LibGuides: Middle Eastern Studies: Databases and Indexes

Databases & Indexes for Middle Eastern Studies

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
1865 - present. Unlimited users.

Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1955 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Contains citations and abstracts of worldwide literature (excluding the United States and Canada) from approximately 2,100 journals and (since 1980) books and dissertations on political, diplomatic, economic, social, cultural and intellectual history and related areas of the social sciences and humanities. Covers history dating from 1450 to the present. The database corresponds to the print Historical Abstracts, which was produced by ABC-CLIO.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
1973 - present. Unlimited users.
Monthly updates, with about 14,000 new records added a year. Indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new window
1770 - 2000. Unlimited users.
Updated annually. A major archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online. Contains over 700 journals comprising more than 3 million articles and 15 million article pages. The scope is international and multi-disciplinary, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Journals: Updated as issues are published. Project MUSE is a leading provider of humanities and social science content for the scholarly community, with complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Books: Selected titles from university presses and scholarly societies. All content from the print edition of the book is included in the digital edition. There are no DRM restrictions.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
1900 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
1865 - present. Unlimited users.

Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
1970 - present. Unlimited users.

Updated daily. Contains bibliographic citations with some abstracts covering agriculture, animal husbandry, animal and human nutrition, forestry, plant pathology, plant science, human ecology, agricultural economics and rural sociology. Includes journal articles, books, state extension and experiment station publications and USDA documents.
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
1974 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated six times a year. Provides abstracts of the current literature of modern art, photography and design. Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry and illustration, as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing. The database corresponds to the print ARTbibliographies Modern.
To find information about an artist, try browse indexes then select the subject/artist index.
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
1949 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated twice per year. Comprehensive index to religious, theological and related scholarship covering over 1,380 journal titles internationally, as well as 13,000 multi-authored books and reviews. There are a total of over 847,000 citations. Full text is available from more than seventy journals selected by leading religion scholars in the United States. Coverage is comprehensive back to 1949, and includes earlier data for the Methodist Reviews Index.
Access to full text portion of this resource is funded by the the Louise Farmer Boyer Chair in Biblical Studies.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
1934 (with selective coverage back to 1741) - current. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, U.S. state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Includes obituary citations.
Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new window
1973 - 2007. Unlimited users.
Updated quarterly. Covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present and contemporary art worldwide. Indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals. Bibliography of the History of Art includes and extends the coverage of its two predecessor art indexes: RAA (Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie) and RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art).
De Gruyter eBooks This link opens in a new window
Selected titles. Unlimited users.
Includes selected eBook titles from de Gruyter and publishers using their platform, such as Harvard University Press. Allows unlimited access for licensed titles, which are identified by a small green box with a check mark. Titles may be read online with Adobe Reader. Both chapters and the entire book may be downloaded in PDF or saved; some may be available in EPUB format.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
1861 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Contains more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Provides full text for many dissertations and theses, including most done after 1997. All subject areas are covered. The database includes more than 90 percent of the doctoral dissertations accepted each year in North America with selective coverage for other parts of the world. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Only bibliographic citations are available for earlier years. More than 55,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Many dissertations from The University of Texas at Austin are included in the database, though theses from the University are only rarely included.

ProQuest recommends using Firefox, IE or Safari for your browser for this resource.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. User restrictions vary by book.
Provides access to select books.

Users need to login via EID in order to use Ebook Central even if they are on campus.

Ebook Central can be accessed using a standard Internet browser. The Safari browser is recommended for Mac users.

Ebook Central provides books in Adobe PDF format, and works best with Acrobat Reader version 9 or later.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Provides access to select books from leading university, academic and professional publishers.

EBSCO provides books in Adobe PDF format, so in order to view books online, you will need the correct version of Adobe Reader installed on your computer.

You may also need an EBSCO account which is free.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
ERIC: Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
1966 (selected full text from 1993) - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Provides a digital library of education-related resources. Contains over 1.1 million citations covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education.

