LibGuides: African Studies: Scholarly Journals and Articles

Databases

AfricaBib.org This link opens in a new window
AfricaBib is a combination of databases providing access to periodical and other material on Africa. Some results are only citations of articles. If you cannot access full text, search for the article title in our UT Libraries search to find a full text option elsewhere.
Composed of three main databases:
- The Africana Periodical Literature Bibliographic Database indexes over 60,000 articles from over 500 English-language and multilingual journals and periodicals that specialize in African Studies or consistently cover the African continent, with some full text.
- The African Women Bibliographic Database indexes books and government documents; articles appearing in edited books; periodical and journal articles; Masters theses and Ph.D. dissertations; a few B.A. theses and honors papers; conference papers; and videocassettes; and contains over 35,000 citations from 1985 to present.
- The Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa Database indexes almost 2000 citations from 1763 onward. The resource also links to African Journals Online (AJOL), African Studies Abstracts Online (ASA), the catalog of the African Studies Centre of Leiden, and the Digital Innovation South Africa (DISA) project.

African Journals Online (AJOL)
The world's largest online library of peer-reviewed, African published scholarly journals, 416 of which are open access.

International African Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
IABO is a leading specialist bibliography of African Studies. It contains 140,000 entries from the International African Bibliography published in the years 1971 to 2015, and about 4,000 new entries will be added every year. Results are only citations of articles. To access a full text version, search for the article title in our UT Libraries search to find a full text option elsewhere.
Updated quarterly. The International African Bibliography Online (IABO) is a leading specialist bibliography of African Studies. It contains 140,000 entries from the International African Bibliography published in the years 1971 to 2015, and about 4,000 new entries will be added every year. The bibliography is searchable by authors, editors, titles, publication years, ISSN/ISBN, keywords, full text, and categories such as regions and countries or the African Diaspora

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
1990 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
1990 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Journals: Updated as issues are published. Project MUSE is a leading provider of humanities and social science content for the scholarly community, with complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Books: Selected titles from university presses and scholarly societies. All content from the print edition of the book is included in the digital edition. There are no DRM restrictions.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
late 19th century - present. Unlimited users.
Updated quarterly. Brings together into one searchable resource Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from Royal Anthropological Institute in the UK. Provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. A Source Titles List is available.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1955 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Contains citations and abstracts of worldwide literature (excluding the United States and Canada) from approximately 2,100 journals and (since 1980) books and dissertations on political, diplomatic, economic, social, cultural and intellectual history and related areas of the social sciences and humanities. Covers history dating from 1450 to the present. The database corresponds to the print Historical Abstracts, which was produced by ABC-CLIO.
MLA International Bibliography
1926 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
World Bank Publications This link opens in a new window
1946 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. An online collection of more than 130,000 World Bank documents and publications. Browsing or searching provides access to the documents in both text and downloadable PDF format.
The World Bank is one of the United Nations' specialized agencies, and is made up of 187 member countries. All World Bank publications and research working papers are now assigned with DOIs (Digital Object Identifiers).

Screenshot showing a box around the main library search bar. A second box is drawn around the Articles & More link.

Start searching with the big search box on the library homepage.

It searches most but not all the library's resources and will show results across six different categories: Articles & More, Books & Media, Journals, Databases, Research Guides, and the Library Website.

A more targeted place to search is at the link for Articles & More beneath the search bar.

On the left toolbar in an Articles & More search, check these boxes for credible & relevant results:

Peer-Reviewed Journals

If you want to narrow even more, try these options to filter:

Resource Type
Subject
Creation Date

Keep an eye on the number of your search results. Start browsing when you feel you have a manageable number of results to skim through.

Are you getting too many results?

Use the word AND (in all-caps) between your search terms.

latinos AND "civil rights"
"american revolution" AND family

Search for a Specific Phrase

Put quotations around a group of words like "united states" to retrieve results with that exact wording.

Do you need more results?

Use the word OR (in all-caps) between your search terms.

19th century OR nineteenth century
realise OR realize

Use an * at the end of a word to search for all forms of that word.

educat* will return results for education, educator, educated, educating;etc.
environment* will also return results for environmentalism and environmentalist

An * can also be used to replace a character in a word.

wom*n will search for women and woman

Do you need more relevant results?

Use the word NOT (in all-caps) between your search terms.

UT NOT Tennessee
advertisement NOT magazine

Try grouping the above strategies in a single search:

(children OR adolescents) AND disability AND (19th century OR nineteenth century)

Article Not Available Online?

If we don't have a book or article you need, we can still get it for you through Interlibrary Services.

To request a scan of an article or book chapter, use our service to have a PDF scan emailed to you within 1-3 business days.

How much is it? Its free!

How many times can you do this? There is no limit to the number of individual requests you can make. However, you can only request up to 3 chapters from one book.

Select Journals

Africa Bibliography
Large and authoritative guide to works in African studies; Publications principally in the social and environmental sciences, humanities and arts, and some items from the medical, biological and natural sciences are recorded. In 2022, the journal merged with African Bibliography, Research and Documentation. Online Access 2009-2020, Print Access 1984-2010
Africa: The Journal of the International African Institute
African Affairs
African Development Review
African Studies Review
Journal of African History
Journal of Contemporary African Studies
The Journal of Modern African Studies