LibGuides: Architecture: Databases, Journals, Websites

Finding Articles with Databases

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Unlimited users.Updated weekly. Indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, U.S. state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Includes obituary citations.
Building Green Unlimited users.Updated monthly. Includes information on a wide range of topics related to sustainable building, including energy efficiency, recycled-content materials, land-use planning and indoor air quality. Integrates online versions of GreenSpec, Environmental Building News (EBN), and a database of more than 100 high-performance building case studies. Provides a searchable and cross-referenced format.Registering for a personal profile helps you stay informed about new content added to the BuildingGreen website. Each month there is a new feature-length article on a design-related topic as well as reviews of building materials and case studies of high performance buildings. By signing up for a personal profile you will receive the monthly issue notice.
Compendex Unlimited users.Updated weekly. Ei Compendex indexes the research literature of the field of engineering. The product contains more than 17 million total records. Over a million new records, with abstracts, are added per year. More than 3,600 journals and 4,100 conference publications and trade magazines are currently indexed. Customizable e-mail or RSS alerts are available.
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index Unlimited users.Updated regularly. All areas of design and craft are covered, including industrial design, vehicle design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, computer aided design, furniture design, ceramics, glass, jewellery, metalsmithing, silversmithing, goldsmithing, fashion design, textile design, embroidery, graphic design, typography, multimedia design, illustration, book design, photography, advertising, marketing, retail design, packaging, exhibition design, theatre design, design and craft history, design and craft theory, ergonomics, design for disability, design for the elderly, design and craft education and design management.
DETAIL Inspiration
Unlimited users.
Provides photographs, drawings and technical product information from thousands of builds featured in the journal DETAIL as well as its supplements Structure, Detail Green, and Detail Inside. Each project is accompanied by DETAIL project documents, which can be downloaded as PDFs. Search filters include building type, material, construction and location, year of construction and more.
Note: The UT Libraries have access to Detail Inspiration only. Other pages from the site could be unavailable.
GreenFILE Unlimited users.Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 538,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 5,800 records.
Material Connexion
Unlimited users.
Material Connexion is the world’s leading material resource allowing users to browse thousands of innovative and sustainable materials from over 6000 manufacturers, learn about trending topics in materials, and source materials for projects.
Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) Online Catalogue Unlimited users.Updated daily. Provides an index to over 300 of the world's most respected architectural periodicals as well as a catalogue of the books and audio visual materials held in the RIBA (Royal Institute of British Architects) Library, including the RIBA Library Photographs Collection, the RIBA Library Manuscripts Collection, and the RIBA Library Drawings Collection. Also includes a biographical database of architects. It covers a wide spectrum of subjects, ranging from prehistory to the present, which are international in scope. In addition to architectural theory, practice and history there is material on allied subjects such as building and construction, civil engineering, structural engineering, landscape architecture, interior design and decoration, the decorative arts, town and country planning, and construction law.
Academic Search Complete Unlimited users.Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
JSTOR Unlimited users.Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

Websites

Divisare
Selection and classification of contemporary architecture conducted for over twenty years. Subscription is free for students and teachers.
ArchDaily
Includes photos and information about projects, interviews, materials, and articles.

Journals

Remember not all relevant material is accessible online! If you are looking for journal articles and the full-text is not available, you can request a scan of an article.

Listed below are some journals you might want to explore: