LibGuides: OnRamps History: For Instructors: Find Opinions, Editorials, and Viewpoints

Where to Search

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
1990 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new window
1970 - present. 4 users.
Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press in America. Includes a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society, such as ecology and the environment, grassroots organizing, labor, indigenous peoples, and public policy.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
1985 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America (some international coverage). Includes more than 400,000 full-text articles from 200 publications.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
1980 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Provides full text access to differing points of view on current social issues. Brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles, as well as links to more than 1,800 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
60 day archive. 3 users.
Updated daily. Provides a full-color and full-page collection of newspapers from around the world,. Includes over 1000 titles from Europe, Asia, the Middle East, Latin America, and the United States. A 60-day archive is also available to browse by country, language, and newspaper title, and to search full text of articles, photograph captions, and headlines.
Once inside the newspaper, click on a headline to read the article or zoom in to read the article as it appears in print.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
1990 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new window
1970 - present. 4 users.
Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press in America. Includes a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society, such as ecology and the environment, grassroots organizing, labor, indigenous peoples, and public policy.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
1985 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America (some international coverage). Includes more than 400,000 full-text articles from 200 publications.
OpinionArchives This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
OpinionArchives includes the searchable full text of:
- The American Spectator (1967-current)
- Commonweal (1924-current)
- Harper's (1850-current)
- LaFollettes (1919-1929)
- The Nation (1865-current)
- The New Leader (1924-current)
- The New Republic (1914-current)
- The New Yorker (1925-current)
- The Progressive (1909-current)
- The Weekly Standard (1995-current)
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
1980 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Provides full text access to differing points of view on current social issues. Brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles, as well as links to more than 1,800 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites.
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new window
1770 - 2000. Unlimited users.
Updated annually. A major archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online. Contains over 700 journals comprising more than 3 million articles and 15 million article pages. The scope is international and multi-disciplinary, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.

Add site:.org to your Google search to find organizations that take controversial stands on issues (ex: standardized testing site:.org)

IssueLab
Reports about social issues from non-profit organizations

Association of American Editorial Cartoonists
Includes political cartoons on current topics from many national and local newspapers
Google Image Search
Don’t forget to find the original source of your cartoon to cite it

Search Tips

When searching newspaper sites and databases, check for an option to limit your search to the Opinion/Editorial section or political cartoons.
If there is no limiting option, try adding the word "editorial" to your search terms (ex: Iraq War and editorial). Or try adding "political cartoon".
Remember to evaluate the credibility of all websites you use in your research.

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required