Also includes more than 107,000 full text non-journal documents indexed by the ERIC database. Approximately one-half of the entries in the ERIC database are to ERIC documents. Microfiche copies of ERIC documents, including those prior to 1996, are in the Collections Deposit Library (CDL) Microforms Collection at MCFICHE 4913.
FRANCIS & PASCAL This link opens in a new window
1972 - 2015. Unlimited users.
FRANCIS covers a wide range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities and social sciences from 1972-2015. It is strong in religion, the history of art, and literature (with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature). PASCAL covers the fields of science, technology, and medicine from 1984-2015. Searching by classification is based on the Pascal and Francis classification schemes.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Fully searchable across all files.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides a collection of legal periodicals, reproducing the original image of each article. Includes over 1,200 law review journals containing more than 600,000 articles from 21,000 volumes.

Also provides access to the following:
- Federal Register
- Statutes at Large (the official source for the laws and resolutions passed by Congress, browseable by volume, popular name or treaty)
- U.S. Supreme Court Library
Access to this resource is funded by the Tarlton Law Library at the Jamail Center for Legal Research.

Restricted to current UT students, faculty and staff. Not available to Official UT Retirees
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1955 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Contains citations and abstracts of worldwide literature (excluding the United States and Canada) from approximately 2,100 journals and (since 1980) books and dissertations on political, diplomatic, economic, social, cultural and intellectual history and related areas of the social sciences and humanities. Covers history dating from 1450 to the present. The database corresponds to the print Historical Abstracts, which was produced by ABC-CLIO.
Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. A digital collection of over 5,000 full-text titles offered by the ACLS (The American Council of Learned Societies) in collaboration with twenty learned societies, over 100 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan’s Scholarly Publishing Office. A fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars and featuring unlimited multi-user access and free, downloadable MARC records.
Human Rights Library This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides free access to the full text of over 60,000 documents, including major human rights treaties and international instruments, United Nations documents, research guides on specific human rights topics, and resources for researching conditions in particular countries and regions of the world. Also includes links to human rights resources on more than 4,000 other websites.
Human Rights Studies Online This link opens in a new window
1900 - 2010. Unlimited users.
Provides access to primary and secondary materials (including 75,000 pages of text and 150 hours of video) on human rights issues in the 20th and early 21st centuries in Africa, Asia, Europe, United States, and Latin America. Subject coverage includes Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, Sierra Leone, and dirty wars in Latin America.
IGI Global Books This link opens in a new window
Selected titles. Unlimited users.
Selected titles only. Books are available in PDF and HTML versions, and chapters may be downloaded without DRM restrictions.
IGI Global books focus on four areas:
- Business, Administration and Management
- Communications, Social Sciences and Healthcare
- Library Science, Information Studies and Education Science
- Engineering and Information Technology
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
International Debt Statistics This link opens in a new window
1970 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated annually. Provides a comprehensive view of prospects from the global economy along with the implications for developing countries' external finance. Presents detailed data for 128 countries that report public and publicly guaranteed debt under the World Bank Debtor Reporting System. You can access the data through the dataBank, as an ebook, or in Excel or CSV formats.
World Bank Terms of Use
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
1990 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides indexing and abstracts for over 500 (with full text for 400) military and general interest publications.
Missionary and Charity Periodicals, 1793-1902 This link opens in a new window
1793 - 1902. Unlimited users.
The Missionary and Charity Periodicals, 1793-1902 collection focuses on missionary and charity work undertaken by various faith groups. All Christian churches engaged in forms of outreach to groups or individuals who were in need, and this outreach was often inseparable from sharing a religious message and mission. The publications in this collection include those for both foreign and domestic missions and represent outreach to many different groups that include African-Americans, Native Americans, women, the poor, immigrants, and specific ethnic groups. Subjects include slavery, home missions, hospital work, and social problems.
MLA International Bibliography
1926 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies. Unlimited.
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 3,452,088 theses and dissertations.
PAIS This link opens in a new window
1915 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Covers selected journal articles, books, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, government documents, and microfiche. More than 1,600 journals and over 8,000 monographs are indexed each year. Includes documents published worldwide in any of six languages: English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The subject headings and abstracts are in English.
The PAIS Archive database comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. At completion of this conversion, the PAIS Archive contains over 1.23 million records.
RAND Documents This link opens in a new window
1948 - current. Unlimited users.
RAND is a nonprofit public policy research institution. It was established after World War II to study national security. In the 1960s it added domestic policy problems to its research agenda. Current areas of research and analysis include national defense, education and training, health care, criminal and civil justice, labor and population, science and technology, community development, international relations, and regional studies. This searchable archive includes more than 17,000 titles dating back to 1948. Some RAND documents are not included in this database. Search the Library Catalog or ask library staff for assistance to locate these.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Selected titles. Unlimited users.
Use the Login link at the top right and then choose the Shibboleth option and find the UT Austin option and login

