Complete catalogues or selected recordings of over 940 labels.
Comprehensive classical music streaming platform, with complete catalogues or selected recordings of over 940 labels, a wide range of standard and specialized repertoire, and new albums added every month. Includes music notes, cover artwork, tracklist, instrumentation, and publisher information; libretti of over 65 and synopses of nearly 1000 operas; biographies; aural training exercises; study guides; interactive dictionary; and more.
Online listening for more than 4,000 albums from Albany Records, New World Records, Composers Recordings, Inc. (CRI) and other labels.
A digital library of recordings of important American and international repertoire. Source materials include CDs, LPs, broadcast tapes and archival recordings. Based on the catalogs of New World and Composers Recordings. Partners include Albany Records, Artifact Recordings, Cedille Records, Cold Blue Music, Deep Listening, Frog Peak Music, innova Recordings, Mutable Music, Pogus Productions, and XI.
In addition to high quality sound files, DRAM has full liner notes, scholarly articles and other research materials.
Contains over 7 million tracks from almost 70,000 albums across a range of genres.
Provides access to a streaming audio collection that supports the teaching and research of music. It currently includes access to over 7 million tracks from almost 70,000 albums, with new titles added each month. Music Online: Listening provides coverage in breadth and depth across all the key musical genres:
Classical: All major genres and time periods from medieval to contemporary, from choral works to symphonies, operas, and the avant-garde.
Jazz: All major genres including vocal jazz, bebop, acid jazz, big band, modern jazz, and more.
World: Music from 169 countries and more than 1,000 cultural groups.
American: Country, folk, jazz, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, R&B, and shape note singing.
Popular: Wide range of popular music from around the world that is not available in our genre-specific collections.
Online collection brings together audio recordings from field expeditions around the world, particularly from the 1960s through the 1980s. It consists primarily of field recordings, along with selections of contextualizing field notes, photographs, and film. At completion, it will contain over 2,000 hours of audio field recordings, as well as 10,000 pages of text, 5,000 photographs, and 200 hours of field film footage.
Includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels.
Provides a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. Includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. Also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies. Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings.
Presenting content from across the globe, this diverse and comprehensive resource features thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study, including sites in West Africa, North America, South East Asia and more.
Student Access offers University of Texas users instant access to more than 550 full-length Met performances, including stunning HD videos from the Met’s award-winning Live in HD series of movie theater transmissions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, ‘80s, and ‘90s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1935. The site and its content are fully accessible on most mobile devices (smartphones and tablets) directly through the website as well. All videos include English subtitles, and recent HD videos include subtitles in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and/or Swedish. New titles are added every month, with most of the Met’s Live in HD programs coming online a few months after their live transmission date. Every opera includes an English synopsis, with synopses in multiple languages available for many operas.
Stream classical music videos, live events, festivals, opera, concerts, ballet, master classes, artist portraits, and more.
The world's leading classical music channel, medici.tv features over 1,800 programs and more than 100 live events broadcast each year. Content includes music festivals (such as the Verbier, Salzburg, and Lucerne), concerts from baroque through contemporary music (Berlin, New York Philharmonic orchestras, the Concertgebouw, Carnegie Hall recitals, etc.), operas (including Paris and La Scala), ballets, workshops and master classes with renowned artists (from Juilliard, Heidelberg, and elsewhere), competitions (the Tchaikovsky from Moscow), documentaries, artist portraits, and archived performances.
Video of 250 commonly studied operas from contemporary productions featuring the world's best performers, conductors, and opera houses.
Updated regularly until completion. Scheduled to contain 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon. The collection presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes. Multiple performances and stagings worldwide of the major operas allow for analysis of stage design, vocal techniques, roles, and musical interpretation across time periods, opera houses, and conductors.
Performances will cover the full range of operatic composition, from the Baroque to the 20th century.
Specially developed controlled vocabularies let users browse by composer, genre, performer, ensemble, time period, and role.
This streaming service has a catalog of over 30,000 titles covering various educational topics and feature films for some 800 producers including Criterion, Documentary Educational Resources, New Day Films, Media Education, California Newsreel, PBS and others.
This streaming service has a catalog of over 30,000 titles covering various educational topics and feature films for some 800 producers including Criterion, Documentary Educational Resources, New Day Films, Media Education, California Newsreel, PBS and others.
Titles streamed by Kanopy are available either directly from the library catalog or from the UT Kanopy interface linked above. Some titles on the UT Kanopy interface are not immediately available to UT community for streaming. Those titles for which we do not hold streaming rights could be requested by filling in a request form. This form would appear on your screen and forwarded to a staff member for consideration. Given our limited funds, we emphasize study and research needs when making purchase decisions.
Includes Broadway, opera, musical theatre, symphonic and chamber music, as well as interviews and documentaries.
Full length British theatre productions, interviews with cast and crew, and documentaries about the production. Includes productions from Shakespeare to contemporary plays, with teaching guides. This database also includes Broadway HD, opera, musical theatre, dance/ballet, symphonic and chamber music, as well as theatre from Russia and 20+ from South Asia, and film shorts.
Dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, modern and improvisational dance.
Updated regularly until completion. Contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover performances of ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Included are classic performances from top ballet companies and experimental works from up-and-coming dance troupes. Dance in Video, Vol. IV includes Dancio, “an exceptional catalog of world-class instructors each offering Dancio expertise across an array of diverse dance styles ranging from ballet to contemporary.”
Coverage varies (Requires an account, see More for details). 25 users.
UT Austin students, faculty and staff only. In order to use this resource, you must first create an account. New users can create a profile using an online form that provides Saarey Music with your name, email address and a password of your own choosing; however, the email address must include the @austin.utexas.edu domain. Addresses from other domains [e.g., @yahoo.com, @gmail.com, @utexas.net] will not be accepted. Please Log Out when done.
Saarey Music provides streaming access to over 60 years of South Asian classical music, including such artists as Roshan Ara Begum, Ustad Amanat Ali & Ustad Fateh Ali Khan, Ustad Sharif Khan Poonchwala, Ustad M. Hussain Sarahang, and more. Genres represented in Saarey include Dhurpad, Thumri, Kafi, Tarana, and Ghazal.
