LibGuides: Texas Innovation Center Resources and Support: Books, News Updates, & Research Papers

Using Databases to Find News Articles and Research Papers

Whether you are after one good paper or need a comprehensive search of the literature, we recommend using library tools designed to help with the search.

Finding the right database(s) for searching:

Our Database list has sorting options to allow selections by subject, type of database, and publisher.
Indexes is the database type for finding both the tools that index the research literature and less technical articles but it is a big set unless narrowed by subject.

The Guides by Subject list lets you see databases recommended by library subject specialists.

These databases are good choices for help in finding articles on entrepreneurial topics:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Good coverage across subjects. Not for conference coverage.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
"Offering the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels." Includes "Wall Street Journal" full-text.
Updated daily. In-depth coverage of business issues, management techniques, competitive information, and a variety of other topics.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
For business research and for more popular coverage.
Updated monthly. A scholarly business database providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included.

Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals. Contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database.

Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
Indexes the research literature of engineering across disciplines. An example of a specialized subject index --- there are many more.
Updated weekly. Ei Compendex indexes the research literature of the field of engineering. The product contains more than 17 million total records. Over a million new records, with abstracts, are added per year. More than 3,600 journals and 4,100 conference publications and trade magazines are currently indexed. Customizable e-mail or RSS alerts are available.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
A business-oriented news service. Includes indexing and full-text of the Wall Street Journal.
Updated daily. A global information resource, providing full-text access to top national and international newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal), newswires, business journals, market research reports, analysts reports and web sites. Contains over 8000 publications with content from 118 countries in 22 languages.
This database was formerly called Dow Jones Interactive.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.

For more on selecting databases and for tips on searching, see Library Databases for Finding Journal Articles -- including information on finding non-research articles.

Finding Books at UT

Use the library catalog to find books in the collections of the UT Libraries.
Keyword searching is the default but searches can be focused by selecting other options, including a specific author search or limiting by date or location.
Most of us like keyword searching since it lets us use the words we know. Especially if you aren't seeing results of the kind you want, be sure to try other words and approaches. Google Books (see the sidebar) can help.
Subject headings, when provided, can help you move from one good book to other, related books. E-books often lack subject headings but the structure of the headings can still give inspiration. Some examples: "Organizational change," "Government spending policy," "Urban ecology (sociology)," "State transportation agencies -- Management," Local transit -- Ridership.

Can’t find the book you wanted?

Request a copy thru InterLibrary Services (ILS) - ILS can obtain books, article scans, and other material not owned by the UT-Austin Libraries
Use the Suggest a Purchase form to request that a copy of the book be added to the library collection.

Plus, we've got a whole guide on the topic of using the catalog to find books.

Find Books
by UT Libraries TLS Last Updated Sep 15, 2021 951 views this year

Find It @ UT

If you see an offer to "Find it at UT" or otherwise find text, be sure to follow the link.

Finding a Journal, Magazine, or Newspaper

If you want to read articles from a particular serial -- journal, magazine, newspaper, or news source -- to find that title, go to the Journals search.

Google Books

Google Book Search This link opens in a new window
Use the power of Google to search inside books. If you want the book and UT doesn't have it, be sure to request a copy.
Updated daily. Searches complete text of books from selected library collections and publishers. Search works just like a regular Google search -- when book content contains a match for selected search terms, Google provides links to it in the search results. Depending on a few factors, Google displays everything from a few short excerpts to the entire book.

Each book includes an "About this book" page with basic bibliographic data like title, author, publication date, length and subject. For some books, additional information like key terms and phrases, references to the book from scholarly publications or other books, chapter titles and a list of related books.