If you are getting a page not found error when trying to download then please clear your browser cookies and cache or try using private browsing/incognito.

Includes former CRC titles. Allows downloading of the entire book or reading online. By checking the "Full Access Content Only" box during your search, you can identify titles owned by the Libraries relevant to the search. Some titles may have DRM restrictions.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
University of Michigan Press eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Selected titles. Unlimited users.
Comprehensive collection of the University of Michigan Press’s scholarly books. Subject areas include: performing arts, classical studies, political science, American studies (including disability and class studies), and Asian and African studies.

For more information on eBooks see the Ebook Guide
.
World dataBank This link opens in a new window
1960 - present. 1 user.
Updated regularly. Free access to more than 7,000 indicators from over 20 datasets on world development, including World Development Indicators and Global Development Finance. Dates of coverage begin in 1960 but vary by dataset and country. You can create reports with tables, charts, and maps and export the results in standard formats.
World Development Indicators (WDI) This link opens in a new window
1960 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated quarterly. An extensive collection of data about global development. Provides more than 550 times series covering demographic, social, economic, financial, natural resources and environmental topics for more than 200 countries and 18 country groups. You can access the data through the dataBank, as an ebook, or in Excel or CSV formats.
World Bank Terms of Use

Al-Monitor: The Pulse of the Middle East This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies. Unlimited users.

Updated daily. A new media site that provides access to newspaper articles from independent media partners throughout the Arab World, including Turkey, Israel, Egypt, the United Arab Emirates, and Iraq. Each day, editors translate Arabic, Hebrew, and Turkish reporting and commentary on politics and religion, business and economics, society and culture, and the arts and sports. The service has an international editorial board and also provides original reporting and commentary.
Al Ahram This link opens in a new window
1956 - 2014. Unlimited users.

Founded in 1875, Al-Ahram (الأهرام‎, “The Pyramids”) is one of the longest-running newspapers in the Middle East. It has long been regarded as Egypt’s most authoritative and influential newspaper, and one of the most important newspapers in the Arab world, with a circulation of over 1 million.
Brockelmann in English: The History of the Arabic Written Tradition Online This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
This online publication is the English translation of Brockelmann's famous Geschichte der Arabischen Litteratur (GAL). Brockelmann's work offers bio-bibliographic information about works written in Arabic and their authors, with an emphasis on the classical period. It is divided in chronologically organized sections, which are subdivided by literary genre. Individual entries typically consist of a biographical section and a list of the author's works in manuscript and print, with references to secondary literature.

Note: Not compatible with all web browsers. For best results use Chrome, Edge, or Firefox.
Brockelmann Online This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Brockelmann Online consists of both original volumes Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur (GAL) by Carl Brockelmann (1868-1956), as well as the three supplement volumes, including the indexes. Brockelmann’s Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur offers bio-bibliographic information about works written in Arabic and their authors, with an emphasis on the classical period. This originally multivolume reference work is divided in chronologically organized sections, which are subdivided by literary genre. Individual entries typically consist of a biographical section and a list of the author’s works in manuscript and print, with references to secondary literature.

