Skip to Main Content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

BA 324 - Business Communication

Industry Reports

Industry Reports - Overview

The University of Texas at Austin – Libraries subscribes to the following resources which will provide industry reports for academic use. The University Libraries will not purchase industry  reports that are not included within our subscription databases. The University Libraries is prohibited from purchasing industry reports for individuals or groups affiliated with the University of  Texas at Austin.
BCC Research: Reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, medical and biotechnology. MarketResearch.com Academic: Detailed market research reports from leading sources — Kalorama Information, Icon Group International, Packaged Facts and SBI.
IBISWorld: Provides industry research reports and offers the very latest content on every U.S. industry. Each report has key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more. Statista: Provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.
Investext: Provides analyst reports from investment banks and financial research firms. Covering public & private companies and industries & markets worldwide. Technavio: Provides online technology research and advisory content with global coverage. It focuses on emerging technology trends that can shape the market.
MarketLine Advantage: Provides in-depth industry profiles and all reports contain a “Five Forces Analysis” section.  

WARNING:

When working on projects that involve individuals who are not University of Texas at Austin students you are prohibited from sharing industry research reports. You may only summarize or paraphrase the data.

 

Industry Research Report Databases

Reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology.

IBISWorld: Industry profiles on 700+ US niche industries including information on Barriers to Entry.

Investext contains current and historical industry research reports. 

How to locate industry information:
  • Select the "+" before Industry in the Search Criteria box.
  • Use INDUSTRY Lookup tool to target an industry from the pop-up window or type the industry topic in the search box.
  • Make a selection and/or click submit.
  • Select the "+" before Report Style.
  • Type Industry Reports and select.
  • Click Submit and then View
Review the search strategy below which demonstrates how to find Biotechnology Industry Reports.

MarketLine Advantage has industry reports with Porter's 5 Forces Analysis.
Select Industry Profiles from the drop-down menu.

Topics:

  • Food & Beverage
  • Technology & Media
  • Heavy Industry
  • Demographics
  • Life Science
  • Consumer Goods
  • Service Industries
  • Public Sector

 

Mergent Online Industry Analysis section contains industry reports produced by FTSE Russell. Select "Reports" from the tool bar and then choose your industry focus.

 

Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.

WARNING: If you are working on projects which involve persons who are not University of Texas at Austin students you are prohibited from sharing TechNavio reports. You may summarize or paraphrase the data, only.

Technavio reports cannot be downloaded, you must first select and request a specific report. When you are prompted supply your University of Texas at Austin email address. Reports will be sent via email within one business day.

Step 1: Mouse over the report image click on the Quick Look "eye" symbol to reveal the abstract.

Step 2: Select "View Full Abstract" or "View Full Report"

Step 3: Select Get PDF from column on left-hand side of the page, report will not display. Enter your University of Texas at Austin email address. Reports will be sent via email within one business day.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.