Skip to Main Content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

OnRamps History: For Instructors

A guide for OnRamps History Instructors on UT Austin Libraries access, information literacy and pedagogical resources.

Teaching History

Online Resources and Lesson Plans for Instructors

Library Of Congress

The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching. Find Library of Congress lesson plans and more that meet Common Core standards, state content standards, and the standards of national organizations.

National Archives, DocsTeach

Read to use tools for teaching with documents in the classroom. Thousands of primary sources selected from the National Archives.

National Archives, Teaching with Documents page

Reproducible copies of primary documents from the holdings of the National Archives of the United States, teaching activities correlated to the National History Standards and National Standards for Civics and Government, and cross-curricular connections.

Teaching Channel

Teaching Channel is a video showcase -- online and on TV -- of inspired and effective teaching practices. (from Teaching Channel website)

Digital Public Library of America Exhibitions

These digitized exhibits collect a range of primary materials related to American history, sourced from libraries, archives, and museums from across the United States.

Merlot

An exemplary resource that links to online learning materials. Includes annotations, peer reviews, and links to related assignments all searchable by subject, target age-group, and material type.

Find Articles

While many good resources can indeed be found on the free web (Google), it is important to teach students the value and benefits of library databases and how to use them.

Discuss the similarities and differences with your students.

  • Google searches are run by proprietary algorithms. Factors such as location and past search history will impact the results, and companies use search engine optimization and money to boost their position within the results.
  • Library databases will retrieve scholarly sources and provide access to subscription-only material from thousands of publications. We want students to be savvy in finding and evaluating information in multiple places and formats.

Use the tabs to direct your students to different types of information - make sure to let them know what they will find in each type and why they should consult those resources.

To find scholarly articles related to your topic, search through these essential, comprehensive humanities databases. 

Some of these databases are focused on topics related to U.S. History and contain scholarship and secondary sources. Other databases focus on articles from history adjacent disciplines that may be helpful to explore more of your topic. 

U.S. Studies Librarian

Online Books on Teaching History

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.