Note: Not compatible with all web browsers. For best results use Chrome, Edge, or Firefox.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
1985 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America (some international coverage). Includes more than 400,000 full-text articles from 200 publications.
Foreign Office Files for the Middle East This link opens in a new window
1971-1981. Unlimited users.
Exploring complete runs of Foreign Office files, this collection reveals the UK’s exhaustive interest in the Middle East during the 1970s. Addresses the policies, economies, political relationships and significant events of every major Middle East power. Conflicts such as the Arab-Israeli War, the Lebanese Civil War and the Iranian Revolution are examined in detail, as are the military interventions and peace negotiations carried out by regional and foreign powers like the United States and Russia. Commercial interests are also scrutinised, with in-depth analyses of Middle East nations’ economic stability and reviews of international arm sales policies.
Search across Adam Matthew primary source databases using AM Explorer
Kotobarabia Arab Leaders, Historians and Philosophers This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
A compendium of early works in a variety of disciplines from important Arab writers, spanning fields from feminism and social theory, to classics of literature, history, and the sciences. Includes works by the Four Imams of the Sunni Sect, the Al Azhar Modern Sheikhs, various authors of the Modern Arab Enlightenment, and rare works by the former Egyptian royal family. Consisting mostly of historic texts in Arabic, the books in this collection are full-image, with searchable metadata only. Metadata is in both Arabic and transliteration.
Kotobarabia Modern Arab Renaissance Collection This link opens in a new window
1820 - 1914. Unlimited users.
An electronic archive of books published 1820-1914 from Egypt, Syria, and other regions of the Islamic World. The collection is comprised of over 2,500 titles in the humanities and the sciences, including writings from Mahmoud Abdo, Gamal El Din El Afgahany and Rashid Reda. Consisting mostly of historic texts written in Arabic, the books in this collection are full-image, with searchable metadata only. Metadata is in both Arabic and transliteration.
Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers This link opens in a new window
1870 - 2019. Unlimited.
Includes publications from across this dynamic region, providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present. Key topics include the decline of colonialism, the collapse of the Ottoman Empire, the Suez Crisis, the Cold War, the rise of the petroleum industry, twentieth-century pan-Arab movements, both World Wars, the establishment of the state of Israel, the Iran-Iraq War, and the recent Arab Spring.

Part of the Global Press Archive initiative. Open Access to this collection is made possible through the generous support of the Center for Research Libraries and its member institutions.
MidEast Wire This link opens in a new window
2005 - present. 5 users.
Updated daily. Offers brief English translations taken from the media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora. Covers key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces.
To search by country and/or topic, select Archives Search, Advance Search button in the right screen column.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again. And while the screen might request login information at other times as well, our access does not require any additional authentication.
Periodicals of the British Empire and Its Colonies This link opens in a new window
1702 - 1879. Unlimited users.
The Periodicals of the British Empire and Its Colonies, 1702-1879 collection represents literature of the British Empire, specifically focusing on colonial North America. Many of the periodicals were printed in Europe, Canada or appear as publications reissued in America. A few titles come from Asia. Notable editors and contributors include Joseph Addison, Daniel Defoe, Samuel Johnson, Thomas Paine, and Richard Steele. As a whole, these titles provide scholars with a unique insight into the colonies' complex relationship with European home countries as they developed their own identity in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
United Nations Digital Library This link opens in a new window
1946 - present. Unlimited.
The United Nations Digital Library currently provides access to over 862,000 UN publications including maps, images, voting data, speeches, and other documents such as resolutions and decisions, meeting records, administrative issuances, reports of sessional committees, and a variety of other statements. Issuing organizational bodies include the General Assembly, the Economic And Social Council, the International Court Of Justice, the Secretariat, the Security Council, the Economic Commissions, the Human Rights Bodies, and other various agencies. Most files are PDFs, and most documents are available in the six languages used for official UN communications. The Library is updated regularly and a “Search Guide” and “Search Tips” are available.
Universal Human Rights Index of United Nations Documents This link opens in a new window
1999 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Created by the United Nations Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights, the index facilitates access to the observations, recommendations, and special procedures reports issued by the human rights treaty bodies of the United Nations. The index makes it possible to search by keyword, human rights addressed, state or entity mentioned, and persons affected in order to find relevant paragraphs within the entire collection of documents.
World Bank Publications This link opens in a new window
1946 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. An online collection of more than 130,000 World Bank documents and publications. Browsing or searching provides access to the documents in both text and downloadable PDF format.
The World Bank is one of the United Nations' specialized agencies, and is made up of 187 member countries. All World Bank publications and research working papers are now assigned with DOIs (Digital Object Identifiers).
World News Connection This link opens in a new window
1995 - 2013. Unlimited users.
Contains materials provided to the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). The reports are full text, English translations of foreign news sources and information. Many of the materials are copyrighted. Particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources. Compiled from thousands of worldwide media sources.

