A blog maintained by librarians, updated regularly with links to Open Access resources related to the Middle East and Islam.
The East View Global Press Archive® (GPA) is a program that embraces an unprecedented variety of global news publications, presented in full-image and full-text format optimized for scholarly use. GPA encompasses newspapers in more than 30 languages and will ultimately include titles from over 80 countries.
Of particular interest is the Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers open access collection. The Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection includes publications from across this dynamic region, providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present. Key topics include the decline of colonialism, the collapse of the Ottoman Empire, the Suez Crisis, the Cold War, the rise of the petroleum industry, twentieth-century pan-Arab movements, both World Wars, the establishment of the state of Israel, the Iran-Iraq War, and the recent Arab Spring.
A blog maintained by scholars of the Middle East, North Africa, and Islamicate societies--this post comprises a crucial list of mostly-open access resources for the study of the Middle East.
A blog maintained by scholars of the Middle East, North Africa, and Islamicate societies--this post comprises a crucial list of mostly-open access visual resources from and about the Middle East.
A digital collection of Islamic manuscripts, published texts, and maps from across Harvard's libraries and museums.
The UT Libraries support the open sharing and preservation of your scholarly process and output through the Texas ScholarWorks digital repository and the Texas Data Repository. To learn more about those services, please feel free to ask or to explore existing resources there, such as the archive of the Hemispheres consortium.
Website of the Turkish Culture and Tourism Ministry's digitized manuscript collection.
A repository of Zaydi intellectual production found in libraries and archives around the world, brought together in this portal.
Website hosting a number of dictionary and Arabic language projects:
• An Arabic keyboard specifically intended for computer users possessing a QWERTY keyboard without Arabic letters displayed in it. The particularity of this keyboard is that it possesses a diacritization button that enables you to automatically apply complete diacritization to a text that you have typed yourself.
• Arabic grammar lessons from beginner to advanced levels
• Blog posts about the Arabic language (its history, the Arabic calligraphic styles etc…)
• A forum for Arabic language enthusiasts to exchange
LexiQamus is a website that aims to help researchers in deciphering illegible words in Ottoman manuscripts.
Representing nearly 40 years of scholarly effort, the Turkish Religious Affairs Foundation's İslam Ansiklopedisi is a reference work on par with Brill's Encyclopaedia of Islam, 2nd and 3rd editions. In Turkish.
"The Encyclopædia Iranica is a comprehensive research tool dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent."
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.