition to the excel file, the reports have a "Interactive Databook" which allows users to explore the consumer research questions and demographics in a more efficient way. New features include enhanced data visualization, download/share individual tables/graphs, etc.​

Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.

WARNING: If you are working on projects which involve persons who are not University of Texas at Austin students you are prohibited from sharing TechNavio reports. 

Step 1: Select "View Full Abstract" or "View Full Report"

Step 2: Select Get PDF from column on left-hand side of the page, report will not display. Enter your University of Texas at Austin email address. Reports will be sent via email within one business day.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.