Asian Film Online This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
An online streaming video collection of nearly 600 narrative feature films, documentaries, and shorts. Offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker. Through a selection curated by film scholars and critics, viewers can explore the impact of globalization and urbanization on people’s everyday lives throughout the greater Asian region. Twenty-four countries across the region are represented, with a strong concentration on China, India, Iran, South Korea, and Southeast Asia.
Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
The Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics Online comprehensively covers all aspects of Arabic languages and linguistics. It is interdisciplinary in scope and represents different schools and approaches in order to be as objective and versatile as possible. The Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics Online is cross-searchable and cross-referenced, and is equipped with a browsable index. All relevant fields in Arabic linguistics, both general and language specific are covered and the Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics Online includes topics from interdisciplinary fields, such as anthropology, psychology, sociology, philosophy, and computer science.

Note: Not compatible with all web browsers. For best results use Chrome, Edge, or Firefox.
Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics This link opens in a new window
2013 edition. Unlimited users.
Covers the history and study of the Hebrew language from its earliest form to the present.
The Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics requires installing a Unicode Hebrew font. Brill recommends the Unicode font SBL Hebrew.

Note: Not compatible with all web browsers. For best results use Chrome, Edge, or Firefox.

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
1971 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Contains records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide. Includes citations to western-language periodical articles, individually authored monographs (before 1992), chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Corresponds in part to the print Bibliography of Asian Studies.
Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Updated irregularly. We have access to editions two and three. Includes articles on all aspects of the Islamic World. Discusses religion, history, politics, culture, distinguished Muslims, tribes and dynasties, crafts and sciences, geography, ethnography, flora and fauna, and other topics. Permits searching in both English and Arabic transcription.
The special fonts that are needed to use this database can be downloaded from the opening screen of the database.

Note: Not compatible with all web browsers. For best results use Chrome, Edge, or Firefox.
Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies. Unlimited.
The first cohesive and discreet reference work which covers the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods.

Note: Not compatible with all web browsers. For best results use Chrome, Edge, or Firefox.
Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
The Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures Online is an interdisciplinary, trans-historical, and global project embracing women and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. It aims to cover every topic for which there is significant research, examining these regions from the period just before the rise of Islam to the present. The Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures Online crosses history, geographic borders and disciplines to create a reference work reflecting the very latest research on gender studies and the Islamic world.

Note: Not compatible with all web browsers. For best results use Chrome, Edge, or Firefox.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
1906 - current. Unlimited users.
Updated annually. Indexes worldwide literature in European languages on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Includes a wide range of periodicals and collective publications, as well as monographs.